We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveller rating
168
18
4
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
168
18
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hippo pool desert delta walking safari mokoro ride water based his entire team on foot great mix afternoon activity island walk paradise on earth amazing birds bird watching boat cruise fire pit our honeymoon wonderful experience
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 192 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

Beautiful lodge on the Okavango Delta. Comfortable, clean rooms overlooking the delta. The housekeeper did a great job cleaning and decorating the bed with flowers and messages everyday! Each and every member of staff were so incredibly kind and helpful. We were lucky enough to have to lodge to ourselves on our last night and the staff surprised us with an incredible dinner on a floating deck. It was truly a unique and memorable experience.
The food was always plentiful, delicious and varied. We were spoiled everyday.
Our guide, TH was amazing. He was kind, knowledgeable, patient and found so many amazing sightings. The traditional canoe ride on the delta was so relaxing, peaceful and beautiful.
Julia, one of the managers, was great. Such a hospitable woman with a wealth of knowledge. China was a fun assistant manager with a great sense of humor.
If you are looking for a unique, peaceful, relaxing and personalized experience of the delta I would definitely recommend xugana island lodge! Thank you for making our experience unforgettable!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Michelle893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017

Xugana lagon is a little Heaven and Xugana Island Lodge is where the angels meet. I don't know how to express how much I've loved this place, the kindness of Taz and the all staff, the landscape, the atmosphere, the professionalism of Slade my guide... Gobsmacked flabbergasted, aren't even strong enough ! If you go there, you might find a piece of my heart, of my soul : tell them I'll come back.
Xugana, Xugana, I miss you ! Copy ?

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank takeiteasy34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017

We flew in on a small place, landings were unique-- the animals had to be chased off the run way. The staff greeted us and took us to the lodge via boat. A great intro. The lodge has a series of "cottages" made of local materials. Nice layout with deck for lounging and over head fans. Electricity is off from about 11 p to 4:5am, so if you like to use a CPAP contact them ahead of time and they may be able to arrange something. Cool mornings but by afternoon it was quite warm. the staff were all wonderful and made us feel part of the family. We learned so much from them. Food was excellent and eaten outdoors most of the time. Two game experiences each day -- walking safaris, boat rides into the delta with lots of great hippo and bird viewing, rides in safari vehicles, and mokoros. Sundowners in the field each day could easily become my favorite part of the day. We were here for 4 nights and while we enjoyed each day, probably 3 would have been sufficient. A luxury experience and the most memorable for this safari trip. A big thank you to all the staff

Room Tip: Personally, I would ask for one with a river view.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tusenkatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017

It was hard to imagine such luxury in such a remote place while in keeping with the beauty of the delta. Xugana achieved it. The accommodations, the dining, the staff were absolutely incredible. The variety of experiences was so unique - game drive in open vehicle, mokoro canoe experience, walking game drive, and skiffs to a remote lagoon just rampant with beautiful birds. We fell in love with our guide, Chilie B. He had such a great sense of humor, love of Botswana, and knowledge of animals and birds. Hugs all around when we left. And let me not forget the amazing other guests we met. The main lodge and dining provide a perfect opportunity to form great friendships. A do not miss.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank srbeau645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Xugana Island Lodge for 2 nights, it was the second lodge on our 3 stop honeymoon safari in Botswana (all organised through Desert & Delta Safaris). We simply do not have a bad word to say about it – the lodge, the rooms, the staff, the food, the experience….everything was absolutely fantastic.

The lodge itself is on the edge of a lagoon. Our room was at the water's edge with a large terrace for you to sit on and take in the view/wildlife. The rooms are large and fully equipped, much more luxurious than I expected and completely spotless. The housekeeping staff were amazing, putting on the bed elaborate towel-animals and a message for you every day.

Each day you got a wake-up call at 5.30 for breakfast at 6, then out for an activity until about 10.30. Back for brunch at 11. You then had until 3 to relax by the pool or take a siesta before afternoon tea and your afternoon activity. At sunset you had your sundowner drinks and nibbles. Then back to the lodge for dinner. You certainly did not go short of food and drink – there were a number of choices available for breakfast, brunch and dinner. Further, the team arranged a private dinner for us one evening on the pontoon as it was our honeymoon.

The activities were varied, including boat rides through the channels of the delta and to the hippo pool, a Mokoro ride (thank you Promise) and, our favourite, the walking Safari. We saw hippos, elephants, we had a fleeting glance at a lion hunting on our walking safari, baboons and many different types of birds.

Our guide was Lastie (who is actually part of Leroo la Tou’s staff – our previous lodge), he was great. Very knowledgeable and lots of fun. The staff in general were all wonderful, so professional, lovely and extremely interesting. They couldn’t do enough to make your stay enjoyable.

Thank you so much to the team at Xugana for an amazing couple of days – it was simply amazing.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Rachel_Zunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry R, Marketing Assistant at Xugana Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Dear Rachel_Zunda

Thank you for such a wonderful review from your stay at Xugana Island Lodge. You have most definitely covered all aspects of your stay and expressed how fabulous the lodge and staff made your experience. The lodge itself is a little hidden treasure and once you arrive in camp you can only but relax and enjoy the views over the lagoon. I will be sure to share the detailed and wonderful review with all the staff. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kind regards
The Desert and Delta Safaris Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews