We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Portobello Inn Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Inn Towne Motel(Herkimer)(Great Value!)
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
US$76
Red Roof
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
The Village Motel(Richfield Springs)(Great Value!)
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fountain View Motel(Richfield Springs)(Great Value!)
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
The Lake House(Richfield Springs)
US$158
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rest Inn(Utica)
US$72
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
47
13
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
47
13
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewserie canalbreakfasts were wonderfulgracious hostsfresh fruitnext morningtwo nightsair conditionermohawknycomfortfireplace
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 61 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2016

We chose this Inn because the brochure said that the Innkeeper was extremely knowledgeable about the history of the area and we were in Herkimer to do genealogy research. Steve’s knowledge exceeded my expectations. The bonus was that Roland’s breakfasts were wonderful, our room with the fireplace was cozy, especially after the unexpected snowfall, and the historical home with the beautiful antiques and nooks for contemplative reading was wonderful. You couldn't ask for more attentive, gracious hosts then Roland and Steve. They directed us to the area’s charming restaurants and more historical sites then we could visit on our short trip. We will be back another time to take in the beauty of the Mohawk Valley and the hospitality of the innkeepers.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank patikedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2016

We were in Mohawk for a 50th high school reunion. We chose the Portobello Inn because of its location. When we arrived, we were pleasantly surprised at how nice it was. The two gentlemen who run the inn are very friendly and offer extras along with your room and breakfast. As were enjoying a delightful breakfast meal, Steve, one of the owners, offered a very complete account of the history of the inn and of the area. Roland, the fellow who greets patrons also prepares the breakfast meal, is obviously very accomplished in the kitchen, along with being very cordial and friendly. The rooms are very nicely equipped with antiques and other period furnishings. We stayed two nights and when we are in the area again, this will be our overnight destination.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016

Just spent two days at the portabello B&B. Roland made our stay fantastic I would rate it a ten for the hospitality and atmosphere. Roland's cooking makes him a master chef in our eyes', great breakfast spread. Would highly recommend

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2016

Stayed for two nights in the Clobridge Room in the classy Inn as a way-point from Canada to Westchester N.Y. The room was very comfortable with A/C and while a bit on the small side the price/value equation took care of that. Roland cooked excellent breakfasts during the two days: Muffins, quiche, French toast, bacon etc. He was also very helpful giving dining suggestions with printed driving directions. The Inn is located about half-way between Herkimer and Little Falls and could be considered a base for visiting Cooperstown or the Glimmerglas Opera.

Stayed: August 2016
Thank Senasqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

A two-night stay at the Portobello Inn is a treat. I used it as a base from which to go mining Herkimer diamonds and also enjoy a cruise on the Erie Canal. Roland and Steve are committed hosts. Roland graciously accommodated my dietary needs, and one evening when I returned carrying a hot Utica fish fry he offered me a proper dinner plate, cloth napkin, and utensils so I could enjoy it in style. The Inn is located on a state highway near a very active railroad, but modern windows and a white noise machine muffle any intrusive noise. The water supply, designed to function adequately with a full house of guests, was automatically interrupted once in the middle of the night because of how the Inn's private well system functions in a drought. Bottled water is always available, and Roland was most careful about making sure to reset the system in time for morning showers. The food? Creative and lovely, served in a room that clearly also hosts larger gatherings on special occasions. I enjoyed my stay.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
Thank JoanneGarland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews