We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Third Visit Was Quite The Charm”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hudson
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Croff House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 16 Hudson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
NYC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Third Visit Was Quite The Charm”
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We returned to this lovely B&B for our third visit and enjoyed every aspect of our stay. It is definitely the best lodging in and around Hudson. This was another totally relaxing get away for us topped off by great gourmet breakfasts and scrabble late at night by the fireplace.
Russ and Duncan are quite the hosts and take great pride in attending to the needs of their guests.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tortking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, Owner at The Croff House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 November 2014
What can we say but thanks yet again for such a stellar review! We loved having you back and catching up. Sorry the weather wasn't better but it certainly made for some good Scrabble games for you both. We wish you all the best this holiday season and in the New Year! Until next time, thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    18
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
268
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nanuet, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

We recently returned to the Croff House on our second visit and everything is just as great as when we previously stayed there two years ago (see my previous review). The owners, Russ and Duncan, are super friendly and welcoming. They live in a house next door, so if you have been avoiding B&Bs because you don't like to have the owners intrude, now you have nothing to worry about.

Once again, we have no qualms about recommending this place to anyone. It's a delightful mish-mash of quiet B&B accomodations with modern, luxurious amenities. But don't try to visit any more B&Bs after this one, because you will have been spoiled for all the others. We've been gone for just a few days and I'm ready to go back.

Room Tip: The two "suites" face the front of the house (which is on a quiet side street). The "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rlsentell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, Owner at The Croff House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 November 2014
It was so wonderful having you back again. Thanks for yet another sensational review! We're so glad you took a few days for yourselves after the birth of your little girl. Congratulations to you both! We really try to give our guests their space to enjoy the inn. Whether we are in our owners' quarters in the basement of the inn or in the house next door we want them to feel that we are readily available but not underfoot. We hope that you will come back up again soon and all the best on your newest family member! Thanks so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2011

From the moment you arrive you know you have arrived in a B&B the way you picture them in the movies. Tasteful and warm common rooms and then up a lovely staircase to your room. We stayed in the suite and could not have been more pleased. The room was decorated for beauty and comfort, plus there was a great working fireplace to take the chill off. The spacious bathroom was outfitted with beautiful and modern fixtures with a great shower and tub. The attention to detail throughout the Croff House was incredible and it was as clean as clean can be. Breakfast is lovely and exceeds the standard breakfast fare and the location is close not only to Warren Street which is Hudson's main street, but you are no more than a 45 minute drive to many other wonderful towns and sites. If you want to stay in Hudson stay at the Croff House.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, Owner at The Croff House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 November 2014
Thanks for the terrific review! We're so happy you had such a great time both at The Croff House and exploring Hudson as well. Thanks for being the first to "relight the fire" in the suite - it really warms up the room nicely and we're happy you got to enjoy it. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you both back again soon. Until then many thanks and Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fair Lawn
Level Contributor
65 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Returning to the The Croff House since our last visit two years ago, my wife and I had another relaxing weekend at this outstanding B&B. This time we stayed in the Esselstyn Suite, my new "most favorite" room. A comfy king bed, a luxurious chaise-lounge by the window, a gas fireplace and a spa bathroom combined to make this a true haven away from home. But what makes a Bed and Breakfast truly exceptional are the owners. Russ and Duncan are so gracious, so friendly and so eager to make your stay special. And what fantastic breakfasts- true gourmet experiences!

From the moment they greet you at the curb to assist you with your baggage to their recommendations for places to vist and restaurants to reserve, Russ and Duncan go out of their way to make you feel special. For us, it was like coming back to greet old friends.

Thank you for another great stay- looking forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Room Tip: For a luxury experience with a spa bathroom and a fireplace, choose either the Esselstyn Suite or th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrincipalTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, Owner at The Croff House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 November 2014
It was so wonderful having you back and it was even more wonderful to read your stellar review of your second stay with us. Thank you SO much! It's always such a pleasure to welcome guests back. For us a true test of our effort is whether the guest has an equally good time (or better) than they did on a previous visit, and it seems like we passed. Hopefully you won't let so much time pass by before we see you again. Until then, however, thanks so very much and be well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2011

We had a lovely time at this uber-clean, friendly, sophisticated and surprisingly quiet B&B. The soundproofing helps you feel as if you're alone in the fabulous old house which has been lovingly restored with every modern convenience. Every comfort was arranged for and every detail refined. The large breakfast was absolutely delicious and cooked to order. A close walk to dining at DaBa and Swoon - both top notch restaurants. This was a great weekend getaway from Manhattan. Russ was absolutely terrific. Thanks Croff House, for making my husband's birthday so memorable. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Chace Suite, which had a gas fireplace, a deep soaking tub and reading chair big en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, Owner at The Croff House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 November 2014
Thanks a million for the awesome review! It was so great being able to have you with us to celebrate A's special day. We're so glad you thoroughly enjoyed your visit and, based on your comments, all that The Croff House and Hudson has to offer. We hope that you won't wait for another milestone before we see you again. Until then our sincerest thanks and appreciation.

p.s. - Thanks too for the amazing chocolates for my b'day. They were incredible!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hudson hotels
1.0 km away
St. Charles Hotel
St. Charles Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hudson
179 reviews
0.6 km away
26 Warren B & B
26 Warren B & B
#2 of 16 in Hudson
153 reviews
0.1 km away
The Inn at Hudson
The Inn at Hudson
#7 of 16 in Hudson
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Inn At 34
The Inn At 34
#6 of 16 in Hudson
48 reviews
0.1 km away
Hudson City Bed and Breakfast
8.7 km away
Thyme in the Country
Thyme in the Country
#11 of 16 in Hudson
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Croff House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Croff House Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Croff House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 5 Willard Pl, Hudson, NY 12534-2417
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Hudson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Hudson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
So what has made The Croff House the #1 Trip Advisor rated B&B in Hudson for over 9 years? We are proud of our reputation for providing outstanding, personalized service in a welcoming, warm environment with genuine hospitality. The interior spaces of the inn are designed with guest comfort in mind, not on trendy decor or quirky gimmicks. Our three course, freshly prepared breakfasts (using locally sourced ingredients when available) have become a hallmark of a stay with us. Our focus is on attention to detail and the little touches that make a stay at The Croff House exceptional. We think you'll agree with guests who have stayed with us - The Croff House is truly a 5-Star experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Croff House Hotel Hudson
The Croff House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing