We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Setting with Inconsistent Service”
Review of Lake Placid Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lake Placid Lodge
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2017

Our third tour here to see the leaves and hike the neighborhood. First, the PROS: The setting of this hotel is incomparable and offers so many amenities, you could stay here for a week and still have stuff to do. The main lodge is gorgeous and design details were planned to the 'nth' degree. Rooms in the main lodge are close to the restaurant, service desk (Kevin is a great host who gave us personalized hiking maps and loads of assistance!) and stumbling distance from the bar. The complimentary lake tour on their 60' classic woody is super and the Cap'n is an informative insider hoot! We've been fortunate enough to catch the "raptor" guy on Fridays - another hoot(!).
Hearthside Room is spacious, yet cozy, with a beautifully crafted bed that faces a natural fireplace, has a mini bar, closet, seating for two, and a small deck that faces the unimpeded view of the glassy lake. The bathroom is huge, with a soaking tub, walk in shower, and gleaming nickel fixtures (spit-shined by housekeeping). Everyone we encountered at the hotel was sweet and engaging, except for the bartender one night.
As an aside, the main building burned about ten or so years ago and no expense was spared in reconstructing this building, so I forgave most niggling sources of irritation, which brings us to the CONS: I'm under the assumption that no one has gone through high end hotel training, and it's apparent from the top- down. The bartender disappeared for twenty plus minutes at a time and the kitchen for most meals was slow (although delicious). The server for room service delivered our $200+ plastic wrapped meal by plopping it onto a table and disappearing ($100 bottle of wine left unopened - balk). Restaurant/bar restroom remained unkempt for extended periods of time (yucky).
The coup de grace came when I asked the manager to ship a bag to our future stopover in New York. My request was met by the manager with enthusiasm, so I never thought twice about it until I arrived in New York a week later and no bag. Numerous phone calls to Lake Placid produced sounds of crickets (silence) and when I finally got through to the manager, she gave me an incredibly disappointing excuse that "someone" had forgotten to pick up the bag.
At some point, my prediction is a financial reckoning for management. It will come when clients become so irritated we stop paying for the well placed hotel site. I want this hotel to do well - it's in a beautiful area that needs paying tourists..and it's a beautiful, stately hotel that needs to be cosseted a bit by management who knows what they're doing, and currently doesn't warrant a Relais & Chateaux label.

Room Tip: Main building versus cabins - it can be a hoof to the restaurant and bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank rkr727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 446 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile

Amazing mixologists! Great service!
Fresh ingredients, homemade sirups, great selection of liquor.
Can’t afford the rooms but happy to drop by for a cocktail every time we drop by Lake Placid.
This place is beautiful!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Danny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

We ate for a celebration there recently.
The location is stunning, with a Harvest Moon and deck dining in October.
The decor is pure Adirondack but done well and to a high quality. It will last a long time as it doesn't get much wear and tear!
We were a party of 7 and I would confidently say we were probably more than half the covers in this expansive restaurant.
The sampling menu read better than it's execution.
Drinks were made incorrectly, wrong dishes sent out by kitchen and it took an age for the meal experience. Some of these could be forgiven in a busy environment but that was not the case. In fact, it felt that they never got into gear.
One dish was served with a parsnip purée which, at first glance looked like mashed potato, either way to find out it was served cold really jarred with a number in our party.
Our waitress was pleasant but the errors with drinks and desserts should have been caught by her.
Although the presentation of the food was appealing it wasn't intricate enough at point of service to cause such delays.
It isn't cheap either.
We enjoyed catching up with family and celebrating a birthday but the meal was decidedly disappointing.

Room Tip: From what I see, Maggie's casual dining may have been a better choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank dfvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

We stayed in a lackside cabin (MacIntyre). Very cozy and rustic but upscale. We took advantage of the great boat ride provided by the lodge thinking this adds value until we realized that this place like all other greedy businesses adds on a resort fee, in this case $92/day. Come on. At a room rate of $799, this is a reach and in my opinion an insult. Breakfast was good as expected although the pastry chef needs some help. I'm a sugar lover but didn't enjoy the cookies and other sweets. Picky I know but my experience to share. We'd come back but only if they ditch the resort fee or at least hide it. Now one could argue that WiFi in this setting isn't important but since they offer it, it should be better. It is pretty bad or at least not greT or reliable.

Room Tip: MacIntyre cabin furthest from hotel & a bit further (ft) from lakeshore next to storage cabin(s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WyoBruin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

This is my favorite place to eat at Placid - view is amazing and Maggie’s is more casual but food still first rate. I have the salad and grilled salmon. Burgers are excellent - fireplaces in side and out. On the porch they will give u blankets and heaters as needed. Decor is awesome. Highly recommend the food here.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank carole i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
2.9 km away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#6 of 32 in Lake Placid
1,355 reviews
2.9 km away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
3.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
3.8 km away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#15 of 32 in Lake Placid
28 reviews
2.8 km away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#14 of 32 in Lake Placid
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Placid Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Placid Lodge

Address: 144 Lodge Way, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1273
Region: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lake Placid
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#10 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range: €472 - €952 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lake Placid Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake Placid Lodge is a beautifully handcrafted Lodge nestled in the Adirondack mountains, situated on the shores of Lake Placid. The Lodge offers among the finest accommodations and dining in a truly comfortable, rustic, yet refined setting. Pamper yourself in the new Main Lodge, the private cabins or in the newly remodelled Lakeside suites, all offering gorgeous views of Lake Placid and Whiteface Mountain. Artisans restaurant offers wonderful dining on the deck overlooking Lake Placid. Maggie's pub offers a relaxed setting serving both lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Lake Placid Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing