We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveller rating
63
33
13
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
63
33
13
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self park concierge lounge green st attached garage pork belly new kid on the block front desk watch netflix usb outlets per day parking garage last name hotel opened free coffee in the morning pedestrian street surrounded by restaurants perfect location
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 115 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We are elite members due to our timeshares so we get upgraded but Marriott is always dependable. We liked the modern feel and its location. We were there to see Joan Baez at the State theater which was walking distance. Parking was a bit challenging as mentioned by others but now that we know the area it will be easy. My only complaint is that there are no grab bars in the shower and the floor felt slippery when wet—should be easily fixed. Kudos for the comfort height toilets. All the staff were friendly and professional.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

The hotel is on a busy street - there is a pull out lane that holds 4-5 cars where you can stop to check in. Parking is either valet or self-park in a garage behind the hotel, sounds easy but it is super confusing to find. The fact that there's construction all around does not help. And who knew a town the size of Ithaca had so much traffic. It was scary getting in and out of the garage. The hotel is modern - looks relatively recently renovated. The lady at the front desk was intimidating at best and lost patience quickly when I asked for clarification on getting to the garage. A bright spot was the gentleman who drove the van (complimentary shuttle) up to Cornell. This hotel worked for the location of my event, but I would not return otherwise.

Room Tip: Avoid the side facing Aurora St - construction zone next door.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VAbeachgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew K, Manager at Ithaca Marriott Downtown on the Commons, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2018

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed many aspects of your experience. While we love our newly constructed downtown location and modern style, it does come with some challenges like parking. We do suggest that guests looking to self park drive directly to the garage first as we are the only hotel downtown with a connected garage. The front entrance lanes are best used for Valet Parking vehicles so that we can keep traffic flowing.
We recommend using the Marriott Mobile App to find information like these or to communicate directly with our Front Desk Staff prior to your arrival or during your stay.
We are proud to offer upscale accommodations and service in the heart of growing Ithaca. We aim to win your trust on your next visit.
Best,
- Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2018

stayed for 2 nights , greeting in the room was sets of earplugs and a message apologising for construction next door . This was the 1st we knew about it. No possibility to change hotels as everything was fully booked. $400 per night and 3rd night was $1299 so we checked out and went to Hilton homesuites . Marriott you should be ashamed of the rate you were proposing for Aug 17th. As potential customers for the next 4 years it is disgraceful to rip off your customers. We wont be staying again or recommending your hotel. As per other review, room was cheaply furnished and boring

Room Tip: Beware construction noise , Hilton building huge hotel drirectly next door til 2019
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank faye f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew K, Manager at Ithaca Marriott Downtown on the Commons, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2018

Thank you for sharing your comments. Ithaca's downtown is growing and yes, just as how the surrounding businesses endured our newly constructed building, we are now subject to the growth around us. The apartment building across the street from us will be finishing up in the next couple months and they don't work on the weekends, so our weekend guests are not effected. As far as the rate for August 17th, please accept our apologies you were quoted something so high. We don't set rates like that and it's unclear where you saw that rate quoted. We were fully committed for that time period ever since the room availability opened up. Just like Graduation, the move in period for Cornell and Ithaca College are our 2 busiest times of year and they fill up quickly.

If you would like to further discuss your concerns, or how we could earn back your business please contact me directly at the hotel.

All the best,
Matthew Kasperski
Assistant General Manager
Ithaca Marriott Downtown on the Commons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018

So from making my reservation, to checking in, all i noticed was relentless service. I came to attend a PDP course in Cornell and the Marriott was the perfect place of stay. Very courteous bellmen/concierge. Always ready to drop us off and pick us up even without advance information they act quickly. Will definately recommend and be back.

Room Tip: Courteous staff
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bennett A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

The room itself was good; modernly designed but not too big. Our view was to the street and not particularly beautiful. I did not like so much the lobby it was loud with odd smell. The hotel has an arrangement with the nearby parking which also connects to the lobby. The parking costs 6 dollars per day and they add it to the bill.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank RachelIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews