We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,044)
Filter reviews
1,044 results
Traveller rating
298
370
186
109
81
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
298
370
186
109
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyellow housela diguebuffet styleoverlooking the seadinner buffetnice beachanse source d'argentfree shuttlemain restaurantl'union estatebeach housegrand anseindian oceanbike rentaltropical gardenframeisland
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 1,044 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile

Don't ever go here if you are travelling alone. They treat you as garbage, changes the room to a much smaller one and says that your room is under construction. Two hours later the room is given to someone else and you are left with a small stinky room for about 8 m2 when you booked and paid for a room with 30 m2. The attitude is the worst. I will definately not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank BSL007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Recept002484292525, Guest Relations Officer at La Digue Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Dear BSL007,
Thank you for your comments. La Digue Island Lodge has a great reputation as its one of the largest and well situated hotel on La Digue. It has never been our custom to ill treat any of our respected clients often comes more than once in a year. Its our utmost priority to allocated the category of room a guest booked, however, we are sorry if you were not happy with the room category you booked. Our entire staff is always the service of our esteemed guests who always keep on coming every year. We really regret that you were not able to enjoy our colonial Yellow House even thought not spacious but equipped with all the facilities like any other room category within the premises of La Digue Island Lodge. Our consultant have taken good note of the different points you mentioned which we will improve for a better hospitality for our future clients.
Many thanks
Kamal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

We had another month long holiday at La Digue Island Lodge. Superb! The staff couldn’t do enough for us and were so attentive. I think the food at the restaurant has improved from last year, their fish dishes and curries are amazing, also the varied salads. Everything looks and tastes delicious. We were a little disappointed that the pool was still being refurbished at the beginning of our stay but was finished in time for us to enjoy before we left. We love the position of this resort, enabling us to walk to almost everywhere, though as we are getting older the walking gets tougher. Hopefully it won’t be long before our next visit!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank crisindigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Recept002484292525, Guest Relations at La Digue Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2018

Dear Mr/s. Crisindigo,
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are very happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay La Digue Island Lodge. To satisfy your taste buds, we are trying our best to provided a more varied theme buffet every night in the main restaurant including cuisines from around the world to the local creole cuisines. We are also trying our best to provide fresh local produce from the island which is very much appreciated. La Digue Island Lodge is the only large hotel with a huge swimming pool situated just the bar where lunch can be enjoyed together with a stunning sea view. The location of La Digue Island Lodge is the best guests' can enjoy including sandy beaches, beach bar and restaurant, shopping facilities and cycling around on a bike is the best way to discover La Digue. The famous nature park L'union Estate and the jetty are just few minutes away. Free arrival and departure hotel transfers can be organized through the hotel and sight seeing bus tours and excursions as well can be booked at our front desk. Our dedicated team members will be always at your service and we look forward to welcome you back for your next holidays.

On behalf of La Digue Island Lodge team, I would like to thank you again and see you soon.

Best regards,

Kamal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

On arrival we were informed that there was an overbooking and despite a written confirmation there was no room for us. Staff was aggressive, unfriendly and not interested to help at all. If you like to enjoy your holiday, definitively stay at a different place on La Digue (L'Orangerie).

Room Tip: Don't stay at this hotel!
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Philipp B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Recept002484292525, Guest Relations Officer at La Digue Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Dear Mr. Philipp,
Thanks for the comments.
The entire team of La Digue Island Lodge would like to sincerely apologise for not being able to allocate your room category booked upon arrival, however, we have always put all the other best options available and to compensate for the inconvenience caused. La Digue Island Lodge Management team has noted your concerns and comments, and we are looking forward for a better and more friendly team members to better cater for the needs and requests of our valued guests.
Best regards,
Kamal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile

We were really excited to stay here for our honeymoon in a beach chalet for 3 nights. However, upon checking in we were informed that the room booking had been cancelled, as no pre-payment was made (we'd booked everything through Bookings.com and were supposed to be paying on arrival). Frustratingly no other chalets were available and we didn't want to stay in one of the yellow houses based on online reviews.

The hotel did provide us with some support in finding another hotel - however as there was literally nothing available on the island, we were in an awful situation where our only option was to stay in a self-catering apartment that more suitable for backpackers than honeymooners.

The hotel did provide us with a complimentary meal in their restaurant, which was lovely. But we'd rather have not been put in such a difficult situation in the first place. They claimed to have tried to call us to discuss the cancellation, but this was whilst we were on our holiday. They could have quite easily emailed us in advance so that we could find an alternative.

If I can offer one referral - we eventually found some new self-catering apartments located in Anse Severe called 'Anse Severe Beach Villas'. They'd opened the week before and we were the first people to stay in our room - great apartments, location and staff!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kiz1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

A visit to La Digue is a must in the Seychelles, however the hotel choices there are limited. La Digue Island Lodge is pretty much what it says on the tin- a 3* resort. It's quiet expensive for what it is, however I think accommodation on La Digue is pricey.
I would say there are too many rules at this hotel- they won't let you bring in your own water, even to your room and you have to hand all pool towels in again before 6pm. The initial tour of the hotel felt like a school trip with the amount of regulations we were told.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Recept002484292525, Guest Relations at La Digue Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2018

Dear Miss Rebecca K,
Thank you very much for your comments.
Our management team have noted the different points of concern you mentioned and they have already started working on new prices for the hotel services provided. Our reservation team is also coming up with new updated room rates depending on the room category you want to book for your next holidays. Unfortunately, being a hotel policy from the management, guests are kindly advised not to bring foods and drinks inside the hotel premises as bars and restaurants are already at you service. Nevertheless, guest are free to explore other shopping or restaurant and bar facilities on the island. Free beach or pool towels are provided through the reception and we kindly inform guest to return their dirty towels in the evening just before going to dinner or they can keep it for an extra night if their wish to. We do provide a brief welcome meeting so as to help all our guests enjoy all the facilities of the hotel and the island, however, express check-in services can be provided should you require.
Our team dedicated team will be always at your service and we are doing our best to provide you the best affordable services at La Digue Island Lodge.

Best regards,
Kamal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews