We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveller rating
129
105
46
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
129
105
46
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews balcony room coffee and fruit juice san gimignano friendly hotel pool area restaurant staff tour tuscany air conditioning small hotel beautiful countryside peace and quiet via francigena pleasant stay other guests comfortable rooms home made olive oil
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 292 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for a week and it's a Great base for getting around and seeing glorious Tuscany. It's a bit under 15 mins drive from San Gimignano and whilst it's nice not to be in a busy town you do have to factor in that it will take time to get places and the roads are quite slow and in some places perilous. Italian drivers are also quite brave at overtaking and taking corners so keep your wits about you.

The gardens of the hotel are tendered with loving care and its a great setting. The staff were also very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a balcony room overlooking the gardens. The rooms are small and the bathroom was pretty tiny. Not easy to get around if you are not agile. The shower pressure though is brilliant. The bath had a crack in it and most of the walls had splattered bug marks on them where I assume people had smacked them to death previously, which is a disappointment. Other than that the rooms were clean.

Now to the insect situation. We got bitten quite badly when sitting outside but also whilst in our room. Even with the balcony doors shut the things got us. So unless you want to add to the splatter marks please bring insect repellant.

As other guests have pointed out, the wifi is patchy. It's great and fast when it's available but drops out very frequently. Fortunately there is 4g mobile signal towards the front of the hotel.

The food was great and well cooked but the breakfast buffet was the same every day. A little bit of a change now and then wouldn't have gone a miss.

Overall its a lovely and friendly hotel in a good position. It's not what is classed as luxury but it is clean, comfortable and no nonsense and it's clear the staff do everything they can to make your stay a good one.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
Thank JN_hampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola V, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest,
many thanks for this long review, full of information of your personal experience. My colleagues and I, we are very proud of our job and happy to maintain a familiar contact with the guests, such as the property likes to keep a friendly atmosphere in this simple country hotel. We have never had the intent to realize a luxury hotel at Le Renaie.
We also thank you for the suggestions you are giving in the way to improve our hospitality.
I like to add that life in the country side is wonderful. The restaurant and the quality of the food comes out from the tradition of Tuscany, from the tradition of the life in our country. On the other side, some time we have to expect little renounces or battle against insect. Some spray for the rooms and repellant for the body will be enough to survive, actually for well surviving.
The WI-FI connection, has a good setting, we only have needed to changed a part of the equipment because was damaged. Probably you were staying during that time and regret you had some trouble. I wish you would like to return and find all best regards from all of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018

We were traveling on a budget, but up graded our room to stay in the actual hotel, versus the building down the driveway. The food was very good and we enjoyed joking with Barbara at the bar. Pride of ownership and very clean rooms. It is a bit run down and in need of some updating, but we were comfortable and well fed.

Room Tip: Not sure, our room overlooked the valley and the Bocce ball court, which was surprisingly, but played every night.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank divaoffood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola V, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear guest,
I thank you so much for your kind review and are happy that you had a good feeling with all of us. Special regards from Barbara, she always likes to have a bit of conversation and joke, when possible, with the hotel guests. We hope to meet you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018

Our stay didn’t start very well unfortunately.

We had paid for a pool view and on arrival were allocated a room facing the road and overlooking what looked like a forgotten building site.

Our daughter became quite upset over this. We approached reception and explained and they said they could have another room with a pool view for us tomorrow.

The new room was cramped with a “put me up bed”. It was a pool view room though and the balcony was good size.

Both rooms were dated and in need of refurbishment.

We quickly realised that the air conditioning was not capable of cooling the rooms. Sleeping was a bit of a nightmare because of this.

There wasn’t any air conditioning in the bathroom.

The WIFI is virtually non-existent. It became very frustrating.

On a plus note the staff were very friendly and helpful.

The hotel itself is peaceful with ample parking and lovely gardens.

The hotel offers a restaurant service (except on Tuesday) and the food was OK.

The pool area was clean and of a reasonable size but a little tired.

Be warned, we were bitten alive by the mozzie’s!!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pecanpie2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola V, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2018

Dear guest,
thank you for the review. We have to accept your totally personal opinion. Consideration and expectation can be completely different for each traveler, actually many other guests say exactly the contrary. Please, let me say the following about the air conditioning. This year we have totally renovate the equipment with a new generation system. It was very well working for the whole season with none problem.
There was just something you should have done: keep the windows shut!
Or talk to the reception about, they would have helped you to get the solution.
A simple solution to avoid leakage of conditioning.
The most part of the question and problem you might have during a stay, can be solved with the assistance of the staff. Insect bites, there is something we can do. What do you think? We can live in the country and don’t enjoy the garden, the pool, the terrace?
Many thanks from all my colleagues and I, we are always happy to give the needed assistance to our guests. Regards from Le Renaie Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2018

We stayed for 5 nights B&B in this small family run hotel. The staff are very friendly and always willing to help. We were disappointed that the pool area and the garden pathways were full of weeds. We had one evening meal but then decided to eat in San Gimignano where there are many restaurants. The wi-fi signal is very patchy, a common problem in many hotels. Our bedroom and the breakfasts were fine.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alasdair R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola V, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2018

Dear guest,
we thank you for the kind review.
I’m living in the country side and I think when people decide to come and stay in a hotel in the country side, should be able and accept something could be not perfect, including the WI-FI signal.
The system we fixed is correct, the connection goes directly through our server, but position and weather condition can disturb reception, sometime.
We will be very glad to welcome you again, when you will be back in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018 via mobile

The charm of this hotel is that it is run by one family who are at great pains to make you feel welcome and comfortable. In addition the restaurant is unbelievably good for a small hotel. We had a lovely time here.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank ipswi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola V, Responsabile reception at Hotel Le Renaie, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2018

Dear kind friend,
anyone who is reading your review can feel your “love” and affection. We are very happy that you have liked our hospitality , very happy to have had a guest like you are.
Regards, an Italian fantastic CIAO from Sabatini family and the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews