We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (579)
Filter reviews
579 results
Traveller rating
511
50
15
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
511
50
15
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews love apple taos mountain steam shower cowgirl room taos suite new mexico cookies adirondack chairs huevos rancheros each morning mountain view breakfast was delicious kiva fireplace bed and breakfast friendly hosts mabel dodge the main house
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 579 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2017

Best part of our stay in New Mexico was staying here! Innkeepers were so inviting and the service was awesome! We stayed in the Cowboy room and were pleased with the view and in-room fireplace. A wonderful experience.

Checking in was a breeze and included a guided tour of the facilities. We signed up for time in the hot tub and walked the grounds before settling into our room, a beautiful room.

Everything was perfect. Patrick entertained us in the dining area before we relaxed in the hot tub under the stars. Then we watched a little TV in the main living room before we finally settled into our comfy bed with a nice fire to sooth our souls.

Breakfast was superb. Three choices were offered and I had the grits with any style egg. Living in North Carolina, I will admit these were the best grits I ever ate.

Great place, would highly recommend you stay here and not even consider another option if you are looking for stunning views, great service, and wonderful accommodations!

Room Tip: Be sure to join Patrick if he should play some music in the dining area. Do not skip booking some time in the hot tub!
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank j0hn1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunhouse, Owner at Hacienda del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

It sounds like you took advantage of all we offer. The hot tub is so delightful at night under the stars and some guests fail to take advantage. I am glad you did and enjoyed all other aspects of our inn. Come back and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

Stayed 4 nights in early Oct 2017 - weather fabulous, Cowboy Room on second floor excellent, hot breakfasts made to order in a lovely dining room which allowed for friendly chats with your fellow guests, who were all top quality people. Inkeepers Shelly & Patrick (who live in the home on the property) were pros and made the stay just great. Patrick, an accomplished musician, favored guests with an hour-and-half concert one evening with his outstanding guitar and voice. The view out the back was beautiful, mountains and fall colors. Large lawn was there to invite you to bring you favorite beverages out for late afternoon relaxation. While there in early Oct, visited the Red River Octoberfest for a great local event - it's on the Enchanted Circle drive, which is just north of Taos and a beautiful loop road of about 60 miles. Also great to do is reserve some seats on the Cumbres & Toltec Scenic Tourist Railroad - just an hour north in Antonito, CO, just across the border. What a relaxing, quality stay this was at the HdS. Probably not a place for kids.

Room Tip: Second Floor seem to be the best, and most expensive, naturally.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunhouse, Manager at Hacienda del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Thank you Ron, for your sharing some of your experiences so future guests can hear first-hand some ways to experience the beauty of this magnificent area. We are only a day trip away from Bandelier National Monument and Los Alamos, Abiquiu and Ghost Ranch, Santa Fe, and the Wild West town of Cimarron. For skiers, the Taos Ski Valley is just 17 miles north of the Inn. We sincerely hope you will come again to relax and make new discoveries. - Shelley and Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017

Hacienda Del Sol was a lovely place to stay in Taos. We stayed in the cowboy room . It was a clean,spacious, well appointed room with a beautiful view. The managers, Patrick and Shelly were warm, friendly and accommodating They were excellent about recommending things to do in Taos . They even took the time to call us when we accidentally left an item behind. Breakfast was delicious
We will return to stay at this beauty of an inn next time we get so lucky as to be in Taos.
.

Room Tip: Love Apple was just ok. Might want to go elsewhere for dinner
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crabbdebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunhouse, Manager at Hacienda del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

We are so happy you enjoy the wonderful Cowboy Room with it's large steam shower and fabulous views of Taos Mountain. We hope the remainder of your trip was every bit as wonderful and we hope you will return to see us sooner than later! - Shelley and Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

Party of eight enjoyed three great nights at the Hacienda. We were warmly greeted by the owner and well-cared for by B&B managers Shelly and Patrick. The historic buildings were well cared for and the individual rooms nicely appointed. Breakfasts were delicious and we had a choice from three hot entrees each morning. Highly recommend this location which is within a mile of Taos's main plaza and is within a stone's through of one of Taos's best dining options--the Love Apple. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AKtraveler0223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunhouse, Manager at Hacienda del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

A warm thank you for such a gracious review. Also, the shout out to our good neighbor, The Love Apple restaurant. We are very fortunate to have such a wonderful local dining option for our guests to walk to while visiting. We certainly hope you will stay with us again on your next trip to Taos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

We were greeted by Shelly and immediately felt welcomed and knew we made the right choice. Our room, Rio Grande was clean and quiet and equipped with a fireplace. French doors open to gardens and Adirondack chairs to sip your wine, etc. Breakfast was plentiful with choices to choose and the innkeepers Shelly and Patrick "set the tone" for friendly, and lingering conversations. We stayed at 4 different locations on our 11 day trip to the Southwest and this by far was the Best!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fredotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunhouse, Manager at Hacienda del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

We appreciate your lovely remembrance of Hacienda del Sol. We really enjoy getting to know our guests hearing about their lives and travels. It is what makes the experience here so rich and special. Please come and see us again if you make it back to Taos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews