We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (470)
Filter reviews
470 results
Traveller rating
354
56
32
17
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
354
56
32
17
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews maggie's pub relais chateaux owls head half bottle of wine pastry chef new ownership s'mores kits boat tour stone fireplace soaking tub whiteface mountain cross country adirondack style each morning turn down service cookies spent three nights
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 470 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile

Amazing mixologists! Great service!
Fresh ingredients, homemade sirups, great selection of liquor.
Can’t afford the rooms but happy to drop by for a cocktail every time we drop by Lake Placid.
This place is beautiful!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank DannyR1420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

We ate for a celebration there recently.
The location is stunning, with a Harvest Moon and deck dining in October.
The decor is pure Adirondack but done well and to a high quality. It will last a long time as it doesn't get much wear and tear!
We were a party of 7 and I would confidently say we were probably more than half the covers in this expansive restaurant.
The sampling menu read better than it's execution.
Drinks were made incorrectly, wrong dishes sent out by kitchen and it took an age for the meal experience. Some of these could be forgiven in a busy environment but that was not the case. In fact, it felt that they never got into gear.
One dish was served with a parsnip purée which, at first glance looked like mashed potato, either way to find out it was served cold really jarred with a number in our party.
Our waitress was pleasant but the errors with drinks and desserts should have been caught by her.
Although the presentation of the food was appealing it wasn't intricate enough at point of service to cause such delays.
It isn't cheap either.
We enjoyed catching up with family and celebrating a birthday but the meal was decidedly disappointing.

Room Tip: From what I see, Maggie's casual dining may have been a better choice.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank dfvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

We stayed in a lackside cabin (MacIntyre). Very cozy and rustic but upscale. We took advantage of the great boat ride provided by the lodge thinking this adds value until we realized that this place like all other greedy businesses adds on a resort fee, in this case $92/day. Come on. At a room rate of $799, this is a reach and in my opinion an insult. Breakfast was good as expected although the pastry chef needs some help. I'm a sugar lover but didn't enjoy the cookies and other sweets. Picky I know but my experience to share. We'd come back but only if they ditch the resort fee or at least hide it. Now one could argue that WiFi in this setting isn't important but since they offer it, it should be better. It is pretty bad or at least not greT or reliable.

Room Tip: MacIntyre cabin furthest from hotel & a bit further (ft) from lakeshore next to storage cabin(s). Consider others But wasn't a big deal.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WyoBruin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

This is my favorite place to eat at Placid - view is amazing and Maggie’s is more casual but food still first rate. I have the salad and grilled salmon. Burgers are excellent - fireplaces in side and out. On the porch they will give u blankets and heaters as needed. Decor is awesome. Highly recommend the food here.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank carole i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

This hotel is in a beautiful position by the lake. At 4pm every day there is a launch that will take you for an hour trip around the lake to enjoy the views. We had a lovely suite overlooking the lake with wood burning fires. It was worth spending the afternoon relaxing in the room and enjoying the tranquility of the location.
The first night we attended a barbecue but the weather turned very cold so it was difficult to keep the food warm. The staff are friendly and attentive and full use is made of the different levels to enjoy the views. Out visit was planned to enjoy the the wonderful landscapes during the Fall so this is not a cheap time to visit this area. You need to book well in advance to get a room but all have good views.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Champagneoclock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews