We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NIce cottage, nice town.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hague
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Trout House Village Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hague
Certificate of Excellence
St Thomas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“NIce cottage, nice town.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2010

The Trout House cottages are well equipped, accommodating and very comfy. The bed was plush, the kitchen is ready to cook all your meals and they even provide grills (both charcoal and gas). It's very clear that they have been running a resort for a long time. It is all very well thought out to accommodate guests.

They offer quite a few amenities: bicycles, boats, water toys etc. However you should note; THE LAKE IS ACROSS THE STREET. A road runs in between the cottages and the lake. The main road. It wasn't a big deal for us at all, but it's certainly not depicted online with the road. If you have children, I would think this to be a concern.

The surrounding towns offer up a slew of outings and shopping options. You can get it all from Wal-mart to the tourist bricka brack. Same with food options.

Lake George is incredibly beautiful and the Trout House Village is a nice place to stay.



The family/staff are pleasant and helpful when asked upon.

The surrounding towns offer a slew of outings

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank budahhfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    18
    0
    3
    3
See reviews for
35
58
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Congers, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2010

I haven't been to the Lake George area since I was a kid 20yrs ago, so I had no idea what to expect. After weeding through numerous subpar motels online- most that haven't been updated since I was there 20yrs ago, I was a little nervous until I came across The Trout House Village and its reviews online. My wife, 17m old son, and I stayed in the Seneca Patio cabin and enjoyed its perfect view of the lake and foilage. The ambiance was exactly what we were looking for our 4yr anniversary. The cabin comes complete with grills, cooking wears, dishwasher, wash machine and house keeping! It is a bit far from touristy Lake George Village- but that makes is that much better. Also, a ferry to Vermont across Lake Champlain was only 20min away and made for a perfect day trip. The inn keepers were very helpful and courteous. My only complaint was that the Seneca Patio unit and the Seneca Retreat unit (the second floor unit of the cabin) have poor sound insulation. As I am sure the folks above us heard out little guy screaming once in awhile, we certainly were able to hear the couple above us conduct adult activities very often!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cooneyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

Spent the Columbus Day weekend as part of a leaf peeping/ birthday weekend . We arrived later than expected due to ttraffic , however we weren't the only late arrivals . check in was a breeze and once we arrived at out cabin , we were elated at the layout & cleanliness . All room amenities were as if it were my own house . The view we awoke to the next morning was exceptional ( we stayed in the Seneca Patio) . Rowboats were available to the guests , with a dock available to enjoy the lake views . We hope to enjoy the resort in the near future ...

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RinconRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
246 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights off season. The place is opposite lake George. We stayed at the ethan log cabin. 2 bedrooms. Quite a rustic feel to the place.

We didn't really have an opportunity to meet the people that ran the place. Check in process was quick and functional. Not overly friendly but polite still.

We were defintely out of season despite the weather being very pleasant so everything around us was shut. However we'd already stopped at the walmart up the road and got all our provisions. We just wanted a relaxing 3 days with our little baby daughter and thus was exactly it. The log cabins had a fireplace which we lit every night.

We had a wonderful time.

The pack in the cabin described the local generaly store as 'awesome'. I think that was defintely a sarcastic comment. We walked to it and it certainly looked like it had seen better days.

Overall a great location if you want dome peace and quiet.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AymanN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2010

We stayed off off season. The only reason we ended up here is because a lot of other Lake George resorts were closed. This place was amazing. The weekend was not so great weather wise, we got kinda stuck in a paddle boat that fellow guests helped us out of, but the staff was pleasant and helpful. One of them helped me with rigging our fishing pole, and gave some helpful tips I still use today. The cabin was amazing, clean and huge with a kitchen and a patio looking out on the lake. I am writing this review now because I have a weekend in October off and was hoping to book this place again.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KFitzandtheBitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hague
13.5 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ticonderoga Inn & Suites
39.9 km away
The Alpine Lodge
The Alpine Lodge
#2 of 4 in North Creek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
24.5 km away
The Sagamore Resort
The Sagamore Resort
#1 of 8 in Bolton Landing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 km away
The Stone House Motel
The Stone House Motel
#5 of 6 in Ticonderoga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
36.8 km away
The Lodges at Cresthaven
The Lodges at Cresthaven
#25 of 88 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.8 km away
Ruah Bed & Breakfast
Ruah Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Hague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trout House Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trout House Village Resort

Property: Trout House Village Resort
Address: 9117 Lakeshore Drive, Hague, NY 12836
Region: United States > New York > Hague
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trout House is located on the peaceful shores of northern Lake George, and has been a popular summer destination for generations of families. The sleepy village of Hague is surrounded by the lake's majestic Adirondack Mountains. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Trout House Village Hotel Hague
Trout Hotel Village
Trout Resort Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing