We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced for what you'll get”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lighthouse Marina Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 February 2018

+ Room was spacious
+ Bathroom especially the bathtub is great
+ Veranda has a good size & view
+ Bed is very comfy
+ Staff are very courteous and helpful
+ Availability of board games & dvds that guests can borrow is a nice feature in enhancing family bonding time
+ Breakfast buffet although has few choices has tasty food

- Beachfront is not clean which is such a disappointment not only because you can't swim but moreso because walking along the shore you see a lot of garbage, broken bottles, etc.
- The access to the lighthouse which should have been a good feature is now not allowed because they have made it into a bodega. It would have been nice to take advantage of the view the lighthouse can provide to the guests
- the "free pm snacks" would have been nice if the food served was well thought of and not just something they provide guests with. While staying there, we were served small puto and flimsy potato fries. We ended up ordering clubhouse sandwhich which tasted bland

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cesdakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (331)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2018

The good thing is that the rooms are relatively cheap. The hotel is just your average place. Rooms are tired and appear very old, with weird colour combinations used, which doesn't make it an attractive place. Some amenities look like they have seen better times, light fixtures are loose. There are also hardly any power points in strategic places. Having said that, I had a good rest, but the bed is weird.... 2 queens next to eachother?! Whilst the rooms have balconies, they are tiny and the view oversees an alleyway that is used for garbage containers and storage.

The breakfast and bar/restaurant are "ok", but general service is really slow. The good thing is probably the location, right next to the bay. Also the internet connection is wonky and doesn't easily connect. Given the efficiency with which the reception fixed the problem, this seems to be a common theme.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerry_W_Reisenberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2018

After reviewing the hotel's web site and reading reviews on Agoda which calls this a 4 star hotel I booked it.

After checking in I found that this hotel might be no higher than 2 stars and for sure not a number 1 boutique hotel. The place is dated and needs work. The rooms are not 4 star quality and lighting is poor if you like to read in bed at night. Place has an odor in it as soon as you get into the elevator and walking to my room there was an unpleasant odor in the hallway. When I asked for change at the front desk they could not break my large peso notes to 20's and 50's or even 100's.

The breakfast was nothing special and the food in the chaffing dishes was all cold. None had the heating elements lite. No one at the egg station. Seemed like on a permanent break. Had to ask to have someone come out of the kitchen to cook eggs and make bacon. Beef presented in their Beef Broccoli one morning was as tough as leather. Not cooked enough to become tender and cut in large cubes. Over all the BF was depressing.

The pool area was clean but the beach area was dirty and trash washed ashore. Blackish sand and the water was not crystal clear as it was years ago when I was stationed there. No one staying at the hotel went in to the bay swimming.

The wifi was fine through out the hotel.

The price charged was also too high for what the hotel offered. This place is over rated and over priced for what they offer the guest. Also the restaurant staff seemed to stand around in a daze and service was very slow or you had to look at one and make a motion to pick up a used plate. For sure they need to be trained to be waiters not just given a white shirt and a pair of blank pants.

I have traveled all over the world during my 35 year career as a diplomat and have stayed in many 3rd world hotels which were so much of a better value than this one.
Not many guests were there over the weekend and on Monday and Tuesday hardly any guests could be seen.

Also the Saturday and Sunday night music was so loud it kept us awake.

There are other new hotels in the Subic area which I checked out which really meet the 4 star rating but it was quite clear to me that this hotel should be cut to a 2 star rating by Agoda and other booking web sites.

I would not recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a beach resort type of hotel and a place which should never have been rated as a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank hs0zdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018 via mobile

The booked four rooms. They were clean and were well stocked with toiletries. The hotel served free PM snacks and even had treats sent up to our rooms. Staff are very accomodating except for that unfortunate delay on our check out due to a misplaced towel. No beach swimming just the pool. In general, the place is OK. But its too expensive for the over all experience we had.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank j t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018

I wrote a bad review of this hotel last time we visited a couple of years ago but they have improved no end. Gone was the rude receptionist and the general inefficiencies and "in" was politeness and the "can we do more to help you" approach.

Its now back in its rightful position as the top Resort Hotel in the Subic Bay Freeport area and we really enjoyed our three day stay there this Christmas/ New Year.

No complaints at all - our Aqua Suite was great - OK - it was a bit noisy at night as it overlooked the bar area but that is a hazard of the trade in a Resort hotel. If peace and quiet are what you want - seek a room at the back of the hotel.

That's about it. I have no problem recommending this place - good rooms, good restaurant and a nice little pub/bar and staff - what more could we have asked for apart from, perhaps, a little more quiet at night time.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Johnindee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Subic Bay Freeport Zone
0.8 km away
Court Meridian Hotel
Court Meridian Hotel
#2 of 28 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
283 reviews
0.4 km away
Best Western Plus Hotel Subic
Best Western Plus Hotel Subic
#4 of 28 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
153 reviews
0.1 km away
Vista Marina Hotel and Resort
Vista Marina Hotel and Resort
#7 of 28 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
Camayan Beach Resort and Hotel
Camayan Beach Resort and Hotel
#6 of 28 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
531 reviews
32.3 km away
Las Casas Filipinas de Acuzar
3.1 km away
Le Charme Suites
Le Charme Suites
#8 of 28 in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lighthouse Marina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lighthouse Marina Resort

Address: Moonbay Marina Complex, Water Front Road | Waterfront Road, CBD, Subic Bay Freeport Zone, Luzon, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Central Luzon Region > Bataan Province > Subic Bay Freeport Zone
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Subic Bay Freeport Zone
Price Range: €100 - €142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lighthouse Marina Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most lavish and magnificent Subic Bay experience. Like a beacon that steers boats to shore, this magnificent establishment on the Subic waterfront can serve as a venue that beckons travelers seeking world-class comfort. Our Commitment: Lighthouse is committed to creating value and improving guests' experience. We have this genuine interest in our guests' evolving needs, thus we invest in our infrastructure and our people as we strive to provide a compelling guest experience. Our company was built on serving and satisfying guests and meeting if not surpassing our guests' needs is always our No. 1 priority. The Location: The Lighthouse Marina Resort is a three-floor, 34-room boutique hotel capped by a lighthouse. The hotel is sleek and ultra-modern in its Palafox-designed architecture. Done in almost austere Italianate architectonics with its elegantly simplistic hotel façade, the hotel's main building provides a perfect compliment to the 20 meter light tower done in surprising detail very faithful to naval architecture specifications. Its exclusive location hidden in the midst of the busy Waterfront Road makes it the ultimate haven of retreat. The Lighthouse was established in 2007 to provide transient residence to executives of business locators of the Subic free port zone and for tourists who frequent the port more for its sailing and eco‐tourism than its business. Ease of Travel: Proximity and ease of travel are always a concern for many people who are trying to escape the hustle and bustle of life in the metropolis. Just less than a year ago, Subic was a grueling three to four hour drive from the city capital. Today, all roads lead to a tranquil location, a journey of heightened leisure, traversing through a scenic paved ultra majestic highway newly built to serve as the main vein of the Manila-Subic connection, the Subic Clark Tarlac Expressway. For a relaxing and inexpensive travel, the flicker of light at the Lighthouse Marina Resort just got brighter. A perfect vacation haven away from home just got closer. Its exclusive location hidden in the midst of the busy Waterfront Road makes it the ideal chill out place within the shorelines of Subic Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Lighthouse Marina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lighthouse Marina Hotel Subic
Lighthouse Marina Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing