We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
89
28
3
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
89
28
3
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat barringtonrooms are smallshampoo and conditionersteelemotelhudson
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 126 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

This is a small motel run by a charming man who sees to every detail. The grounds are gorgeous and there is a small pool. There are little seating areas outside each room with tables and chairs. Hanging and potted plants add to the charm. The rooms are small but well-appointed, and the bathroom has dispensers in the shower for soap, shampoo and conditioner. Very green! The rooms have air conditioners and TVs, but internet only works in the lobby, which is comfortable and decorated with interesting artwork and antiques. There is also wonderful art in the rooms. Rooms are spotlessly clean.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

My wife and I were in town to attend a memorial service and I selected the Silvanus both for its location and because of the reviews. It is in a charming little hollow with woods around and green meadows. The owner, Steele, could write the book on hospitality. Everything just where you need it with charming touches abounding. We loved our three night stay. Never made it to the pool but it was very inviting.

Room Tip: Not much difference among the rooms. Any one would have been fine.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank dcrb0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
9350Steele, Owner at Silvanus Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Thank you!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017 via mobile

We only stayed here just one night, but would love to have had more time to enjoy the property, escpecially the pool and the patio area. The setting is a serene and welcome escape from the city. We were looking for someplace convenient to Hudson & Great Barrington as we explore the area, and the Silvanus Lodge fit the bill perfectly! Looking forward to our next visit!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sebastian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
9350Steele, Owner at Silvanus Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Thank you!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017

After almost 2 decades of driving past the Silvanus Lodge, we finally had the occasion to stay 3 nights. Our primary goal was to relax by floating in the pool that has always looked so inviting - and is. Fortunately, the weather cooperated and we fully achieved our goal. Steele, the owner, couldn't have been more accommodating, charming, and interesting. (When's the last time a hotel owner sat down for a chat with you on the patio?) The place itself is intriguing to look at from an architectural point of view, the setting is divine, and the room was totally comfortable and thoughtfully appointed. Besides enjoying the immaculate pool, just sitting on the patio and taking it all in added to the relaxation effect. We'll definitely be back and can highly recommend the Silvanus Lodge to anyone in search of a reasonably priced, lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Claire j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
9350Steele, Owner at Silvanus Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2017

ahhh... thank you. I need about 1,000 more guests JUST LIKE YOU.

Steele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2016

The Silvanus is a charming little find tucked in between the Berkshires and the Hudson River Valley, close to so many wonderful places to visit. If you don't already know what to see and do, or where to eat, Steele - the charming and welcoming fellow who runs the Silvanus - will gladly to give you some pointers and make some brilliant recommendations. Rooms were lovely, quiet and had great character. Hillsdale is a tranquil little place with all sorts of things on offer (and close to plenty of other places with more on offer). Can't wait to go back - thank you again Steele!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank caexat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews