We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a winner.”

Mountain Shadows Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mountain Shadows Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Elliot B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 July 2015 via mobile

The crisp and fresh mountain air, the absolute quiet, the views, all are superb. This hotel has adequate and clean rooms although the towels in the bathrooms are not of the greatest.
The pub with its cosy fireplace is delectable and many hours can be spent here chatting to both old friends and new acquaintances. The hallway has some wonderful memorabilia on display.
All meals are included in your stay and they are very nice indeed. This is a great spot to stay and to explore the region. Rhodes, Tiffindel, seven wonderful mountain passes to explore. Yep it sure is a superb spot indeed.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Bennett B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2015

Recently had the opportunity to stay at the Hotel and was pleasantly surprised. Excellent value for money and staff very attentive to your needs. Accommodation was very comfortable and food was great. A pity that more people don't know about this place, but would recommend anyone passing this area to give it a try. Considering the rates, this represents excellent value for money.

Room Tip: All rooms are similar / standard, so any room would be comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sanjiv R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2014

I stayed for business purposes and found the establishment met all my requirements. The rooms are neat and has all the basics. The food is good. The service is excellent. Everyone goes out of the way to ensure that all your needs are met. It is perfect place for a stop over.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We really enjoyed our time at your hotel Enjoyed the great view and position on top of the Barkly Pass We explored the area went to rock art nearby recommended by owners as well as a round trip to Rhodes Would definitely recommend as a value for money family hotel stop
Delicious food and very helpful and friendly owners/staff

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank foresthall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stopped in at Mountain Shadows, en-route to Rhodes, for a much needed break and something to eat. Although not geared as a pop-in take away stop, Ria and her staff were very gracious and prepared toasted sandwiches for our group of 6.
We ate in a large lounge area as the dining room was being prepared for a large function that evening. The aromas from the kitchen were incredible and we could hear a lot of activity - which made us all the more grateful for the hospitality and friendliness we experienced in the 45 minutes we were there.
Next to the lounge is a large bar area, and the hotel also has a small conference facility.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJD_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Mountain Shadows Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Shadows Hotel

Address: On the Barkley Pass, Elliot 5460, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Elliot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Elliot
Price Range: €62 - €82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Shadows Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mountain Shadows Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing