We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (311)
Filter reviews
311 results
Traveller rating
213
78
13
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
213
78
13
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot water very nice hotel king lalibela under construction spectacular views the hotel staff other hotels thoroughly enjoyed our stay magical place wifi works reception area lovely room traditional coffee ceremony per night comfortable rooms great restaurant stayed here for nights
Filter
Updating list...
250 - 255 of 311 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The modern Hotel Maribela seems to be the rising star of Lalibela's hotels. Astonishing balcony views and a traditional Ethiopian coffee ceremony are included, as well as the assistance of the always helpful manager Daniel.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank Laurens L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The real treat in Lalibela was the Maribel Hotel, beautiful, immaculately clean room, hot water, gorgeous view, good breakfasts and an exemplary staff. The manager/desk clerk Daniel really went out of his way to be helpful in every way possible walking me to a nearby restaurant, making sure I had ample bottled water and readily answering all questions. Since the hotel is new, their wifi connection did not yet work and Daniel made sure I could join the nearby hotels wifi by sitting outside. This one deserves a top rating on trip advisor.

Room Tip: This is a small hotel with 16 rooms, all with balconies and fantastic views. All the rooms are quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank drpaula2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I stayed here in this new hotel with friends in May 2014. The views were incredible. The service was outstanding. The coffee was unbelievable. Wifi was out while we were there, but this is not unusual in this part of the country. We enjoyed an evening coffee ceremony that was delightful. Ask for this.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MikeRinehart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Though little know due to its youth, we feel that this hotel should be and will be recognized as one of the very best this city has to offer, if not the very best. Certainly it must be the best at this end of town. Nowhere in the world have we stayed at a hotel with a superior view.

However, what is greatly appreciated is that rather than relying on its superb location, and not bothering with the rest, it seems that the folks here have spares little expense or effort in providing ample space in the room, designing and furnishing a physical environment that will be relaxing and pleasant, and staffing the place with gracious and accommodating staff. Daniel, our receptionist both yesterday and today, has been helpful, friendly, knowledgeable and easily available. While the tour book states that prices in LaLibela are uniformly too high, this seems ($70-$80 double at low season) to be fairly priced when compared to other places we've stayed in Addis, Bahir Dar & Gondor.

Our bed was a true king size, attractive and comfortable, bath and shower the best we've bad in Ethiopia, the breakfast was great and indeed, our stay here has been the beat yet in Ethiopia, better than Abay Minch, better than Goha in Gondor, and certainly better than International in Debre Marcos. Highly recommended.

Stayed: May 2014
4  Thank Bowlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here for two nights while we were in Lalibela. The room was excellent, and the view incredible. The staff did everything in their power to make sure our stay was a pleasant one. Really happy with this experience and while the prices were competitive with the hotels near by, it was truly luxurious.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ramey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews