We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of Hacienda del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hacienda del Sol
Ranked #4 of 23 Taos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2017

We had the Cowboy room and we loved it! The steam shower.. The fireplace. Very romantic. We enjoyed the hot tub and all of the stars (and one shooting star)! Evening music was enjoyable. Breakfast was superb! The Innkeepers were incredibly friendly and made you feel at home. The view of Taos Mountain was fantastic! We would definitely return and highly recommend!

Room Tip: The Cowboy room was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bakerm2290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunhouse, Manager at Hacienda del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Wow! What an enthusiastic review! We are so happy you enjoyed the full experience at Hacienda del Sol. Sounds like we will see you again! Best, Shelley and Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (542)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 542 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2017

Best part of our stay in New Mexico was staying here! Innkeepers were so inviting and the service was awesome! We stayed in the Cowboy room and were pleased with the view and in-room fireplace. A wonderful experience.

Checking in was a breeze and included a guided tour of the facilities. We signed up for time in the hot tub and walked the grounds before settling into our room, a beautiful room.

Everything was perfect. Patrick entertained us in the dining area before we relaxed in the hot tub under the stars. Then we watched a little TV in the main living room before we finally settled into our comfy bed with a nice fire to sooth our souls.

Breakfast was superb. Three choices were offered and I had the grits with any style egg. Living in North Carolina, I will admit these were the best grits I ever ate.

Great place, would highly recommend you stay here and not even consider another option if you are looking for stunning views, great service, and wonderful accommodations!

Room Tip: Be sure to join Patrick if he should play some music in the dining area. Do not skip booking some t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank j0hn1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

Stayed 4 nights in early Oct 2017 - weather fabulous, Cowboy Room on second floor excellent, hot breakfasts made to order in a lovely dining room which allowed for friendly chats with your fellow guests, who were all top quality people. Inkeepers Shelly & Patrick (who live in the home on the property) were pros and made the stay just great. Patrick, an accomplished musician, favored guests with an hour-and-half concert one evening with his outstanding guitar and voice. The view out the back was beautiful, mountains and fall colors. Large lawn was there to invite you to bring you favorite beverages out for late afternoon relaxation. While there in early Oct, visited the Red River Octoberfest for a great local event - it's on the Enchanted Circle drive, which is just north of Taos and a beautiful loop road of about 60 miles. Also great to do is reserve some seats on the Cumbres & Toltec Scenic Tourist Railroad - just an hour north in Antonito, CO, just across the border. What a relaxing, quality stay this was at the HdS. Probably not a place for kids.

Room Tip: Second Floor seem to be the best, and most expensive, naturally.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunhouse, Manager at Hacienda del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Thank you Ron, for your sharing some of your experiences so future guests can hear first-hand some ways to experience the beauty of this magnificent area. We are only a day trip away from Bandelier National Monument and Los Alamos, Abiquiu and Ghost Ranch, Santa Fe, and the Wild West town of Cimarron. For skiers, the Taos Ski Valley is just 17 miles north of the Inn. We sincerely hope you will come again to relax and make new discoveries. - Shelley and Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017

Hacienda Del Sol was a lovely place to stay in Taos. We stayed in the cowboy room . It was a clean,spacious, well appointed room with a beautiful view. The managers, Patrick and Shelly were warm, friendly and accommodating They were excellent about recommending things to do in Taos . They even took the time to call us when we accidentally left an item behind. Breakfast was delicious
We will return to stay at this beauty of an inn next time we get so lucky as to be in Taos.
.

Room Tip: Love Apple was just ok. Might want to go elsewhere for dinner
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crabbdebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunhouse, Manager at Hacienda del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

We are so happy you enjoy the wonderful Cowboy Room with it's large steam shower and fabulous views of Taos Mountain. We hope the remainder of your trip was every bit as wonderful and we hope you will return to see us sooner than later! - Shelley and Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

Party of eight enjoyed three great nights at the Hacienda. We were warmly greeted by the owner and well-cared for by B&B managers Shelly and Patrick. The historic buildings were well cared for and the individual rooms nicely appointed. Breakfasts were delicious and we had a choice from three hot entrees each morning. Highly recommend this location which is within a mile of Taos's main plaza and is within a stone's through of one of Taos's best dining options--the Love Apple. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AKtraveler0223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunhouse, Manager at Hacienda del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

A warm thank you for such a gracious review. Also, the shout out to our good neighbor, The Love Apple restaurant. We are very fortunate to have such a wonderful local dining option for our guests to walk to while visiting. We certainly hope you will stay with us again on your next trip to Taos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
2.1 km away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 14 in Taos
1,247 reviews
1.5 km away
The Historic Taos Inn
0.9 km away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 14 in Taos
1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 km away
Dreamcatcher Bed & Breakfast
4.4 km away
Old Taos Guesthouse B&B
8.3 km away
Adobe and Pines Inn B&B
Adobe and Pines Inn B&B
#1 of 2 in Ranchos De Taos
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda del Sol

Address: 109 Mabel Dodge Ln, Taos, NM 87571-6924
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range: €154 - €183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hacienda del Sol in the artist community of Taos, New Mexico is a special retreat, close to all of the natural and cultural wonders of the area. With 12 unique guest rooms, all with en suite bathrooms, the Inn offers the best view of Taos Mountain from the lovely grounds. Rooms are decorated with luxury Southwest bedspreads, Comphy sheets, and local art. Hacienda del Sol offers a full, hot, made to order breakfast each morning, an outdoor hot tub, and evening entertainment on summer weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hacienda del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Del Sol Hotel Taos
Hacienda Del Sol Taos, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing