We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
4
17
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
17
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mountain shadows electric blankets the kitchen value for money rhodes pass snow area cape hospitality summer views dinner accommodation
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 24 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile

We stayed three nights in the Mountain Shadows Hotel during the first snow fall of the season. The first night was a last minute booking as we couldn't reach Rhodes with the recent snowfall. We were warmly welcomed despite arriving much later than we'd anticipated on the first night with the driving difficulties! Sonja went above and beyond to ensure we had a warm dinner (keeping the kitchen open for us), tea, coffee, heaters in our rooms and electric blankets turned on! We found the rooms to be clean and comfortable, the food was hearty and hospitality all round excellent. A very good choice at a decent price in the area.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank CarolynMLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile

Thanks to Sonia and her team for making us feel so welcome after a tough day. We drove 2 hours up the Bastervoet pass and arrived in the early evening to a good clean, value for money overnight stay.
On top of Barkly pass it is perfectly situated for exploring the Eastern Cape.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Iain G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2017

Mountain Shadows Hotel is a true country hotel that welcomes you with genuine country hospitality. The rooms are huge and spotlessly clean and above all there is total peace and quiet. The staff are friendly and very accommodating.
I definite place to send a couple of days if you enjoy quiet surrounding and fresh mountain air.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DavidVanDerSandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017

We made use of Mountain Shadows as an overnight stopover en route to Cape St Francis traveling from Durban. The location is excellent (only 18k's off the main R56 route that encompasses an epic, scenic drive up the magnificent Barkley pass)
The rooms are more than comfortable with all amenities required. The staff were friendly and very accommodating, allowing us to bring our small dog along, as well as giving us very generous pre-packed breakfast to take with us on our early next-day departure. The hotel itself meets all needs with a well-stocked pub and lounge. Dinner was a hearty roast buffet that ticked almost all the boxes. A vegetarian-friendly would have been but considering the circumstances, we could not have asked for more. This is an ideal overnight stopover if you're ever traveling on the R56! We look forward to visiting again soon!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bedindin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017

The approach to the hotel from Eliot is breathtaking, straight up to Barkley's Pass. At the top is the hotel.

The rooms are basic but functional, with lots of hot water.

The power went out most of the evening (I suspect a common occurrence here, judging by their preparedness for power outages). The kitchen was able to cook a fantastic dinner, we were told it's classic South African comfort food.

The best part is the british-style pub in the common area.

In the morning the power was back on and I could get a wifi signal. Oddly the best place was in the middle of the parking lot.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews