We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Xugana Island Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$5,600
Relais & Châteaux
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Camp Moremi(Moremi Game Reserve)
US$1,845
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$3,640
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Sanctuary Stanley's Camp(Okavango Delta)
US$2,245
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Sanctuary Chief's Camp(Moremi Game Reserve)
US$5,205
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sango Safari Camp(Moremi Game Reserve)
US$1,175
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$890
Jumia Travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Wilderness Safaris Mombo Camp(Moremi Game Reserve)
US$6,145
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hyena Pan Tented Camp(Moremi Game Reserve)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mapula Lodge(Moremi Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveller rating
159
17
4
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
159
17
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshippo pooldesert deltawalking safarimokoro ridewater basedstaff makes you feel at homehis entire teamon footgreat mixnarrow channelafternoon activityboat dockbird watchingsunset drinksour honeymoonfire pitthe water's edge
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 182 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2017

I spent 2 nights at the end of June 2017 & it was SO SO nice and pleasant. No WiFi or phones, but who cares. the Team are super nice and made me, as a solo traveller feel at home and no stigma that I was on my own, the staff knew all the guests names, there were no kids when I was there and the mix of people was great, albeit only up to approx. 16 people.Which again made the place more personable and care to detail was exceptional. The guides were always there to accommodate, if we changed our mind about a boat cruise and wanted a walking safari they would change and take us somewhere we hadn't been. It was just so nice, I was sad to leave to move to another camp.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swho06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riley_81_10, Marketing Assistant at Xugana Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Dear Swho06
So lovely to read a review from one of our guests, who was made to feel part of the family. I will be sure to share the comments with our team, I know they will be pleased to hear that you had a wonderful time in camp. Being able to switch off from the rest of the world, is what makes the stay with us, just that more memorable and relaxing. Thank you for staying with us.
Kind regards
The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017

Four of us - two couples - spent three days/nights here at the end of May. it was a little rustic/basic in terms of accommodation (no electricity during the night) but in all honesty, that added to the charm and feeling of getting away from it all.
The staff are fantastic - our guide and tracker (Allen and Promise) were fun, informative, professional and friendly - can't speak highly enough.
The safaris - mainly by boat (although we did use Mokoros and walking) - along the 'Hippo Highways' were fantastic - stopping every time the eagle eyed hosts spotted something of interest o or we had a question.
One afternoon we asked if we could try fishing - Allen supplied us with four rods, bait and took us us too a lagoon where we had a fantastic time catching 18 fish between us - five of which we brought back and the chef cleaned and cooked for the evening. As we were in our boat, just as the sun was going down, a male elephant came out of the reeds and crossed the lagoon right next to us - simply magical.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ianlawrence2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riley_81_10, Marketing Assistant at Xugana Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Dear ianlawrence2016
Thank you for the lovely review from your stay at Xugana Island Lodge. It seems as though you had a jam packed stay with us and were very lucky to experience the Elephants up close and personal. Such an incredible memory to be cherished. We hope to welcome you and your family again in the future.
Kind regards
The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2017

We had a few days here at the end of January, just before their annual closure. It was ridiculously wet, but that didn't really matter for us. We were in the Okavango for the birds and mid-summer is still the best time for that. We were the only people staying at the lodge, so had the undivided attention of the whole team. We much enjoyed their company and conversation - out on wet boat trips and island walks; and back at the lodge during the excellent meals. Everything about Xugana is first-class, from the island location, to the accommodation, to the food and to its people.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michael424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riley_81_10, Marketing Assistant at Xugana Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

Dear Michael424
Thank you for the wonderful review from your stay at Xugana Island Lodge. The location of Xugana makes it a real gem hidden away in the delta. As you have mentioned it has been very wet, as the rainfall this year has been phenomenal and much needed. I am pleased to hear this did not stop your enthusiasm to enjoy what Xugana had to offer. I will be sure to share the feedback with the team. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Kind regards
The Desert and Delta Safaris Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

Four of us spent 2 nights at this island lodge and were awed by the hospitality and the surroundings. All of the safaris have to be conducted by boat, as guess what, it is on an island in the Okavanga Delta. This delta is unique in the world as it is inland and never reaches an ocean or sea.
Our guide was Slade, a very experienced guide, who boated us around the water channels and lagoons. However, we did have a 4 hour walking tour with him and his gun on nearby Palm Island. Amazing to see elephants within 50 meters as well as baboons, warthogs, antelope and buffalo. On the following day we came across a lagoon with 15 hippos that were just as curious about us as we were about them. Truly amazing.
Setting around the fire after a wonderful dinner staring up into the cloudless sky, given a blue hue by the full moon, and seeing the Southern Cross was magical; an evening to remember for the rest of our lives.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Winediner923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riley_81_10, Marketing Assistant at Xugana Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Dear Winediner923
Thank you for the wonderful review from your recent stay at Xugana Island Lodge. The island is a true gem, hidden in the delta. A treat being able to enjoy both water and land activities at this camp. Thank you for highlighting members of staff during your stay. I will be sure to share the wonderful feedback with all of them.
Kind regards
The Desert and Delta Safaris Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2017

A very rainy season saw the delta very full and as a result few big animals close by. However the team at Xugana gave us a magic water safari.The accommodation is extremely comfortable and a very well run lodge with great staff.

Room Tip: Rooms all have water views
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riley_81_10, Marketing Assistant at Xugana Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Dear Gillian C
Thank you for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay at Xugana Island Lodge. The Delta has been extremely blessed with all the rainfall this year allowing for new and continued life. Our rainfalls are never guaranteed so when it rains it pours as the saying goes. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Kind regards
The Desert and Delta Safaris Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews