We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (284)
Filter reviews
284 results
Traveller rating
191
70
18
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
191
70
18
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews courtyard room chocolate sin ceiling fan magnificent view cape town special thanks breakfast and dinner bazaruto islands the general manager great restaurant beautiful place each morning r r prawns beautiful garden overlooking the beach indian ocean
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 284 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2018

We stayed here for 5 nights and had a fantastic time! The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, which gives you that warm & fuzzy feeling about a place :-)

We had a courtyard suite, which is a large room, with a large balcony. The room is clean and very comfortable. Same goes for the balcony: there are some chairs, a lounge bed, and plenty of space, while you overlook the garden and the ocean (with Bazaruto and Benguerra in the distance). Good A/C, a fan, mosquito net, very comfortable bed: just a great room.

Breakfast is simple but good, restaurant is very nice. Some consider this one of the best restaurants in Vilanculos, but I have only had dinner at one other restaurant, so can't really comment on that.

The restaurant looks out on the harden, with two pools, enough lounge beds, and lounge chairs to relax, enjoy the sun, read or sleep. All in all our stay at Casa Rex was super and we will most certainly come back if our travels take us to Vilanculos again!

Oh, and Jill is a great host! I just wanted to say that :-)

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank robtk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raquel R, Public Relations at Casa Rex Boutique Hotel by Sol Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2018

Wow - what a superb & detailed review which will certainly help other travelers! Thank you so much - it is always a pleasure to host guests who are so enthusiastic about our special spot. The staff were delighted to have you & Jill thanks you for her mention. We certainly hope that you have a chance to visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2018

very nice place on looking at the beach. Nice swimming pool. Food more than correct. Slightly boring menu when you stay more than 3-4 days.
You can also go on a snorkling activity and visit sand island from the Hotel.
We were lucky enough to meet dolphins on our way...

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CardonFamilyInsights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raquel R, Public Relations at Casa Rex Boutique Hotel by Sol Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2018

Many thanks for your review & glad you got to appreciate all that Casa Rex has to offer, as well as the island trip which is always very popular. We would be pleased to host you again should you visit Vilanculos in future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018 via mobile

We had an amazing time at Casa Rex! Stunning view of the ocean from the hotel. Staff was super friendly and helpful. Food was fabulous.

Located 5 minutes walk from the Vilanculos village where there was an ATM a supermarket and a couple of restaurants.

Vilanculos is a hidden gem and Casa Rex is a very very good place to stay.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank danieljZ7617XG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raquel R, Public Relations at Casa Rex Boutique Hotel by Sol Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2018

A lovely review of our special spot - so happy we met all your expectations. Do come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018

Casa Rex is a special hotel, perfectly located, with excellent service and amazing food!
Our room was very spacious, beautifully decorated with great views.
If you want to relax and feel spoilt, then you have to stay at Casa Rex!

Room tip: Ocean view
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Trip180634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raquel R, Public Relations at Casa Rex Boutique Hotel by Sol Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2018

Thank you - it was very special having you stay with us & we would be happy to spoil you again anytime - please come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2018

Serene and special location by the most beautiful ocean on the East Coast of Africa . Sit and enjoy the deep blue Indian Ocean in an ambiance only experienced amongst the friendly locals who welcome you as long lost friends .

Date of stay: April 2018
Thank robsE7987RS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raquel R, Public Relations at Casa Rex Boutique Hotel by Sol Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Such a touching review - we are delighted that you had this experience whilst staying with us. Rest assured you will be welcomed back as friends should you return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews