We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (180)
Filter reviews
180 results
Traveller rating
115
31
17
12
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
115
31
17
12
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews master bedroom boat launch full kitchen view of the lake wedding event stone mansion annual vacation gas grill next year washer and dryer bridal party granite countertops lake george for many years free kayaks outdoor fireplace beautiful pool reasonable rates
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 180 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

After staying at another resort for 20 plus years, we switched to the Suncastle and stayed st a villa. As my husband stated "I hit this one out of the ballpark" in choosing the Sandcastle. The villa was spacious, clean and had a fully equipped kitchen and a gas BBQ grill. The view was amazing, the grounds impeccably kept.

Peaceful and Relaxing describe the atmosphere of the Sun Castle. People we met were all friendly and the complimentary BBQ at the castle was a nice touch.

The resort provided a clean pool, never overcrowed and the beach was sandy and well kept. I would compare the beach to Sandy Bay, which anyone with a boat on the lake should be familiar with.

The AC was tricky to figure out but my husband knew how to use the remote because his fire house was equipped with the same one.

The beds were comfortable, bathrooms worked well. (I would have preferred more lighting in the bedroom.). The DVD player was great along with the complimentary dvds provided by the main office.

The rate is on the high end, but for what you get it is cost efficient. We are booked for next year, and are hoping that an opening occurs before, or after our scheduled week so we can extend our stay. We look forward to many vacations ahead at the Sun Castle!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Lorraine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie J, Guest Relations Manager at Sun Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Thank you for your review, we are so pleased that you made the switch to SunCastle Resort and we helped you "hit this one out of the park" We love hearing feedback from all of our guests especially our first time visitors. The views from our Villas are the most spectacular on Lake George with the lake and mountains surrounding the resort you can't go wrong anywhere on property. We look forward to your return, please keep in touch with us and we will do everything we can to extend your stay next summer. We stay open well into the Winter and the views of the Fall foliage and the snow covered mountains are just as breathtaking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

First off when we arrived we found a view that took our breath away. It was the best view of the lake, pool, and surroundings. Because of the view we stayed! Honestly there is a great view no matter where you stay on the lake. The villa itself aside from the view was ok. The villa was roomy but not cleaned well. The tvs were unplugged, the ac unit had one air conditioner remote that we had to use for all units which was ok however no notes were given explaining it. The maintenance man ended up telling us after we called about ants in the kitchen the first night we were there. The first night was buggy. There were ants pouring out in the kitchen. We had to call the night maintenance man. The gentleman was quick with reporting and thoroughly sprayed the kitchen killing most ants. Our expectations of a nice villa diminished. We continued the stay after the bugs died and did not return thankfully. The housekeeping crew that delivered the towels and toilet paper were great. When I went in to the office the night before checking out the girl printed our bill and that was it. No thanks for staying or how was your stay? Just here you go. I wouldn't recommend staying especially for the price you could stay somewhere a little nicer with the same view for a lower cost. If you end up staying the pool is clean and the beach is nice and has a nice swim section. The Inn behind the villa is beautiful, we did a breakfast with just 3 small plates of ok food for over $50.00, I wouldn't suggest with all the better dining options near by that has better food and is more reasonably.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Erlowest, General Manager at Sun Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Thank you for choosing Sun Castle Resort for your recent stay. The rustic layout of our villas does offer an expansive view of Lake George and the Adirondack mountains from the living room area. Our two beaches, heated pool and complementary kayaking brings all Sun Castle guests right to the water.

Regarding your stay, our housekeeping and maintenance procedures should have found and corrected the issues that you had with the unplugged TV, a lightbulb and the ants. We would like to offer our apologies for those problems and we are happy that we were able to address them immediately upon being notified. Additionally, thank you for coming to the Erlowest for breakfast. I would like to better understand the portion size issues that you may have had since our portion sizes are fairly standard for a breakfast. We obviously missed something and would like to be sure that we understand the issue so we can correct it.

We are a bit confused on the interaction that you had with our Guest Service team the night prior to your departure. As we recall, you asked about where to place your keys when you left and there was discussion about your stay. We were happy to hear that at that time that you had enjoyed your stay with us. Based on your comments, we presumed that you would want to return and we placed your villa on hold for the same week next year so it would be available for you and not available for another guest. This courtesy hold happens without a charge and is maintained until October of the same year to be sure that our guests can enjoy the same week and unit on a year to year basis. We look forward to hearing from you about your plans for next year!

Thank you for providing a review for Sun Castle Resort.

Regards
Frank Dittrich, GM
The Inn at Erlowest and Sun Castle Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017

We rented a condo on Lake George for our daughter's wedding. From the moment we walked in the door overlooking Lake George with the mountains in the background we were impressed. We search out venues' that are upscale, and this fit the bill. For example the granite counter tops, beautiful woodwork, manicured lawns, modern furniture and 3 bathrooms - our condo was awesome. The staff was attentive and readily available to assist in any way. Our guests who had never been to the area, will return due to the fantastic accommodations.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank tlauraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Erlowest, General Manager at Sun Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

First, congratulations on your daughter's wedding!! We are very happy that we were able to be part of a special day for your stay at Sun Castle and the Erlowest ballroom.

We are excited that you and your guests enjoyed our townhouses. The entire team at Sun Castle and The Inn at Erlowest are dedicated to delivering exceptional service from the entrance drive to the lake and our housekeepers work very hard to make sure that our Townhouses and Villas are pristine in appearance!

Congratulations once again and we hope to see you again in the near future!

Frank Dittrich
GM, The Inn at Erlowest and
Sun Castle Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017

My Niece was married on the property last weekend. The staff could not be more friendly and helpful. My wife and two daughters stayed in their 2 bedroom 2.5 bath condo overlooking Lake George. Spectacular views and top notch accommodations. The food at the banquet was outstanding as was their service. I had my reservations about spending that much money for an off season stay, but it was worth every penny. I'm sure our family will be coming back this summer.

Room Tip: The property is on a hillside. Be prepared to walk up and down steep inclines
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Erlowest, General Manager at Sun Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

We are very excited that you enjoyed your stay at Sun Castle Resort and the wedding at The Inn at Erlowest! In particular, thank you for noticing the quality of our guest service and ballroom staff. They are supported by our maintenance and housekeeping teams that work together to deliver a wonderful experience.

We are happy that you will be joining us again for a summer stay! The townhouses are filling quickly, so we would recommend that you call to have the best opportunity possible regarding the dates of your stay and available townhouses.

Thank you!
Frank Dittrich
General Manager, The Inn at Erlowest
and Sun Castle Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017

A castle overlooking Lake George with elegant dining and guest rooms. The view is spectacular - a delicious breakfast on the veranda overlooking the water was incredibly special. Pricey but worth it - I highly recommend it for a special occasion.

Stayed: July 2016
2  Thank ktb917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Erlowest, General Manager at Sun Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2017

Thank you for your stay at The Inn at Erlowest, a mansion built in 1898 located on the same property as Sun Castle Resort. The Inn offers 10 king-bed suites and is an adult only facility. Included with a stay at Erlowest is a complementary welcome amenity. Turn-down service and made to order breakfast by one of our chefs. Dinner is served nightly and our cozy bar is available for a relaxing drink to end the day.

Along side Erlowest is Sun Castle Resort. 34 townhouses and villas that offer a relaxing stay for couples and families. Two bedroom units with 1-2.5 bathrooms are perfect for a longer stay on Lake George. Docks and launch services are available.

We are happy that you stayed with us and hope that we will see you again in 2017!

Frank Dittrich
GM, The Inn at Erlowest and Sun Castle Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews