We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
5
21
10
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5
21
10
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 38 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2015

We chose this guesthouse for its reasonable pricing and the facilities it offers - comfortable rooms with fridge, decent breakfast served on our own patio, swimming pool and the owners' ready response to all queries. They also organised bicycle hire as soon as we arrived for check-in. It is a little way off the beaten track, which made it challenging to get to on foot at first - taxis are scarce and very exhorbitant. The manager tended to be rather curt and unwilling to help, for example when our airconditioning unit gave problems. She and the other staff were also seldom there, so any queries we had needed to be put to her first thing in the morning when she came to prepare breakfast. The garden is very attractive and well-maintained, so it makes for a very pleasant environment in which to relax. The room was also serviced daily and always clean, which was a big plus.

Date of stay: April 2015
Thank Brigidlikestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2014

It is a simple Guest House, but we had everything we needed. It is a very nice place to relax a couple of days, so it was perfect for us, as it was what we wanted. The room was nice and very clean. I think there are 8 rooms in total, 6 normal rooms and 2 deluxe rooms. We stayed in a normal double one, and it was more than ok for us. The garden is pretty and relaxing. It is perfect to sit at the balcony and read a book... or have a beer if you go with friends.
It is very cheap if you compare with the rest of Guest Houses, and also because the breakfast is included, and served at the blacony.. It is a simple breakfast, but good enough.
There´s a pool, quite small.. and when we stayed it was dirty and we could not use it.. but the good thing is that you can go around other hotels and use the pool if you ask for a drink or a meal. We just saw the staff a couple of times in 2 days, once when we got there and then when they served the breakfast.. so make sure you ask everything you want to ask the first day! The location is quite good, around 15min walking from the boat.. and close to other hotels and shops. We got some bikes and it was easy to move from the Guest House to everywhere, beaches, shops, restaurants.. etc.
I recommend it if you want to relax, and you´re not looking for luxury!

Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Simple, clean, guest house with small (tiny) communal pool. Lovely setting on the unspoilt island of La Digue: around a 10 minute walk from the boat landing via an array of tropical fruit trees. orchid petals on bed on arrival: slight gaps under doors made us nervous about tropical visitors in the night!

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sleep007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

sorrounded by rural seychelles, in the middle od a residential area in La Digue, an unique place where you can swim with turtles in the safe close to the reef, Birgo is a real good place to live in.
there is also a little swimming pool, rather unuseful in an island with so beautiful beaches, an airy lobby, large and comfortable rooms, with veranda, a little garden, bicycles to rent and mrs Denise ready to answer to every questions
alessandra and carlo italia

Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carlo-onofri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2010

The guesthouse is very small with only 8 rooms, 6 standard and 2 deluxe. The deluxe room are much better than the standard ones.
The area is quite crammed but has a pretty garden and the best thing is the small swimming pool.
The location is about 700m inland from the ferry. Ok on a bike.

You get served breakfast on your veranda from 8-10am but not when you want it but rather when the staff wanders in and is ready. So the first morning we were still in the pool and not ready, breakfast appeared and attracted flies and got cold before we got to it. The next morning we were ready but waited 45 minutes to get served. It is also not first up, first served but whoever the staff chooses to serve first, so the waiting is quite long and tedious (especially when you have plans) and it was never really 8 o'clock and closer to 9 that we could leave and start our day.
We stayed 7 days but would have left after 3, had we not prepaid. The service also went down after a couple of days - the cleaning was inconsistent, we didn't get enough toilet paper, the towels weren't exchanged anymore.
The standard rooms are extremely noise sensitive - you hear everything from the rooms next door - toilet flushing, doors closing, conversations, TV and the staff isn't particularly quiet either upon arrival in the morning. So we had 4 quiet night (empty room next door) and 3 nightmare ones where our neighbours kept us up until the wee hours.
There is also a mosquito problem due to the location - you need spray even at breakfast and you cannot sit outside past 6pm at night.
The rooms are adequate but quite dark inside and the lighting is so dark that you can't read with your bedlight on and in our room the only chair was broken and the tap in the bathroom was running for the whole week, the bed are extremely mushy and soft. You have dents where people have slept before you and it gets quite uncomfortable after 2 nights.
This all sounds quite bad, but really isn't as La Digue is so lovely and you are outside a lot anyway. To sleep it is quite ok. I would not stay there again though. There are much better places for the money you are paying. There are for sure a lot of much worse places too. This was our most expensive guesthouse in the Seychelles and the worst of the lot.

Date of stay: May 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AquaPacifica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews