We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (190)
Filter reviews
190 results
Traveller rating
167
17
4
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
167
17
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshippo pooldesert deltawalking safarimokoro ridewater basedstaff makes you feel at homehis entire teamon footgreat mixafternoon activityisland walkparadise on earthamazing birdsbird watchingboat cruisefire pitour honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 190 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2017

Xugana Island Camp is a smallish camp that was the best run camp of the 7 we stayed in on a long vacation. And all 7 were of 5 star service, so that's saying a lot! Everyone knows everyone. It's one big family. Our guide, Chili B we awesome. Along with Alan, and others, he took us to places in the delta that were incredible. The management of the camp was excellent. The food was first class and the location couldn't have been better. I don't know other camps in the delta, but I feel that Xugana must certainly be the best. We would return in a second. Thanks everyone at the camp, you made our African experience life changing.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Emeraldcitytaveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

An amazing place! Wish I had stayed a 3rd night. This is a smaller camp, and so very intimate. The staff is really amazing, learning all of our names. We loved our guides, Chili B, Glade, and Alan. They were so knowledgeable and friendly. Great to talk with and they shared their wealth of information. Hard to remember it all! The rest of the lodge staff were all So Wonderful! The rooms were very comfortable. Food was excellent and a great mix of things were served. Being out on the water was fun and loved the walking tour even if we didn't see a LOT (though saw plenty)! This was probably one of my favorite lodges, I think because it all seemed so personalized given the smaller number of rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank XManNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

We spent our honeymoon in Botswana and were recommended to stay at one land- and one water based camp. Most people stayed at the camps for 2-3 nights.
At Xugana we stayed 3 nights and could easily have stayed longer.
The rooms were very tidy and spacious, the staff was friendly and helpful and the spirit in the camp very warm.
Food was excellent and much attention was given to sustainability, which we loved - especially in this fragile eco environment.
Especially we wish to point out the guides. Chillie B. is such an uplifting spirit and we thank him for making our stay so great. He was ever restles to show us the most spectacular sightings.
We could not have asked for more.
Thank you to all the crew for this unforgettable stay!

If we go back to Botswana, we will make sure not to miss out on Xugana..
Susanna and Patrick / Switzerland

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanna_Patrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed two nights and enjoyed every minute especially with such a wonderful staff. A very different experience because the game drives are done on water in 6-passenger boats and they also offer guided walking tours. It's a beautiful setting and I highly recommend adding this experience to your safari adventures.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jorgeann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riley_81_10, Marketing Assistant at Xugana Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Jorgeann S
Thank you for leaving a review from your stay at Xugana Island Lodge. A little hidden gem in the delta, and what better way to explore than on the water as you have mentioned. Thank you for the recommendation too.
Kind regards
The Desert and Delta Safaris Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

We toured three Desert and Delta safari camps – Xakanaxa, Chobe Game Lodge and Xugana. Chobe is more hotel like whilst Xakanaxa and Xugana are much smaller and more personal. All the establishments were well run and the organisation of the trip (booked through Cedarberg Travel) was excellent.
Within the smaller camps the staff were particularly friendly and on first name terms with the guests. The rooms are clean and well maintained, the activities varied and the food more than acceptable for a remotely located establishment.
We had a wonderful experience and would have no hesitation in returning to these camps.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jim01253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riley_81_10, Marketing Assistant at Xugana Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear jim01253
Thank you for choosing to do a circuit stay with us. Such a great way to see different Eco systems, and style of lodges, and as you have mentioned enjoy the hospitality of our staff. I will be sure to share the wonderful comments with our team on the ground.
Look forward to welcoming you back again.
Kind regards
The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews