We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (180)
Filter reviews
180 results
Traveller rating
115
31
17
12
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
115
31
17
12
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews master bedroom boat launch full kitchen view of the lake wedding event stone mansion annual vacation gas grill next year washer and dryer bridal party granite countertops lake george for many years free kayaks outdoor fireplace beautiful pool reasonable rates
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 180 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Town house was perfect for 5 of us, attending a family wedding. However, the planning of the area is very poor. To start with, the parking is far away from the accommodation and one has to drag luggage over grass and hilly terrain to the front door. Very, very inconvenient. Same story when walking to the wedding location with heels on! A grassy hill to navigate. Disappointing. Especially since it could be perfect if someone would give some thought to the logistics and add some convenient steps!

Stayed: September 2018
Thank surfmann14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Erlowest, General Manager at Sun Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for staying at Erlowest and Sun Castle Resort. We enjoyed being a part of the family wedding and have received a number of positive comments! Thank you.

Regarding our property layout, because we are in the Adirondack Park and have to observe regulations by agencies that oversea the Lake George lake front, we are restricted in what we can do on the property, especially with hardscape like paths and steps. Knowing that the topology of the property can cause some challenges, we have golf carts that are assigned to help our guests. If we failed to communicate that to you, our apologies.

Thank you for sharing your experience. Hopefully you wil be able to come back again and we will be positioned to help you navigate the size (15 acres) and terrain of the property.

Frank Dittrich, GM
The Inn at Erlowest and Sun Castle Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

We stayed in the townhouse - 2 bedroom, 2 1/2 bath, stocked kitchen, washer/dryer, central a/c-heat, all new - hardwood floors- 2 outdoor patios with furniture. IMMACULATE!! We had dinner at the Inn at Erlowest - the food was really REALLY good. Overall, the staff was friendly, knowledgeable and very prompt with whatever we wanted or any questions we had. It was our first time there, definitely not our last. We loved it.

Room Tip: great views - quiet - ample parking - plenty to do around the area - nothing is that far away!
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ignats639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Erlowest, General Manager at Sun Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. We are happy that you will be back!

Frank Dittrich, GM
The Inn at Erlowest and
Sun Castle Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

Our townhouse at the Sun Castle resort was very nice. The view of the lake was spectacular and it was relaxing to sit on the deck and look at the lake. They were very accommodating and helpful and went above and beyond to make our vacation a wonderful one. We seem to have returned for several years. because we like Lake George and really do not know of a better place for a family vacation. The children love the beach and pool. The restaurant at the Inn at Erlowest on the property is excellent. And I'll say it again, the people who work there are really nice.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank aegandolfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Erlowest, General Manager at Sun Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review and in particular for noticing the quality of our staff. Everyone at Sun Castle Resort and The Inn at Erlowest work very hard to help deliver the best guest experience possible. It is terrific when someone notices that effort!

We believe that Sun Castle Resort is the premier location in Lake George for a family vacation. 1.5 miles outside the village, you avoid the noise and clutter of the busy town but have easy access by car or the trolley that stops in front of Sun Castle Resort. Water activities abound with our heated pool, two beaches and swim areas and our complementary kayaks for family use. From. time to time, we offer lake tours on our 38' Hackercraft Miss Erlowest for a once in a lifetime experience on the lake!

We look forward to seeing you and the family again next year!

Frank Dittrich, GM
Sun Castle Resort and
The Inn at Erlowest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018

Absolutely loved being able to take the kayaks out on the lake. Stayed in 2 BR villa. Had AC units, new bathroom, plenty of space. Didn't use kitchen since we were out a lot for wedding. Will definitely be back!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank christinedoren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Erlowest, General Manager at Sun Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2018

Thank you for staying at Sun Castle Resort. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and our complementary kayaks! We are excited that you will be back to visit with us!

Frank Dittrich, GM
Sun Castle Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2018

Although the townhouses are laid out nicely and the Lake George view is wonderful, I was surprised to find that the open up couch was full of crumbs and dirt when I opened it for someone to sleep on. Obviously, it had been a while since house cleaning had taken the time to fold open the couch to clean. I would have called to have it cleaned but there is no phone in the townhouse to do that. It ruined what was otherwise a very nice place.

Room Tip: Check the couch before you need to use it
Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank billpowers111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Erlowest, General Manager at Sun Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2018

We are very disappointed that our housekeeping staff was not attentive and missed the details in the couch. Our process should have caught an oversight by the cleaners, so we will go back through our steps to be sure that this does not reoccur.

Our apologies on not having telephones in the townhouses. Our guests typically use their cell phone to call for services ranging from ice delivery prior to a boat outing, additional towels, transportation to the pool or help with any cleaning issue that might occur.

Frank Dittrich, GM
Sun Castle Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews