We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveller rating
39
8
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
8
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main tent on arrival salt pan paraffin lamps no electricity quad biking every request huge four poster bed high tea spent nights here common areas harold sky edge landscape furthest accommodations
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 50 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

The best description for San Camp is a mirage in the middle of no where. A camp filled with African magic and a touch of "Arabian nights" the food is amazing, as well as the service. The game is different from other places in Botswana, but still magical, the meerkats are a must. My highlight of the stay where the quads, the plains and the amazing star studded Kalahari skies. A place that should be on everyone's bucket list, memories to last 1000 lifetimes.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
2  Thank DqsrqzM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016

Upon arrival San Camp seems like a movie set. The tents sitting in the desert landscape are magical. Afternoon tea is served in a central tent as you sit on pillows and enjoy the landscape. There is a peacefulness to the experience that is hard to describe. You really feel like you are a world away from everything. We rode quads into the salt pans where we watched the most amazing sunset. We also spent a morning with the meerkats. My kids LOVED this experience. There is a surprising amount of wildlife in the area. We saw ostriches, jackals, lions (with a kill), zebra and wildebeests. There is power in the central lodge for charging essentials, but not in the individual tents. We visited in July and the nights were quite cold (since there is not heat or electricity). Lighting at night is provided by oil lamps. I should mention that Shiela (the manager) and Roo, our safari guide were amazing. The food was also very good. San Camp is a wonderful spot and a good contrast to the more traditional safari camp experience.

Room Tip: Some tents are a long walk from the main lodge.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Shannon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2016

The stark white tents can be seen from your plane as you arrive in this unique environment. The camp is situated on the edge of the Makgadigadi Pans with continuous sighting of wilderbeast and zebras migrating to and from the delta. The landscape it vast and eerie and you often see a mirage of light blue in the distance.
The quad bike ride into the salt pans was a highlight where you find yourself watching the sunset in complete silence surrounded by the vast view of nothingness.
The meerkats were fascinating to watch as they busied themselves with digging, playing and surveying the sky and horizon for predators. Sitting close to a burrow, I had three meerkats use me at a vantage point by climbing on my head and legs.
Walking with the San people provided us with an insight into their traditional way of using and respecting the land.
The staff at the camp were expectional. We enjoying chatting over dinner and around the fire sharing stories and experiences. The main area is stunning with a Morrocan feel especially the area for afternoon tea. I loved just sitting quietly and taking in the view.
This was the perfect place to end our trip to Africa. A time to immerse yourself in the quietness and reflect on what an amazing world we live in with diverse and beautiful environments that need to remain protected for all to enjoy.

Room Tip: Make sure you request the rooms with double beds as they are limited
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank b0nditraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2016

This was the last stop on our Botswana trip and the first camp not run by Wilderness Safaris. Seen from the air, San Camp is very distinctive: a series of white roofs in the middle of nowhere. On the ground it is just as striking with the white tents on the edge of the salt pans looking like a desert mirage. Ours was the furthest from the communal area, over a quarter of a mile walk, and the obligatory accompaniment after dark is as much about not wandering off onto the pans as it is about the dangers of wild animals. The landscape here is starkly beautiful. In all directions as far as the eye can see is flat, open space with just the occasional palm tree breaking the skyline. The camp is seasonal and is the nearest most of us will ever get to the genuine Out of Africa experience.

Some aspects of the experience are especially redolent of an imperial past. This is roughing it Edwardian-style. The camp manager escorts you to your vehicle at the start of each game drive and awaits you, with refreshing flannels, at the end. The tents, large A-framed constructions set on a wooden platform, are furnished with the solid furniture of the past, including a vast wooden throne for a toilet. The four-poster bed is high enough to require steps to climb in and chilly nights are dispelled by hot water bottles. All is lit with torches and lamps, romantic in theory but less so in practice when you spill kerosene on your hands or have to get up in the middle of the night...

This is a small camp with only 6 tents and communal dining but we didn't feel left out even though we were the only ones not part of an Australian air-tour group. Managers and guides eat with guests and meals are conducted in a curiously old-fashioned and formal style. You are encouraged to take pre-dinner drinks with canapés by the open fire before three courses of soup, entree and dessert. After-dinner drinks, alcoholic or otherwise, are proffered. Those with greater stamina (or alcoholism) are encouraged to serve themselves from the 'naughty box'. Food was well-presented and more enjoyable than in most other camps we'd visited; the wine even more so.

We chose to visit San Camp for one reason: to see the meerkats at close quarters. We did find time in our two-night trip to visit the giant baobab, Chapman's Tree, (alas, now horizontal rather than upright) and to spend time with a family group of Kalahari bushmen (mostly women and children). With the assistance of our excellent guide, Ruh, our principal hopes and expectations were fulfilled and exceeded. On our first morning we were able to spend 4 hours with one family of 5 meerkats from the time they emerged from their dens in the morning. They are habituated to human presence and largely ignored us as they went about their busy life of alternately hunting for insects and checking the horizon for signs of danger. When surprised by raptors the dominant male finally used me instead of a termite mound to scan the horizon and provided the picture I'd been hoping for. We had a twilight session with a different family and then a return visit to the first group en route to the airstrip.

There are many other wildlife attractions, which we had not expected. There is a huge concentration of zebras in the vicinity of the camp: unthreatened for the most part by predators they spread out over a vast area. Other sightings included wildebeest, bat-eared foxes, springbok and jackals; driving back in the dark we also spotted Cape hares, spring hares and steenbucks. On our first evening we drove out across the edge of the salt pan to visit a den of brown hyenas, one of the rarest of all African mammals. Sitting in absolute silence on the roof of our vehicle, drinking Campari and eating popcorn, we were privileged to see two adult males emerge for their evening hunting then set off into the distance against the sunset skyline. Absolutely magical!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LaDolceVita27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2016

Nearly all reviewers use the word "magical" to describe this place and we concur! We spent 3 nights here, exploring the Kalahari, Chapman's Baobab, the newly designated national park (where another migration takes place...with fewer than 8 people in attendance...as opposed to the Serengeti!), and visiting with a troop of habituated meerkats who will sit on your head in order to surveil for eagles!, and a group of Jun!wasu Bushmen who show you their knowledge of the environment and share a singing, clapping campfire game. Greg is the master guide!!! Awesome! Or, as Greg will say, "Epic!" Go in early May, as their season begins.

Room Tip: Tents #5 and #6 seem to be the most luxurious. Hot running water throughout!
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KateMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews