We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucy & Desi Museum”

Lucille Ball Desi Arnaz Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$15.00*
and up
Lucille Ball Desi Arnaz Museum and Center for Comedy Admission
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Jamestown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lucille Ball's hometown of Jamestown, NY honors the legacy of "The First Couple of Comedy" with the Lucille Ball Desi Arnaz Museum. The museum attraction is open seven days a week, and features replica sets, Lucille Ball's Emmy awards, costumes, rare memorabilia, and much more.
rochester
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lucy & Desi Museum”
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Remember Lucy and all her hysterical antics? You have got to visit the Lucille Ball Museum in Jamestown. For the small price of admission you can go through the museum and see poster size prints of her in some of her most memorable times. Clothes that she has worn on her show and other shows as well. Her car. Listen to clips from some of the shows. From the two museums on the same street corner you get directions to her birth home, the home where she grew up and to her and her families burial plot. So worth the money. It is a have to do in your lifetime visit. I am so glad I did. Loved it.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank dh'smom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    123
    23
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
96 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A Must See for the I Love Lucy Fan”
Reviewed 16 July 2011

If you are a fan then you will love this museum. Not expensive at all. The exhibits in the museum are supplanted by video, home movies etc. which were very interesting. I highly recommend getting the combination ticket which includes entrance to the playhouse. We loved seeing the sets which included the NY kitchen and living room (2nd) as well as the Vitameatavegimen set. The guides were very helpful and give you a map of places of interest in Jamestown pertaining to this American icon. We were able to see the house she was born in, the house she lived while growing up and visit her gravesite. All in all very enjoyable and well worth the time and money.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
6 Thank lmactravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fun if you love Lucy”
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We went to the Playhouse, since I was with three kids who have discovered and love to watch old I Love Lucy episodes. This was a fun way to spend some time, although the Playhouse is fairly small. The kids loved reenacting the Vitameatavegamin commercial on the old set and we had a surprisingly good time. We hit a great ice cream stand on the way home, then a beach and made a really nice summer day of it. It was worth the hour's trip but don't make a long trek to spend a lot of time unless you're hitting Jamestown during the Lucy Festival when there seem to be quite a few events planned.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank DayTripper1630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camp Hill
Level Contributor
442 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Good nostalgia”
Reviewed 5 July 2011

I visited late on a Sunday. It was not cheap but the staff told me how to get the most for my time and money. Learned a lot and enjoyed seeing the NY apartment set. Too bad there is not much else to do in Jamestown.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Courthouse067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
161 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Ok, just Ok”
Reviewed 20 April 2011

Our family of 4 made a day trip to the museum for the first time. The artifacts are roughly presented and it has a small town hokey feel to the place. Buildings around it in downtown are not much to see either. The feeling is that Lucy's kids are in CA and don't care much for the museum as it has very little memorabilia in it and stretches to find interesting stuff to show. I agree with the review that said the total set re-creation without any authentic pieces is a waste of time. I am not a huge Lucy fan but collect memorabilia from other Hollywood genres and the marque room re-creation was a disappointment. I think Desi Jr. and Lucie (her children) should take some pride in the museum and fix it. They seem to board members but take an arms length approach to their mothers legacy in the museum. It is unfortunate as Lucy (although I am not a fan) is an icon of Hollywood.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
6 Thank 2010Timmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lucille Ball Desi Arnaz Museum also viewed

Jamestown, Chautauqua County
Jamestown, Chautauqua County
 
Panama, Chautauqua County
Jamestown, Chautauqua County
 

Been to Lucille Ball Desi Arnaz Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing