We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
5
21
10
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5
21
10
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 38 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2011

sorrounded by rural seychelles, in the middle od a residential area in La Digue, an unique place where you can swim with turtles in the safe close to the reef, Birgo is a real good place to live in.
there is also a little swimming pool, rather unuseful in an island with so beautiful beaches, an airy lobby, large and comfortable rooms, with veranda, a little garden, bicycles to rent and mrs Denise ready to answer to every questions
alessandra and carlo italia

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carlo-onofri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2010

The guesthouse is very small with only 8 rooms, 6 standard and 2 deluxe. The deluxe room are much better than the standard ones.
The area is quite crammed but has a pretty garden and the best thing is the small swimming pool.
The location is about 700m inland from the ferry. Ok on a bike.

You get served breakfast on your veranda from 8-10am but not when you want it but rather when the staff wanders in and is ready. So the first morning we were still in the pool and not ready, breakfast appeared and attracted flies and got cold before we got to it. The next morning we were ready but waited 45 minutes to get served. It is also not first up, first served but whoever the staff chooses to serve first, so the waiting is quite long and tedious (especially when you have plans) and it was never really 8 o'clock and closer to 9 that we could leave and start our day.
We stayed 7 days but would have left after 3, had we not prepaid. The service also went down after a couple of days - the cleaning was inconsistent, we didn't get enough toilet paper, the towels weren't exchanged anymore.
The standard rooms are extremely noise sensitive - you hear everything from the rooms next door - toilet flushing, doors closing, conversations, TV and the staff isn't particularly quiet either upon arrival in the morning. So we had 4 quiet night (empty room next door) and 3 nightmare ones where our neighbours kept us up until the wee hours.
There is also a mosquito problem due to the location - you need spray even at breakfast and you cannot sit outside past 6pm at night.
The rooms are adequate but quite dark inside and the lighting is so dark that you can't read with your bedlight on and in our room the only chair was broken and the tap in the bathroom was running for the whole week, the bed are extremely mushy and soft. You have dents where people have slept before you and it gets quite uncomfortable after 2 nights.
This all sounds quite bad, but really isn't as La Digue is so lovely and you are outside a lot anyway. To sleep it is quite ok. I would not stay there again though. There are much better places for the money you are paying. There are for sure a lot of much worse places too. This was our most expensive guesthouse in the Seychelles and the worst of the lot.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AquaPacifica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2009

We were very warmly welcomed by Denise on our arrival at Birgo. Nothing was too much trouble. We requested bicycle hire - the bikes turned up after 1/2 hour! We also had the 'Masons' rep on hand to arrange a boat trip.

I was using one of the upright sun-loungers next to the pool one morning and Denise asked if I would like to swap to one that had an adjustable back. When I agreed she dragged it over for me and was pleased to do it. I really appreciated that she'd noticed!

Breakfast was served by Joanna on our veranda and included a rasher of the very tastiest bacon I've ever eaten! I gather it originated from a local pig!

We had a wonderful stay at Birgo and would go back like a shot!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrandmaMonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews