We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“PU '59 Mini Reunion”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hacienda del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hacienda del Sol
Ranked #4 of 23 Taos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“PU '59 Mini Reunion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

3 classmates and I got together for a great day of comfort and bull shooting. It was great!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    46
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
90
323
20
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

In Taos, New Mexico there are many inviting establishments, but Hacienda del Sol is definitely a hacienda of distinction with beautiful grounds, luxurious comforts and a great location!

It’s definitely the place you want to stay when you are in Taos!

The property was very private and peaceful, on the edge of 90,000 acres of sacred land, owned by the Taos Pueblo. The Inn itself also had a rich, colorful history and lively stories of Mabel Dodge, the New York social lite who owned the property back in the 1900’s. Maple and her many acquaintances such as Georgia O’Keeffe, Stieglitz, Ansel Adams, Carl Jung, and many other notable people of the time stayed at the Inn and frequented the area.
Our hosts, Ericka and Mark were very gracious, accommodating and friendly with lots of knowledge about the history of the Inn, the local restaurants and things to do in and around town. They were also very skilled at preparing beautiful breakfasts each day for us with more food then we could ever eat!

Our room “Los Amantes” was beautiful, spacious and quiet. There was a hand crafted kiva in our bedroom corner stocked daily with wood and the sitting area was comfortable and inviting with an antique roll up desk, cd player, cozy blankets, books and tea candles.
The view of the mountain from the jetted tub, in our room, as well as the large skylight in the ceiling above was a treat, as we watched the moon pass by from the privacy of our own room!

We felt at home, comfortable and well taken care of, as well as having all the privacy we might want.

We enjoyed sitting in the courtyard admiring the ever changing views of Taos Mountain and the vast reservation stretched out in front of us. The sign up system for private time in the outdoor hot tub was a great idea so we could plan on watching the sunset or late night stars with the tub all to ourselves.

This private and serene property is a great place to relax, read, escape the outside world and appreciate the beauty and serenity of Taos and New Mexico.

I can’t see staying anywhere else when I go to Taos!


Kim Belichick

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Trip advisor has been a trusted source for my travels and I need to return the favor. Stayed in the Adobe room for one night on a snowy February night. It was such a charming experience-the wood burning kiva fireplace was fantastic and the sheets on the bed were some of the best I've slept in for a hotel/B&B. Although this room was on the front side of the property (not facing the moutains), we still felt they did a good job with the landscaping to provide privacy. My boyfriend loved the steam shower although it took a bit to really get going. The staff were very welcoming and the breakfast room was intimate allowing for visiting with other guests or dining with your significant other. We didn't use the hot tub but thought it was very considerate of the owners to provide time for all guests to enjoy the hot tub without 4 other people. We will definitely be back if we visit Taos again.

Room Tip: If you are looking for views of the mountain, this may not be the room for you. Mini fridge in room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jata25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

This place was absolutely wonderful. The owners and their managers (daughter and son in law) were superb. What an interesting group of people. They reccomended fabulous restaurants and things to do. This will become an annual vacation for our family. Wee look forward to staying here many more times.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexanViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

We stayed at the Hacienda while in the area to ski. Our room - El Pueblo - was quaint and comfy. A bit disappointed at the candles in the fireplace, but it was a minor blip. Our hosts were very friendly and attentive. Breakfast was yummy and the fact that we could grab a cookie, apple, pretzel, hot tea and more throughout the day was a bonus we didn't expect. We made use of the hot tub and loved the sign up sheet to ensure guests have alone time in the tub. Great location. Would definitely stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luellenh, Owner at Hacienda del Sol, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Thank you for your great review. It was lovely having you and we look forward to your return visit.
Let's reserve one of the wood burning or gas log kiva fireplaces for you next time. We have 3 candle lit fireplaces which are also popular for setting a romantic ambience and 7 rooms with working kivas.Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taos hotels
2.1 km away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
6.2 km away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
1.5 km away
The Historic Taos Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
2.0 km away
Dreamcatcher Bed & Breakfast
0.9 km away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda del Sol

Property: Hacienda del Sol
Address: 109 Mabel Dodge Ln, Taos, NM 87571-6924
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hacienda del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Del Sol Hotel Taos
Hacienda Del Sol Taos, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing