We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveller rating
31
18
4
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
31
18
4
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews newer hotel exercise room short drive front desk staff fridge and microwave business center beds were very comfortable fitness center room was large complimentary breakfast a great stay great hotel recommend this hotel stay there again pillows lobby dryer
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 56 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2018 via mobile

Yes, this is new. It is ultra sleek and modern. Not my first choice of decor. Very clean. Right on a very busy road and therefore noisy until late into the night and by 5:30 a.m., the traffic is up and going again. Staff is very helpful. Breakfast is standard American fare.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 50statetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kingston-Ulster, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Hi 50statetraveler,

Thanks for staying with us and taking the time to share your thoughts! I'm sorry about any noise disturbances experienced but I'm pleased you found our property's vibe to be modern and our staff to be accommodating!

I hope you give Holiday Inn Express another try soon.

Safe travels,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

I highly recommend this hotel. While not within walking distance of much, the hotel is a great choice. Looks brand new. Very clean. Bed was extremely comfortable. Staff was efficient and pleasant. Several brand name restaurants within a short drive.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank PatTV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristineV2217, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kingston-Ulster, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn Express and Suites. We could not have asked for a nicer critique! We are so happy that we made your stay so enjoyable and we hope that you will visit with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

Our first stay at the Holiday Inn Express at the Lake Katrine location and it was a great one. My husband was able to combine business with pleasure as our grand kids live near by. They loved coming to see us to swim in the pool. Our first impression upon entering the hotel was how neat and clean everything was. Olivia and Gwen did a super job keeping our room clean as did Donna taking care of things at breakfast. We would highly recommend this hotel if you are in the area. We hope to be able to return again some time.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robertz986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine V, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kingston-Ulster, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Thank you so much for your kind words regarding the staff of the Holiday Inn Express. We are so happy that your grandkids were able to enjoy our pool. The hotel is so much more fun when there are children in the house! We will pass your comments on to Olivia and Gwen for keeping your room super clean and to Donna for keeping you fed. We hope that we will see much more of you in the future since your children live so close by.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018

We stay at the suite and it was clean and attractive for a chain hotel. The hotel is basic but very pleasant. Breakfast was limited but adequate. Coffee available all day in the reception area. You need a taxi to go anywhere and I did not find any Uber close by.
Front Rhinecliffe Amtrak station its around $ 35 one way plus tip. There is mini market across the road in a gas station that sell small pizza and hot dog etc and milk, tea coffee
and other small provision as the hotel has no dining room for dinner or lunch.
The hotel does allowed clients to order take away pizza and chinese food which they gave us a couple of brochures for the delivery service.

Bathroom has a bath, not sure if smaller room has only shower. There is nothing to see within walking distance.
$25 dolars plus tip to go to Rhinebeck which is a very nice small town with restaurants etc.
Would recommend again.
There is a very small pool usable till late.

Room tip: Choose suites.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine V, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kingston-Ulster, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn Express and Suites. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and that you were able to enjoy our proximity to Rhinebeck and the Rhinecliff Train Station. We hope that you will visit us again when you are traveling upstate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018

Pros: The place seems brand new and the rooms have a very modern feel. Breakfast is free and the breakfast spread is substantial, with hot and cold options and fruit. There's a pool and a large lobby with a large outdoor bistro-style seating area. I found this odd because there's no restaurant. Bread Alone, however, is two minutes north by car away and you should go there for brunch or baguettes. The hotel is very close to the highway interchange, and there is a lot of shopping and food options there. The hotel has electric car chargers.

Cons: Location. While the hotel is a short drive to the shopping area, it is not walkable to it. Maybe you don't care about that, but I do. And from the cute bohemian section of Kingston, it's a solid 20 minute drive. Pricewise, it is among the more expensive options in the area. There's no food within walking distance and the only thing nearby is a gas station.

I definitely recommend this Holiday Inn Express, even if it was a little expensive.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank molacde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine V, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kingston-Ulster, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn Express. We are delighted that you enjoyed our central location and the many amenities that our hotel has to offer. We are disappointed that you were unable to find a restaurant closer to us. We do have a full service Italian Restaurant, Reginatos, within walking distance, a pizza parlor, Angelas, with an extensive menu at the other end of our property and of course Adams Fairacre Farms and Bread Alone are just down the street.

The detours to uptown Kingston are daunting but the ride should have been 10 minutes at most. Next time you travel up this way, please reach out to me personally and I will recommend some great places to go in our area. Thank you again for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews