We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“February stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Kingston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton Inn Kingston
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“February stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Enjoyed our one-night stay in this brand-spankin'-new hotel. Everything was immaculate, especially the bathroom and linens. Rooms are large and have many conveniences. The staff was very pleasant and accommodating.

The breakfast crew, especially, went out of their way to make sure everyone had what they wanted. Breakfast offered many choices, including hot cereal, eggs and turkey sausage.

The only down-side was the noise. There were many families around us, and we could hear the pitter-patter of many feet (and fighting siblings) and the TVs in adjacent rooms. Also, the train goes by often and noisily. I managed to sleep through that all night, but it kept my husband awake.

The hotel is trying very hard and was a good value for the money, noise notwithstanding.

Room Tip: Stay on the side away form the train track.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ann c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    210
    43
    15
    17
See reviews for
280
216
42
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
silver spring
Level Contributor
316 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

I grew up in Kingston, and for decades, going back was a chore due to the poor quality of the local hotels. No more. The Hampton Inn is clean, it is comfortable, and the staff work really hard to please their guests. When I arrived, the manager came out to greet me while I was checking in. The desk clerk was efficient, and knew the area and was able to make restaurant recommendations.

This hotel is what you expect from a nice, new Hampton Inn. It's not the Ritz, but everything about it makes this a great place to stay.

Well, almost everything. For some reason someone thought it would be a good idea to build a hotel right next to an active set of railroad tracks. All night long, trains came rumbling through, blowing their whistles.

Still, the only other potentially high quality hotel in Kingston is a Marriott Courtyard, and it's right across the street from the same train tracks, so I doubt it's much quieter.

So, expect the noise and stay at the Hampton Inn.

Room Tip: The front of the hotel is quieter than the back due to the train tracks running past the rear of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drbking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

Reason for My Visit:
Business Trip with daily travel to Pine Hill, NY. I chose this hotel because it was the closest Hilton Property from Pine Hill, NY, I had about a 40 minute one way commute to Pine Hill.

Location of Property:
Seemed to be a perfect location if you ask me. I didn't spend a ton of time outside the hotel as I was traveling out of the area for work. However, there are several chain restaurants, both sit down and fast food, as well as several big box stores within a mile of the hotel. There is a CVS Dunkin Donuts and Taco Bell basically in the Hampton Inn parking lot. Starbucks right down the street along with your typically chain restaurants.

Room:
Either a fairly new property or newly rennovated rooms, my room was very nice, except didn't have a sofa like alot of Suites, just an uncomfotable chair. Did have wired internet which is a plus for me since most Hampton wireless speeds don't cut it for me. The only true negative to the room was the walls were paper thin and could easily hear people next room over.

Breakfast:
Subpar at best. The free breakfast the Hampton's over need an overall, same ol' food day in and day out. Fresh fruit selections were past their prime and wouldn't even be sold at a grocery store. Turkey sausage was too hard to even eat. Not picking on this particular Hampton, all of them lately have just had horrible quality.

In Summary:
For me this hotel was clean and up to date and it did the trick even with the paper thin walls and bad breakfast. Room was comfortable and cozy after a long days work, didn't need to use the business center or other amenties so no review on those. They do have a heated salt water pool which is a plus, especially during the winter months! Overall I would recommend the property.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CCTVTrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

We stay in Hampton Inns often and this is one of the nicer ones. It's new! And the decor is very nice and modern. We love the salt water pools they're putting in all of the Hampton Inn's. It's super convenient, you can walk to restaurants (fast food/convenience store in the same parking lot!) . This is not a romantic location as it's in the midst of a busy town, but it's super convenient and close to shopping, restaurants, movies, etc... The breakfast buffet is terrific (for a continental) it includes belgian waffells and Omelettes. See i you can find a deal online because the daily price is surprisingly high. Im finding that the Hampton Inn's are no longer "budget" hotels. Rather 'business express' with a higher price tag.
We love this area, New Paltz, Woodstock, Kingston (historic Kingston). fun little towns to explore if you're coming from the city and want to get away...

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NJCruisegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

This is the second time that I have stayed at the Kingston Hampton Inn. The place is very well maintained and extremely clean. The maintenance man is constantly cleaning SOMETHING....the floors, the workout room, pool area, tables, etc.. The complimentary breakfast is great...and free coffee, tea, juice, ice water, and fruit were available all evening. The room was clean and in great condition. Comfy beds, nice lighting, and free wifi.
One thing that sticks out to me, as a female traveler with kids, is that the place feels safe. They utilize video servailance and the lock system on the side entrance doors, laundry room, pool, etc. Many times when I have stayed at hotels, including Disney, they do not activate the locks requiring your room key, meanaing anyone off the streets can enter. I was very pleased, both times that I stayed here, that they are using safety measures that are in place. It drives me crazy when hotels do not do this!!!
The hostess, Sandy, is so helpful and friendly.
One tip is to ask to have a room away from the elevator. It can be a bit noisy.

Room Tip: Ask to have a room away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinmomNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingston
4.7 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kingston Hotel and Conference Center
0.3 km away
Courtyard Kingston
Courtyard Kingston
#3 of 10 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.5 km away
Residence Inn Kingston
Residence Inn Kingston
#4 of 10 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 km away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
11.9 km away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
13.3 km away
Comfort Inn Saugerties
Comfort Inn Saugerties
#3 of 6 in Saugerties
3.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Kingston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Kingston

Property: Hampton Inn Kingston
Address: 1307 Ulster Ave, Kingston, NY 12401-1514
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Kingston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Kingston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels and Booking.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Kingston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Kingston Hotel Kingston
Kingston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing