We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MODERN DECOR”

VanWinkle's at the Kaatskill Mountain Club
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Hunter
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 16 August 2017

I have frequented this restaurant/bar many times and I have not been disappointed. Crab cakes is a must. Décor pleasant and you can sit outside by a fire pit if weather is good.
Bar happy hour is great as well as the bar food.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Errol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2017

I have to start my review by immediately pointing out how truly fantastic our server treated us. Francis made a perfect meal and welcoming atmosphere even better. I enjoyed the surf and turf and a slice of chocolate cake to die for. Francis took the time to wrap up a gourmet doggie bag for our 2 pups back at the chalet. We had a drink at the bar before sitting down. We had a nice conversation about the Lodge and local history. Truly an elegant yet comfortable evening. I can't wait to go back.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tracey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017

We were staying at the liftside village of Hunter Mountain resort and had a few dinners at Van Winkle's. They have a good chef! The food was very well prepared, creative and reasonably priced. We could also take out and bring the food our condo. Service was friendly and efficient. They kindly seated us for dinner a little earlier than the opening hour when we told them, we had a bus to catch back to New York. Absolutely good restaurant.

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank Cjlim12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2017

We have been coming here for years as regular skiers at Hunter Mountain.
Dining room is small so reservations are required during the ski season, but not really in the summer.
The menu is not large, but there is always something for everyone to eat.
Food is average.
Service is above average!
Great for families.
Warm and cozy atmosphere.

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JoyceT222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017

Vanwinklkles is a great spot to eat or drink. The staff goes above and beyond to accommodate your needs. I ate here for breakfast and dinner and both were amazing experiences.

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank Shakimh90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed VanWinkle's at the Kaatskill Mountain Club also viewed

 
Hunter, Catskill Region
Hunter, Catskill Region
 
Tannersville, Catskill Region
 

Been to VanWinkle's at the Kaatskill Mountain Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing