We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Shouldn't Tell People About This Restaurant”
Review of Oceanic Boil

Oceanic Boil
Ranked #41 of 270 Restaurants in Jackson Heights
Restaurant details
Reviewed 9 October 2017

I love good NOLA cuisine, which is nigh impossible to find in NYC. Thus I was reluctant to review this small gem of a restaurant as I don't want it to get so popular, that I can no longer get a table.

Shell fish is boiled in a bag smothered in a roux sauce, with spice intensity of your choosing. Tender & delicious - truly finger licking good as you eat with your hands: shrimp, crawfish, crabs of various denominations, lobster and spicy fries - you can't go wrong. For the fussy they supply nitrile gloves & plastic bibs.

Significantly Reduced Happy Hour Prices

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Forest-Hills-Cynic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (9)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 9 of 9 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

A small restaurant on 37th Street, Jackson Heights Queens. If you like all fish, you can visit this restaurant, which is not so long ago was opened. Lobster, shrimp, fish, crawfish, oysters. Everything is cooked very delicious. Well suited for dinner with friends, with family.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank 995nataliav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2016

The newly opened Oceanic Boil is a nice place for families, for lunch or brunch. We tried the lobster roll which was pretty good, with seasoned French fries. The music was a little loud for us, for Sunday brunch. The décor was nice, however, and the waitress was friendly and served quickly. Next time I'll try the crab cakes ( $12 ) which seem like a good price.

Date of visit: November 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank zefer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2016

This restaurant specializes in boiling seafood together with corn and potatoes in a spicy roux-based sauce (tastes very much like the sauce I make when I make étouffée).

On this visit, I had the crawfish boil. The diner is conveniently offered disposable gloves and a bib, which tells you the kind of messy affair ahead of you if you are cracking open crawfish, crabs, or lobster.

The highlight for me was their take on a lobster roll... it is served on a steamed bun, the sort of steamed bun that would usually hold pork belly at a Chinese restaurant. This was delicious, and contained generous pieces of lobster.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank OhioanMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oceanic Boil also viewed

Jackson Heights, Queens
Jackson Heights, Queens
 
Jackson Heights, Queens
Jackson Heights, Queens
 
Jackson Heights, Queens
Jackson Heights, Queens
 

Been to Oceanic Boil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing