We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value - Ideal Overnight Stopover”

Mountain Shadows Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mountain Shadows Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Elliot B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 January 2017

We made use of Mountain Shadows as an overnight stopover en route to Cape St Francis traveling from Durban. The location is excellent (only 18k's off the main R56 route that encompasses an epic, scenic drive up the magnificent Barkley pass)
The rooms are more than comfortable with all amenities required. The staff were friendly and very accommodating, allowing us to bring our small dog along, as well as giving us very generous pre-packed breakfast to take with us on our early next-day departure. The hotel itself meets all needs with a well-stocked pub and lounge. Dinner was a hearty roast buffet that ticked almost all the boxes. A vegetarian-friendly would have been but considering the circumstances, we could not have asked for more. This is an ideal overnight stopover if you're ever traveling on the R56! We look forward to visiting again soon!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bedindin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2017

The approach to the hotel from Eliot is breathtaking, straight up to Barkley's Pass. At the top is the hotel.

The rooms are basic but functional, with lots of hot water.

The power went out most of the evening (I suspect a common occurrence here, judging by their preparedness for power outages). The kitchen was able to cook a fantastic dinner, we were told it's classic South African comfort food.

The best part is the british-style pub in the common area.

In the morning the power was back on and I could get a wifi signal. Oddly the best place was in the middle of the parking lot.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

We had a good nights sleep after a long day on the road. Basic needs met. Had supper, which was adequate with some delicious tuna salad. Second time we made use if this facility which is just off the main route between Elliot and Lady Grey.
The ocean was calling so we gave breakfast a miss. Beautiful scenery around the area. Was vey cool on arrival and departure, at the start if summer!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
Thank Minas01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016

Recently stayed there for one evening - arrived very late and they asked if they could put my food in the room - clearly I said yes. Food was kept warm on a hot tray but with a cooling rack between. Had good old fashioned home cooking! Rooms clean, bed comfortable, electric blanket and the heater was turned on as it was a cold evening. Breakfast enough to fill a hungry tummy. I am a bit put off with the noise level coming from the kitchen could hear every word the staff and management was talking - seems to be the place where they all come together before the day starts!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Deale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016

This establishment exudes old world charm and homeliness from the moment you walk in the doors. A dining room with snow capped mountain views and a swan swimming in a pond for good measure. A relaxation lounge with a large fire place and cosy snuggle in couches. A large bar with another huge wood burning fire place all add the exquisite charm of this beautiful mountain retreat. Rooms with electric blankets, comfortable, neat and clean. Mountain Shadows Hotel is a beautiful getaway place for couples or family and very affordable.

Room Tip: all first floor rooms all short walking distances from the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 495jmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Mountain Shadows Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Shadows Hotel

Address: On the Barkley Pass, Elliot 5460, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Elliot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Elliot
Price Range: €69 - €84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Shadows Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mountain Shadows Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing