We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveller rating
168
18
4
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
168
18
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hippo pool desert delta walking safari mokoro ride water based his entire team on foot great mix afternoon activity island walk paradise on earth amazing birds bird watching boat cruise fire pit our honeymoon wonderful experience
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 192 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2017

This is the Okavango experience you dream about. Starting with the flight into Delta ,and great boat trip to the lodge, frequent boat trips on the Delta and guided walks in the islands, we could not have enjoyed it more. Julia, T.H., Phat, and the rest of staff makes you feel at home. Cuisine is outstanding, quality that surpassed our expectations ! Being out on the water and seeing all the wildlife from the comfort of your boat it is an incredible experience.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jnopol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riley_81_10, Marketing Assistant at Xugana Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Dear Jnopol
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay at Xugana Island Lodge. It is always such a pleasure to read such great reviews especially when our staff members are highlights. I will be sure to share this with our team, and thank you again for staying with us.
Kind regards
The Desert and Delta Safaris Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017

We loved this camp it was small and very personal and the views from the boat trips were something to behold! I just remember thinking everytime we drove out into this piece of paradise I wanted to stand up in the boat and yell it was that spectacular!

Room Tip: all rooms had spectacular views
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandiD225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riley_81_10, Marketing Assistant at Xugana Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2017

Dear Sandi D
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review from your visit to Xugana Island Lodge. It is a little hidden treasure in the middle of the delta. I am pleased to read that you got to enjoy and embrace this natural beauty. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Kind regards
The Desert and Delta Safaris Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2017

We choose this lodge as it offered something different than the standard driving safari, in that, your safari is done by boat and walking. The view of the delta via boat is stunning and fun. The walking safaris are great. We did not expect to see much due to it being the rainy season with high water and grass but we did catch some really good animal sightings and the scenery was spectacular. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the staff were excellent and the food was very good (better than expected given the location). I booked directly with desert & delta. They were highly resposive and answered my many questions and timing issues with great patience. Would efinitely recommend this lodge.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank CDNTRAVELLERS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riley_81_10, Marketing Assistant at Xugana Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2017

Dear CDNTRAVELLERS2
Thank you for staying with us at Xugana Island Lodge. I am pleased to read that you had such a wonderful time with us and as you have mentioned with high grass and water levels you were still able to see great sightings. Thanks you for sharing your experience with us all.
Kind regards
The Desert and Delta Safaris Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017

This is the experience you dream about. From the flight in to the boat trips on the Delta and guided walks in the islands, we could not have enjoyed it more. The service is beyond friendly - it is family. Every single member of the staff makes you feel at home. Being out on the water is amazing seeing all the bird life and hippos and, if you are lucky, swimming elephants, but being back in camp is just as wonderful. We had great conversations with the staff learning about their lives. We were also there with great guests, so meals were always full of stories. The camp suggests you only stay two nights as there are a limited number of activities, but we stayed three and didn't regret it. We were able to sleep in one morning and take a later cruise as we were the only guests. Xugana was the once in a lifetime treat we expected.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good!
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riley_81_10, Marketing Assistant at Xugana Island Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2017

Dear Scott H
Thank you so much for the wonderful review from your stay at Xugana Island Lodge. Such lovely and kind words about our staff and camp. I will be sure to share with the team. I am pleased to read you had such a great time and excellent game/wildlife experiences. Thank you for choosing to stay with Desert and Delta Safaris
Kind regards
The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017

Having got off the plane at Xugana Airstrip we had to wait for one of the guides as he was at the opposite end of the strip on a tractor keeping the elephants off the runway…. it’s not Heathrow!

Situated in a private concession in the Okavango Delta and only accessible by water, Xugana Island Lodge consists of 8 reed and thatch chalets. We were in chalet number 4 which was close to the main area which we were pleased about.

As with the other lodges there was no air con, wi fi and air horns in case of emergency.

All meals were taken outside on a decked area although there was an inside dining area available if the weather is inclement.

There are a variety of game activities available here: road game drive, boat drives, mokoro canoes and walking safaris.

The first evening we ask if we can do the Mokoro Canoe trip. I had heard a lot about these traditional dugout canoes and as much as I was looking forward to doing it was dreading how I was going to manage getting in and out as a substantial amount of balance and dexterity is required and I envisaged a soaking! I needn’t have worried as the guides held the canoes still and made sure you were balanced before setting off…. must admit I did sit still though (there were crocs in the water and I didn’t fancy giving them a meal).

The whole experience was fantastic and needless to say was finished off with sunset drinks.

Yet another early start 0530 and we’re off for a walk.

We are taken by boat to Palm Island by our guide Allen and a second guide for security. On arrival Allen proceeded to produce his rifle and load it….it was getting serious. We were given a safety briefing: stay behind the rifle, keep quiet, walk in single file and if we get confronted by a lion to stand our ground and stare it out…. yeah right!!!! Apparently when Allen was younger he was confronted by a lion when he was with his Grandad and they had to do just that…. for 20 minutes before the lion got bored and walked away.

The walk was very hard work over uneven ground, in very hot temperatures with the added worry of potential animal encounters (we did have to make a quick retreat when a croc suddenly decided to enter the water when we were walking past in on the river bank and we hadn’t seen in before). It was however fantastic – even having to make several other diversions due to animals, so that we neither got in the eye line or that they got our scent. Getting back to the boat at the end of the walk was also interesting as a mother and baby elephant decided it was a good place to have breakfast.

There was nothing to do between brunch and the afternoon activity other than taking a siesta. Initially I heard a lot of screaming and trumpeting – we learned later that an elephant had go in to camp and was being chased out by the guides. A short while later as we were sat on our verandah I heard rustling in the trees next to our chalet….it was 2 large buffalo who were having a bit of a to do and proceeded to crash their way through the bush between our chalet and the neighboring one.

It made you realize the importance of having the guides escort you to dinner in the evening and then back, and not to venture out even in an emergency but to use your air horn.

That afternoon we took a boat cruise along the very narrow channels of the Delta and had a very close call with a large bull elephant.

Another 0530 start.

We were asked the evening before what activity we would like to do the following day and although I really loved the walk the previous day I found it too much to do again. We were advised that the walk can be tailored to suit, so we opted to go.

At the boat dock we saw that there were 2 other people taking the walk with us this morning – both elderly and French, so it was indeed a more leisurely walk.

That evening we took another boat cruise along the channels and again we encountered elephants and also a pod of angry hippos.

Last day on safari and we take an early morning (0530) boat cruise to the hippo pool before departing to the airstrip for our onward flight to Maun.

Staying in the Okavango Delta is an unique experience and I cant think of a better place to stay than at Xugana Island Lodge.

Stayed: November 2016
1  Thank sally4holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews