We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
33
39
20
16
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
33
39
20
16
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chautauqua institution rocking chairs step back in time lake chautauqua premium room bucket list opening weekend saturday evening huge porch updated amenities authentic feel oysters wonderful weekend r r package deal amphitheater brunch
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 126 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

Unfortunately we came the last weekend of the season and found most staffers had already left for college. The resulting predictable lack of service, while understandable, was disappointing. Everything else was great and it was wonderful to see a century+ old hotel so nicely updated inside while retaining the flavor of the outside so well. The staff that was there was great!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Deacon John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2016

This is a huge wooden hotel built on lake Chautauqua in the late 19th c. Wonderful period common rooms and great porch and high ceilings and wide corridors . So take a step back in time, immerse yourself in the Chautauqua Institute offerings to just sleep in your room and while there be creative to find places for your stuff. Enjoy the views too

Room Tip: Back rooms over lake
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Dianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

A grand, elegant hotel that takes you back to honest Christian neighborhoods, like it should be. Reserve your rocking chair because it's the best place to view the lake. Clas and Culture, tha's what it means.

Room Tip: Overlooking the lake
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016

It's old and in some places showing it's age e.g., peeling wallpaper in a few places. The rooms vary in size and furnishings. But it's a delightful old hotel in a very convenient location e.g., near the water, and steps away from the amphitheatre. The Institute shuttle bus stops regularly at the hotel and it's also a regular stop for the airport shuttle bus.

Our room was decent sized and since it had two twin beds the hotel staff pushed them together for us and put king sized sheets and linens on the bed. The bathroom was quite tiny by modern standards, but it was sufficient. The ceilings are very high and the windows huge. And the wrap around porch is delightful for eating a meal, reading a book, talking with others or sitting with a glass of wine as the sun goes down.

All of the staff were pleasant and helpful. The major drawback is price!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ColumbiaMDPercolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016

What can I say that hasn't been said already? The hotel is charming and yes a bit run down, but this did not take away from the convenience and friendliness of all of the staff who took care of us. It is steps away from the Amphitheater, Bestor Plaza and the lake. It is great t have the restaurant, valet parking and helpful informative staff. We did have to switch our room after the first night because our bed was so uncomfortable, but we were quickly relocated to an even nicer room and were very happy. No bathtubs! Oh well, we really enjoyed our stay and enjoyed our included breakfast every day!! Thank you Athenaeum Hotel.

Room Tip: We liked room 194
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank baffled4232011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa W, Public Relations Manager at Athenaeum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2016

Thank you so much for your comment and we hope to see you next season!

All the best,
Vanessa Weinert
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews