We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Intaba Lodge(Elliot)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
4
17
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
17
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmountain shadowselectric blanketsthe kitchenvalue for moneyrhodespasssnowareacapehospitalitysummerviewsdinneraccommodation
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 24 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2015

Recently had the opportunity to stay at the Hotel and was pleasantly surprised. Excellent value for money and staff very attentive to your needs. Accommodation was very comfortable and food was great. A pity that more people don't know about this place, but would recommend anyone passing this area to give it a try. Considering the rates, this represents excellent value for money.

Room Tip: All rooms are similar / standard, so any room would be comfortable.
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sanjiv R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2014

I stayed for business purposes and found the establishment met all my requirements. The rooms are neat and has all the basics. The food is good. The service is excellent. Everyone goes out of the way to ensure that all your needs are met. It is perfect place for a stop over.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We really enjoyed our time at your hotel Enjoyed the great view and position on top of the Barkly Pass We explored the area went to rock art nearby recommended by owners as well as a round trip to Rhodes Would definitely recommend as a value for money family hotel stop
Delicious food and very helpful and friendly owners/staff

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank foresthall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stopped in at Mountain Shadows, en-route to Rhodes, for a much needed break and something to eat. Although not geared as a pop-in take away stop, Ria and her staff were very gracious and prepared toasted sandwiches for our group of 6.
We ate in a large lounge area as the dining room was being prepared for a large function that evening. The aromas from the kitchen were incredible and we could hear a lot of activity - which made us all the more grateful for the hospitality and friendliness we experienced in the 45 minutes we were there.
Next to the lounge is a large bar area, and the hotel also has a small conference facility.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJD_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Great stop to break our journey from Port Elizabeth to Durban. Spectacularly situated at the top of the Barkley Pass. Excellent value as price includes evening meal and breakfast. Staff are really helpful and friendly. Would definitely stop there again for more than one night.

Room Tip: Rooms are a little dated but on suite and comfortable.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews