We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Charm and the sound of runnning water” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captain Schoonmaker's Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Captain Schoonmaker's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 High Falls B&B and Inns
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
85 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Charm and the sound of runnning water”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2010

I grew up in the Hudson Valley and even though I now live in Europe, get positively irrational when I remember this very beautiful spot in the world. When the opportunity came to take a short holiday near the Catskills, I was delighted when my wife found Captain Schoonmakers as I recall the house very well from my childhood and college days: at a crossroads with a stream and a waterfall. We took one of the rooms in the building at the back of the property facing the rushing stream and waterfall. It was delightful to sleep with the sound of running water in our ears (and this blocks out the road noise another Trip Advisor member wrote.) The room itself was charming was gas fireplace, a comfortable bed, and porch facing the stream. Even though it was late fall and chilly, we kept the door cracked to get even more of the stream's music.

The innkeepers couldn't have been nicer and made the most extraordinary breakfasts I have ever tasted. When do you eat a fully cooked breakfast except when on vacation: these were definitely worth the calories. In case you were still hungry, the library had a plate of baked goods always available. And we had a wonderful dinner at the DuPuy Canal House nearby.

My only caveat was that the walls are thin and neighbors have to be on best behavior so that your stay is as private as you might wish.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Finem50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    18
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
16
69
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ozone Park, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2010

My husband surprised with an anniversary weekend getaway. Captain Schoonmaker's is a magical and romantic place. Bill and Judy are extremely wonderful host. Judy's breakfasts are to die for. It was as if I came home for the weekend. I can not wait till the next time we are able to visit.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tmileo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2010

One look at the photos of the property and I knew I wanted to stay here. I was traveling with my sister and her two teenaged sons - their first time ever staying in a bed and breakfast and they absolutely loved it. The Captain's Quarter's was ideal for us. The inn is full of wonderful antiques, seasonal decorations (Judy has a great eye for decorating) and is overall just a delightfully charming, cozy place. The breakfasts were delicious. The chickens running around the yard, Betty the cat, Beau, the very sweet dog, the sound of the stream, the cool, fresh mountan air, the colorful leaves on the trees- a perfect setting. Judy and Bill are wonderful, gracious hosts, helpful with directions, advice about local attractions, restaurants, things to do. I would definitely recommend staying here and look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lashep520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Islip, New York
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2010

Just stayed this beautiful September weekend. Highly recommended, wooded & private historic B & B, operated by Judy and Bill. Super couple, very accommodating. Wonderful, wonderful breakfast! Highly, highly recommend Red Brick Tavern in Rosendale for dinner too!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flyinhi208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
299 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2010

Lovely place to stay; convenient to New Paltz, Mohonk, Minnewaska, Catskills. Have been there twice; will go again. Good biking, hiking in the vicinity. Terrific breakfast; lovely hosts.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkNYTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near High Falls
13.5 km away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
18.3 km away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
2.6 km away
1850 House Inn & Tavern
1850 House Inn & Tavern
#1 of 2 in Rosendale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 km away
Stonegate Bed and Breakfast
9.2 km away
The Stone House Bed and Breakfast
6.8 km away
ElmRock Inn Bed and Breakfast
ElmRock Inn Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 6 in Stone Ridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Schoonmaker's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Schoonmaker's Bed and Breakfast

Property: Captain Schoonmaker's Bed and Breakfast
Address: 913 State Route 213, High Falls, NY 12440
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > High Falls
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in High Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:3 star — Captain Schoonmaker's Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Stone House with guest barn on 8 acres with stream and seasonal waterfall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Captain Schoonmaker's Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing