We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Get-Away” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Minnewaska Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Minnewaska Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gardiner
Macungie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Get-Away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at Minnewaska Lodge in the Hudson Valley. What a great place! The staff was so nice, from the time we called to make the reservation until we left. The Lodge is beautiful, the room was large and very comfortable and they serve an excellent breakfast for their guests. What a nice touch. Great selection of foods and you can sit in comfortable chairs and look at the beautiful mountains.
If you ever visit the New Paltz area - please stop - you won't be sorry.
Roger and Jan Reis
Macungie, PA

Room Tip: We had Forest View - you might want Mountain View
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    72
    30
    14
    14
See reviews for
64
138
4
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ITHACA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

Beautiful place. Our room was great, with a very comfortable bed -- the only issue was that the wireless signal was very weak at our end of the building. Excellent breakfast in a comfortable lounge area. The staff was extremely helpful -- we were directed to two great hikes. And not far from New Paltz, if you're looking for funky dinner possibilities.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank STEPHEN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

Love this place! A great place to unwind and take in the beautiful scenery. It's clean, cozy, and peaceful. Great hiking trails nearby. Friendly staff, too.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meandererme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

The staff is very friendly and the lodge is beautiful. They have these beautiful windows looking out to the Shawangunk Mountains---- STUNNING. Also Adironack Chairs everywhere for you to just enjoy the views. We had a room with a little deck looking out to the cliffs, the beds were comfortable and room was very clean. No complaints at all. The lodge offers a breakfast which had a great variety of breads - cranberry, zucchini, etc also english muffins, toast, yogurt with a really good granola and all kinds of fruit, cereals.....cookies available throughout the day. It was nice to sit by the wood burning stove and eat and chat. The lodge is conveniently located to New Paltz Village (a couple of miles away) that has a strip of unique shopping and restaurants - The Gilded Otter. Also, the Wine Trail is all around the lodge. What a beautiful area!! We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: They have Forest View rooms which is what I think I booked because it was a couple of dollars cheape...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicola1k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanuet, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

I enjoyed my stay at the Minnewaska Lodge and would stay there again, although I think some of its policies are little restrictive. For example, weekends (Friday and Saturday) require a two-night stay (I was there on a Sunday night) and if you cancel your reservation 30 days prior to arrival date, you receive a credit that must be used within six months. Therefore, I would not stay there in January or February when the weather is unpredictable--certainly not 30 days in advance. You are charged for the room when you make the reservation, so my bill was paid before I got there. Also note that the lodge accepts AAA.
The lodge is located in Gardiner, NY, and is approximately six miles from the town of New Paltz, which makes it convenient to New Paltz's many restaurants and shops and other activities in the area.
The lodge, which has 26 rooms, is set back from the road and located at the base of the Shawangunk Mountains. The rooms at the back of the lodge have small terraces and a view of the mountains. The rooms in the front, like mine, have a view of the parking lot (in my e-mail confirmation it was described as "forest view"). Note that there are a few parking spaces by the entrance to the lodge. Otherwise, you must park in the larger lot, which requires you to walk up and down a small hill. Even if you don't have a mountain view room, you can enjoy the view from the deck or seated in the Adirondacks chairs scattered across the lawn. A good view is also provided in the Great room, where breakfast is served.
My room was spacious, with a cathedral ceiling, and decorated with oak Mission-style furniture. There was a king-size bed and end tables on either side with lamps, a phone and clock radio. To the right was a desk with a lamp and a chair and an arm chair. An ottoman was at the foot of the bed. Across from the bed was a bureau with a flat screen television on top. The closet contained an extra pillow and blanket, iron, ironing board and luggage rack.
The bathroom was decent size, with ample counter space, and a heat lamp. A hair dryer and Kiss My Face toiletries are provided but no coffee maker (however, coffee, tea and hot chocolate are provided in the breakfast room 24/7). Noteworthy to me is that four sets of towels were provided.
Breakfast is served in the Great room off the lobby. It also has a cathedral ceiling and one windowed wall that looks out on the mountains, so you can enjoy the view while you're having breakfast. There is one large table with six chairs and small groupings of tables and chairs. There is a fireplace but it wasn't in use when I was there. In addition to coffee and tea, breakfast included granola, fresh fruit, English muffins and cakes. Later in the day, cookies are provided in the lobby.
The Hudson Valley area is particularly beautiful in the fall. Last summer I had stayed at the Mohonk Mountain House in New Paltz and had wanted to return in the fall to see the view from the tower on the grounds when the leaves are changing. Because a one-night stay at the Minnewaska Lodge ($179) is much cheaper than that for the Mohonk Mountain House I chose to stay at the lodge and buy a day pass to the Mohonk Mountain House grounds ($25 weekends, $20 weekdays). I believe that the lodge provides free passes to the Mohonk Preserve but had run out of its allotment at the time of my stay. The Mohonk Preserve Web site states that the Preserve and the Mohonk Mountain House are two separate places.


I

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LFAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardiner
10.7 km away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#2 of 5 in New Paltz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
17.4 km away
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ellenville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
12.2 km away
Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.0 km away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
5.5 km away
Mohonk Mountain House
Mohonk Mountain House
#1 of 5 in New Paltz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,896 reviews
21.0 km away
Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minnewaska Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minnewaska Lodge

Property: Minnewaska Lodge
Address: 3116 Route 44 55, Hudson Valley, Gardiner, NY 12525-5031
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Gardiner
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gardiner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Minnewaska Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled upon 17 acres at the base of the rugged Shawangunk Mountains lies the Minnewaska Lodge, a uniquely designed 26-room property in the quaint town of Gardiner, New York. Surrounded by 25,000 acres of State park preserve, with breathtaking views of the Gunk’s Ridge 1,200 feet above the lodge, this Hudson Valley hotel offers a tranquil boutique experience. Minnewaska Lodge is centrally located just 75 miles North of New York City in the historic Hudson Valley, making it an unparalleled destination among New Paltz hotels for romantic getaways, weddings, reunions, corporate retreats, meetings, parties or small events. Accommodations at the Minnewaska Lodge are comfortable, providing the amenities and services of a fine hotel, with the ambiance of a cozy bed and breakfast. Oak Mission-style furniture and arts and crafts decor create a charming mountain retreat-like setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Minnewaska Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minnewaska Hotel Gardiner

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing