We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable hotel in Greenport”
Review of Greenporter Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Greenport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Greenporter Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Greenport
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 30 September 2016

The Greenporter Hotel looks quirky but has been very thoughtfully modernized to a comfortable level. Pros: comfortable mattress, windows that open(rare), outlet above the desk for devices, a/c, good location, moderately priced. Cons: an older building that has been retrofit, no breakfast on week days out of season, very slow elevator, pillows too soft.

Greenport itself was virtually "dead" during week days in late September. Many restaurants were closed and activities were quite limited.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank betty485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGreenporterHotel, Manager at Greenporter Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2016

Dear betty485,

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Greenporter Hotel. We are devoted to the comfort and enjoyment of our guests and work hard to provide a warm reception, the highest quality bedding and the cleanest of rooms. Although breakfast is not offered in the discounted midweek rate, there are a number of wonderful restaurants a short walk away that offer a wide variety of homemade items for breakfast. We look forward to your next stay so that we can share some of our personal favorites such as Sterlington Deli, Bruce's Cafe and Crazy Beans diner in the old Coronet space.

Thank you for your feedback and for your patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 47 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2016

I absolutely love this hotel and have been coming back every summer with my entire family. The rooms are very clean and the staff is friendly and knowledgeable. The breakfast is probably the best I have ever had at a hotel- top notch, very fresh and delicious. My kids and I love the beautiful pool. The hotel is also in a great location, it's an easy quick walk into town. Looking forward to returning to The Greenporter.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank annie732016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuckeyeChef, Manager at Greenporter Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2016

All of our customers are important to us but we have a special place in our hearts for our regular customers who stay with us year after year. It is amazing to become acquainted with young families or bride & grooms using our property as their home turf. Whether planning a rehearsal dinner, bridal brunch or family reunion with us, we get to celebrate these special occasions with our guests and they later with young children, along with parents and grandparents. The breakfast, the pool, the proximity to the Village and everything it has to offer is what makes the Greenporter Hotel the perfect home in the Village of Greenport. Thank you for your patronage!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2016

The hotel was lovely. The people who run the hotel are very accommodating. It was refreshing - their breakfasts were lovely. The room clean and the bed quite comfortable. I hope we get a change to go back

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank onniebonnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuckeyeChef, Manager at Greenporter Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2016

Dear Onniebonnet,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Greenporter Hotel. We are so happy you enjoyed the relaxed comfort and cleanliness of our rooms and our delicious breakfast buffet.

It is easy to serve our guests with pleasure when we can call this magical place home.

We look forward to serving you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

This place looks like it received a makeover about 8 years ago and it needs another update. If it were not for the location this would be a crappy motel anywhere else. It stinks of mold and is just not that great. I would say Harbor Front is a better bet for sure.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank LakeMarcoPolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGreenporterHotel, Manager at Greenporter Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2016

Dear LakeMarcoPolo:

We are surprised to read this review as you spent three days with us and you never had any such complaint. Our property is exactly as described and represented on our website: Mid-Century design and relaxed comfort; providing the cleanest guest rooms, a holistic environment and friendly service.

We believe the real displeasure is the fact that security had to be dispatched to your parties' rooms during every night of your stay, as the result of other guests' complaints. You were asked you to turn down your music, refrain from screaming and discontinue your all night party. Additionally, we cannot allow guests to climb the fence at night in an altered state to access the pool illegally, nor can we permit smoking in front of guest rooms, as we are a non-smoking property.

For guests looking for a property that will allow other guests to be harassed by the behavior of such guests, we agree they should look elsewhere.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016

We like to find new or remodeled hotels to assure clean and functional rooms. This family run, retro motel hits the spot perfectly for this charming little fishing village on the North Fork. Modern, spare, and appealing, the building was remodeled recently with a green, sustainable vibe. The management is professional and helpful. The staff too. They serve an absolutely delicious home made breakfast spread with choices for all in a sunny dining room and terrace with WiFi, to help start your day of exploring. Walking distance to just about everything you want in Greenport. The well maintained pool/hot tub is a bonus for those nice days when you just want to lay around reading.

Room Tip: Mini fridge for your snacks and beverages. Very nice bed linens and pillows. Ground floor is easie...
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Abenzon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGreenporterHotel, Manager at Greenporter Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2016

Dear Abenzon1,

Thank you for taking the time to acknowledge the hard work of our housekeeping and breakfast staff and the attentiveness of our front desk team. We take the cleanliness of our rooms and the health of our environment to heart, and are thrilled to know that you enjoyed these details. We are exactly as you describe us -- a family-run, renovated 1950s motor lodge that nurtures our roots as a maritime and agricultural region. Thank you for choosing the Greenporter and we look forward to becoming your destination when on the North Fork.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenport
2.8 km away
Sound View Greenport
Sound View Greenport
#1 of 7 in Greenport
672 reviews
0.2 km away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
2.1 km away
Cliffside Resort Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
The Blue Inn At North Fork
The Blue Inn At North Fork
#1 of 1 in East Marion
195 reviews
3.2 km away
Shelter Island House
Shelter Island House
#1 of 5 in Shelter Island
73 reviews
31.8 km away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenporter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenporter Hotel

Address: 326 Front St, Greenport, NY 11944-1516
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Greenport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Greenport
Price Range: €150 - €150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Greenporter Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Greenporter Hotel is a small, privately owned Green-Certified hotel located in the heart of the North Fork's wine country in Greenport, Long Island. The Greenporter Hotel is located in the walking Village of Greenport near most restaurants, boutiques, galleries and village docks, as well as a water-front park and other historic attractions. The hotel is a five-minute ferry ride from Shelter Island and a short walk from the Long Island Railroad and the Hampton Jitney. For New England travelers coming from across the Long Island Sound, the Greenporter Hotel is just a ten minute drive from the Cross Sound Ferry. The 30 room hotel is designed in a 1950's retro style, conveying the feel of a comfortable beach house for the guest seeking a casual but stylish setting complete with outdoor pool and hot tub during summer months. All rooms feature a queen or king size top-of-the-line Simmons Mattress, Frette Duvet and 100 percent cotton linens. Our rooms also have a private bath, flat screen cable television (including HBO and Cinemax), air conditioning, mini fridge as well as daily maid service, complimentary continental breakfast* and Wifi. Our events team offers friendly service and a high quality Farm-to-Table experience in a casual setting for weddings, corporate events, and all celebrations. *Weekends year-round, 7 days a week between July 4th and Labor Day ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Greenporter Hotel Greenport, Long Island, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing