We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveller rating
88
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
88
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssconesbottomless cookie jargreat hostsother guestswatkins glenseneca lakemary makeseach morningbed and breakfastmy husband and iinn keepersfire ringwest shoremoment you arrivedirect accessbeautiful deckcorning glass
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 91 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2010

My husband and I were VERY lucky to have gotten a room at this lovely place. We visited for a weekend in August, and because of a last minute cancellation, we were able to get a room. Peter and Mary were great! They welcomed us in, showed us around, and gave us some great advice on where to go for good food/wine. Our room was very clean, had its own table and mini-fridge, a nice size bathroom, and our own private balcony with a great view. Breakfast each morning was delicious - homemade scones, fresh fruit, eggs, pancakes, bacon...plenty of food for all! We enjoyed sitting around the fire pit with the rest of the guests in the evenings and the dock is a great place to relax and enjoy the scenery and a good book. We were very pleased with our stay at the Pearl and when we return, we won't even bother looking for someplace else to go. The Pearl is the BEST!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nmbbjm44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

Arriving at the Pearl was like coming come to warm and smiling friends. The location is perfect, on the shore of Seneca Lake, with chairs, several porches, a fire pit and hammock. Take your pick of where to sit and enjoy the view. The huge kitchen was designed for Mary and Peter to cook breakfast and for you to sit, have coffee and talk to them. The best part about breakfast is watching Mary’s smile as she cooks and watches you eat. It is hard to figure out who is enjoying this morning event more, you or Mary. Besides being a great cook, she accommodates diverse diets and tries new ways of cooking foods to fit diets on the fly! This lady has style. And that smile just fills the room the entire time.

The inn is clean and oh so comfortable! There are so many places to sit and talk to other guests or to sit quietly. A Falavia machine means that coffee is always available along with cookies.

The location is perfect. Just 10 miles to Watkins Glen and 15 to Geneva. Easy access to the other lakes and Corning. And when you come back to the Pearl, the grounds are quiet.

When you leave, which is difficult to do, you are given a bag of cookies for the road. We can’t wait to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NCcatpeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

Just returning from a wonderful Labor Day weekend in the Finger Lakes area. We stayed 2 nights at the Pearl and could not have been happier! We got in very late when we checked in; Peter and Mary were very accomodating and even gave us a tour of the house at 1 am! The breakfasts were very good (Mary's freshly baked scones were amazing). They designed the house for use as a B&B so it was laid out very well, was spacious and had lots of amenities (not to mention some gorgeous lake views). Each room had its own bathroom and direct access to a porch with a view. They had a fire pit with smores fixings, horseshoes, row boat and canoe, and a hammock. They were helpful with winery and sight-seeing recommendations as well, but it was difficult to leave their place for long. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clundh03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

Mary and Peter could not have been more wonderful. Mary even made me special home made bread that I could eat due to my allergies. One day we just spent most of the day at the inn enjoying the porch and dock and the great views of the lake. If you are going to be in the area this is a great place to stay. it was much nicer to be out of Watkins Glen and be at this wonderful peaceful B & B which is centrally located to everything. Believe all the reviews that you have read here that say how great the Pearl of Seneca Lake is.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2010

I can say no more than what has already been said. Peter and Mary's Pearl is indeed a gem! My husband and I had a wonderful stay there and so enjoyed the quiet evenings sitting on the balcony overlooking the lake and even more so the wonderful breakfasts that Mary cooked up. The scones were to die for and the conversations were so interesting and lively. What a great way to start off your morning!!

Yes, the downside was leaving but, Mary packs you a doggie bag of cookies, so that makes it a little easier! :-) Thank you Mary and Peter for sharing your beautiful home and kitchen with us!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Im4water
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews