We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Reviews ”

Big Slide Brewery & Public House
Ranked #11 of 106 Restaurants in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$28
Description: Big Slide Brewery & Public House opened in June of 2016 at 5686 Cascade Road, the main road into Lake Placid from the south. This building is a just over a mile from downtown Lake Placid,near several popular and busy sites such as the Lake Placid Horse Show Grounds, the Olympic Torch, the Ski Jump Complex, Craig Wood Golf Course, the ADK Loj, and the Bobsled Track. We have installed a hybrid 3.5/5 barrel brew-house, right in the center of our dynamic concrete-topped bar, a comfortable dining room, and a semi-open kitchen. Executive Chef Greg Sherman sources most of our ingredients locally, and offers the freshest food in the area. This is not your typical pub grub, but it is approachable and delicious.
Restaurant details
Description: Big Slide Brewery & Public House opened in June of 2016 at 5686 Cascade Road, the main road into Lake Placid from the south. This building is a just over a mile from downtown Lake Placid,near several popular and busy sites such as the Lake Placid Horse Show Grounds, the Olympic Torch, the Ski Jump Complex, Craig Wood Golf Course, the ADK Loj, and the Bobsled Track. We have installed a hybrid 3.5/5 barrel brew-house, right in the center of our dynamic concrete-topped bar, a comfortable dining room, and a semi-open kitchen. Executive Chef Greg Sherman sources most of our ingredients locally, and offers the freshest food in the area. This is not your typical pub grub, but it is approachable and delicious.
Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

My boyfriend and I came here for the first time last night. We've been wanting to check it out for a while, but with our work schedules it can be hard to find time. The food was wonderful. We had the pretzel nuggets as an appetizer, they were great. Than we had the steak sandwich and the mozz and tomato sandwich, also wonderful. We had a couple of cocktails that were very nice. The service on the other hand was awful. Our server spent more time socializing while we were waiting for our drinks for over 10 minutes, then waiting to pay our bill. I would definitely go back for the food, maybe if we sat at the bar we would get better service.

Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2018 via mobile

If your looking for a place to spend a lot of money and to be deceived then you have found the place! We ordered 3 steak dinners which we were told were 10 ounce portions. When our food arrived we were lucky if combined all three steaks were 10 ounces. They were served as three small pieces of cut meat! On top of that the flavour was mediocre. Be prepared to be hungry and have to stop on your way home to buy a real meal. Not one to complain but this was not a 10 ounce steak. Save your money and go to smoke signals where the food and service is amazing and the portions are if anything way too big!

1  Thank natalia1_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ubuman, Owner at Big Slide Brewery & Public House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2018

Hi Natalia - I am sorry you did not enjoy your time at Big Slide. As you can see by the other reviews, your experience was not typical for our guests. I can assure you that our steaks are, in fact, 10oz steaks which are sourced from a local farm. In two years, I do not think we have received one complaint about the portion, presentation, or flavor of our steaks. Of course, mistakes happen sometimes so I hope you brought your concerns to our manager so we could make it right for you and I invite you to try us again when in town. My apologies, again. Chris. Owner, Big Slide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2018

Disappointing poutine. They used sloppy joe (which had good flavor) prefer gravy and the cheese curds were straight out of the refrigerator and still cold. Hunters pizza had good flavor but pretty greasy from sausage. Apples need to be sliced thin. The chunks would just fall off when you took a bite. Treelixir was very good. Pretty noisy place to try and hold a conversation

Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018

Excellent selection of beer. Food was good, but nothing special. Service was friendly & attentive without being too much. One tv in bar area was showing college hockey. Several tvs in dining area were showing video loop about the beer and farm-to-table concept of the restaurant. Decor is mainly hard surfaces, so noise level can get high making conversation difficult. Would go back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank edshendell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

At the recommendation of the staff at a hotel and other guests we went here for dinner on Easter. The meal was amazing! The food was great and the beer was good, when we return we will come back. The menu is so cleverly written I can’t wait to see the next version.

Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Big Slide Brewery & Public House also viewed

 
Lake Placid, NY
 

Been to Big Slide Brewery & Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing