We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
24
15
3
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
15
3
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews front desk staff free breakfast great hotel beds linens lobby microwave hallway amenities ny
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 45 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2018

We stay at the suite and it was clean and attractive for a chain hotel. The hotel is basic but very pleasant. Breakfast was limited but adequate. Coffee available all day in the reception area. You need a taxi to go anywhere and I did not find any Uber close by.
Front Rhinecliffe Amtrak station its around $ 35 one way plus tip. There is mini market across the road in a gas station that sell small pizza and hot dog etc and milk, tea coffee
and other small provision as the hotel has no dining room for dinner or lunch.
The hotel does allowed clients to order take away pizza and chinese food which they gave us a couple of brochures for the delivery service.

Bathroom has a bath, not sure if smaller room has only shower. There is nothing to see within walking distance.
$25 dolars plus tip to go to Rhinebeck which is a very nice small town with restaurants etc.
Would recommend again.
There is a very small pool usable till late.

Room Tip: Choose suites.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine V, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kingston-Ulster, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn Express and Suites. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and that you were able to enjoy our proximity to Rhinebeck and the Rhinecliff Train Station. We hope that you will visit us again when you are traveling upstate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018

Pros: The place seems brand new and the rooms have a very modern feel. Breakfast is free and the breakfast spread is substantial, with hot and cold options and fruit. There's a pool and a large lobby with a large outdoor bistro-style seating area. I found this odd because there's no restaurant. Bread Alone, however, is two minutes north by car away and you should go there for brunch or baguettes. The hotel is very close to the highway interchange, and there is a lot of shopping and food options there. The hotel has electric car chargers.

Cons: Location. While the hotel is a short drive to the shopping area, it is not walkable to it. Maybe you don't care about that, but I do. And from the cute bohemian section of Kingston, it's a solid 20 minute drive. Pricewise, it is among the more expensive options in the area. There's no food within walking distance and the only thing nearby is a gas station.

I definitely recommend this Holiday Inn Express, even if it was a little expensive.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank molacde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine V, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kingston-Ulster, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn Express. We are delighted that you enjoyed our central location and the many amenities that our hotel has to offer. We are disappointed that you were unable to find a restaurant closer to us. We do have a full service Italian Restaurant, Reginatos, within walking distance, a pizza parlor, Angelas, with an extensive menu at the other end of our property and of course Adams Fairacre Farms and Bread Alone are just down the street.

The detours to uptown Kingston are daunting but the ride should have been 10 minutes at most. Next time you travel up this way, please reach out to me personally and I will recommend some great places to go in our area. Thank you again for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for a wedding. We were able to check in early after a few phone calls. Room was large and very clean. They even had a good hotel hair dryer. Breakfast was vetoed with good choices.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Judyspelot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine V, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kingston-Ulster, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn Express and Suites. We are delighted that you enjoyed our large and very clean rooms and that you were you able to check-in early enough to be ready for the wedding. Please visit with us again if you are traveling in our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

This is a new hotel and the staff really worked hard to make me feel welcome! This was a LONG stay (7 weeks) and everyone always went out of there way to say hello and make my co-workers and I feel welcome. Extra props to Lara and John and Mary and Donna (who put out the breakfast buffet) for their continued hospitality!

Room Tip: The suites have a nice additional sitting area that really came in handy!
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine V, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kingston-Ulster, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Thank you so much for your review in regards to our hardworking staff at the Holiday Inn Express. We appreciate your feedback and we will share your kind words. We hope that you will stay with us again when you are working in our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

Room was very clean. Beds were comfortable and the linens looked crisp and new. Keurig coffee maker, refrigerator and microwave--all appreciated. Bathroom had an inexpensive, inferior quality look but it was clean. Breakfast: everything you could want including eggs bacon sausage and was especially enjoyable thanks to "Mary" the dining room attendant who kept resupplying the food and fresh coffee.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colspaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine V, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kingston-Ulster, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

We are delighted that you found our hotel enjoyable. We are happy that you found our rooms to be clean and well equipped. Our staff works very hard to make your stay an enjoyable one. We will share your comments about breakfast with Mary. Please stay with us again when you are traveling in the area!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews