We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your Only Choice”
Review of Cactus Cafe

Cactus Cafe
Price range: US$4 - US$15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Takeout
Reviewed 25 February 2018

Super friendly service but average food and overpriced at that. They got you here because it is the only place just outside the road to Carlsbad Caverns National Park. Not a healthy thing on the menu for those who wish to make better choices.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank just1backpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2018

Fully taking advantage of being the only game in town, the Cactus Cafe delivers overpriced yet edible "pool cabana"-type food to folks who don't want to drive 20 minutes to Carlsbad. Served its purpose.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BeachChair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2018 via mobile

Good food, reasonable prices, friendly staff and nice western decor
I had taquitos , wife had burrito

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Adventurer57521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2017 via mobile

So I don’t like to leave bad reviews, but the place was pretty bad. We were there in the off season, so I’m sure they were on a skeleton crew. It was a lot of frozen processed foods. The restaurant was a strange mix of American and Mexican foods- my boys had pizza (it was not very good), my daughter had chicken tenders (I could tell they were frozen then fried), I had enchiladas (they were just ok, nothing special and very salty). My husband had a burger and described as “miserable”. Ultimately, this is the only place anywhere near the caverns and there really is no other town near there, so it seems their only business would come from the National Park traffic.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank Kbiondlll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017 via mobile

Quick service, but served on plastic plates. Good choice of meals. Its the only place to eat on whites City, so no real choice besides driving to carlsbad.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank athoras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cactus Cafe also viewed

Carlsbad Caverns National Park, NM

Been to Cactus Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing