We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Need some improvements.

We went there with my family and with seniors in tow by cars. We walked to the falls,The road is... read more

Reviewed 20 January 2018
Abby F
via mobile
Recommended for Picnic

When planning to visit this place, be sure to have other activities aside from just the normal... read more

Reviewed 28 April 2017
Alma B
via mobile
Read all 18 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Subic Bay Freeport Zone
from US$138.00
More Info
from US$5.90
More Info
from US$13.90
More Info
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveller rating
2
7
8
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
2
7
8
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 18 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2017

Going to Subic and tired of doing the usual zoobic-ocean adventure (then shopping) combo, I wanted this time to have a lot to do with nature and other attractions which the family has not experienced in SBMA. El Kabayo and El Kabayo falls was one of them and I was able to check off both from our list when we did the waterfalls ride from the stables.

Being a mountaineer, I appreciated the short 'trek' to the falls from the top of the area. Although it was a few steps down and to the waters, I am sure that this was a heck of a 'hike' for my 6-y/o. We had fun exploring the area and going up and down two trails leading back to our first jump-off. We then proceeded to the falls (as close as we could get!) and posed by the rock formations there.

With the make-shift water source (portruding tube from the spring), showing my kids and having them try it out for themselves (I'm sure) was a game-changer :P

I believe there are variations to the tours and have longer treks w/ general / basic jungle survival techniques being featured, including lunch at the falls and we will definitely put that up on our list of next to-do's when we go back (soon!).

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank r1a2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2017

El Kabayo Waterfalls lies an easy 5-10 minute hike from a major road. As far as jungle hikes go it is pretty un-remarkable. The trail is well traveled by horse and can be muddy even without the rain. The trees are no where near as impressive as other forests in the Subic Bay area. The keepers of the area have forged a couple of pedestrian-only trails at certain points in the trail which helps with the horse use.

The falls themselves are modest cascades that fall over short outcroppings of rock into moderately deep pools. The water seemed a bit on the mirky side when we were there, but it had rained the day before so perhaps the stream was carrying more silt than usual.

If you want a very short hike to a moderately pleasant destination, then this might be the spot for you. It would also be a nice way to end the horse trek from El Kabayo Stables. As a hiking destination - it would be better to fork out the money for the eco tour (250 Pesos) or to go to a better location in the area (like the Apaliin trail).

You do not need a guide to reach the falls, and the people who were there when we arrived spoke almost no English.

Date of experience: February 2017
1  Thank Lizzy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2016

It was drizzling on that November weekend. The guide said it will take only five minutes to reach the falls. It took us more than 20 minutes because we had difficulty treading on the slippery mud. The guide was gracious enough to assist us and even crafted walking sticks to help prevent us from slipping. Excellent tour guides.

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank RowenaG8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2016

the waterfalls is next to the El Kabayo riding stables. take a walk deep into the forest and make your way through the landscape of wild ferns and other wild flora. after several bends get int the pool of water fed by a soothing mountain creek. please do not leave any garbage behind to preserve nture as it i.

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank jcaluyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2016

This is the destination of one of the horse back rides available at El Kabayo Stables. It is a great ride through the jungle. If you decide return here via car, you can swim, dive and enjoy yourself. But NO LIFEGUARDS ON DUTY.

Date of experience: December 2015
Thank SoCalOregonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews