We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveller rating
61
8
4
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
8
4
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tree house on foot tiny plane water buffalo open air single file chief's island unique experience mokoro rides wet season water lilies dugout canoe treehouse matt walks kg boats
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 77 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2017

it was scary. the canoe with poler was good.watch you mouth weeds my hit you in face.
the ground is hard hard... hot and muggy. morning get cold..in oct...need jacket.. it is very dark..the hipo came after us they are very territory and do not like you. mosquitos come in have bug spray.. you will need it..keep tent closed...all time...not worth the walk around island very few animals in oct . I will never go again.... wished I did not go this time

when we tiped the poler 15 p they were angry they wanted more . they got angry.
we passed some people going for day trip.do not know what they payed..

Room Tip: set you price before you go.... they expect a good tip...
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kitty37421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

What an exceptional experience! We arrived by tiny plane and were met by Matt and KG our guide. We were due to go to the camp by mokoro but the hippos in the pool had other ideas so we went by foot. An incredible start to a memorable stay at Delta Camp.
We were the only guests and were treated as part of the family. Naima our waitress and Colin the chef produced and served the most amazing, exceptional food. Drinks were always cold and readily available. Everything comes in by plane from Maun - the freshness and variety was incredible.
The open fronted reed cabins were an experience - we shared ours with the local wildlife - the monkeys arrived before us putting the loo roll down the toilet and scattering the towels - quickly put right but we couldn't leave anything out so learnt to live out of the very large wooden trunk in which we stored everything.
As I have no head for heights we didn't stay in the Tree House which is the most extraordinary bedroom - although we did take a quick look and the view is amazing but be aware the bed is a level higher than the bathroom which could be tricky at night!
We were able to view elephants and buffalo from approximately four feet away - although we were six feet above them on the platform in our cabin - an extraordinary experience. We walked on Chiefs island following trips by mokoro to get there and were treated to close up viewings of giraffe, zebra, impala, kudu, elephants and numerous birds.
We learnt so much about the wildlife and environment from KG and would love to return during the wet season to see how the area transforms from golden to green.

Room Tip: If you don't like heights don't book the Tree House.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JTZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

Our trip to delta camp was amazing. On the plane on the way, there was lots of game. We landed at Oddballs and saw a big elephant close up. Then Knowledge and Joshua our guides greeted us and gave us a briefing of the area. After we took the Mokoro (wooden canoes) to delta camp and saw elephants and hippos. St arrival Pony greeted us and told us about everything that was going to happen . After we went in an evening walk and saw giraffes and elephants . The next morning we did a morning mokoro and walk where we saw a pride of lions elephants buffalo giraffes and all in foot . The guides were very knowledgable and reassuringly said "if a lion charges at you, stay still , make eye contact and take your pictures!!!".
The rooms are lovely with great views and very comfortable beds. Also the food is amazing.
Thank you to everyone who made our trip so amazing!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank laughinglioness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017

My husband and I had a truly magical experience at Delta Camp. Matt, the manager, and our guides were extremely knowledgeable and fun. The people of Botswana are very friendly and extemely proud of their successful government and country - a nice feeling to experience in Africa or anywhere!

We have traveled extensively but have rarely experienced the amazing remoteness and sense that nothing had changed in thousands of years in the Delta. Delta Camp does a fabulous job of serving good, healthy meals (and plenty of them) in such a remote location. The accommodations were clean and comfortable, but perhaps more rustic than some may wish given the luxury price. I felt the open air cabins were interesting and appropriate for the setting. The plumbing worked fine and the showers were good and hot. Who doesn't like sharing your quarters with some wildlife when out in the bush?

And gliding through the reeds, surrounded by water lilies in a mokoro poled by your guide is the most relaxing sensation I've experienced. (In spite of the hundreds or thousands of hidden hippos!)

Stayed: March 2017
Thank MarcieKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2017

An amazingly special 2 nights. We splurged as we cant imagine ever exploring that area again wanted to maximise our delta experience. We were fortunate enough to be the only guests. Will never forget the Tree House
Highly recommended

Room Tip: Tree house - sleep may be disturbed by animals close by, all open air, that is the fun
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews