We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,382)
Filter reviews
1,382 results
Traveller rating
772
301
158
92
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
772
301
158
92
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviews valet staff native american suites global suite free shuttle self parking beautiful resort water features de la spa services shuttle service per day taos mountain room indoor pool soaking tub gas fireplace new mexico mountain view
Filter
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 1,382 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2018

We arrived early afternoon in Taos and looked at 4 other recommended bed and breakfasts and hotels before we decided to stay at this hotel.
We felt that Dawn at the reception made a very positive difference, and that she worked both with her mind and heart.

We had a room on the second floor and really enjoyed sitting on the balcony early in the morning and late at night. Everything worked well in our room, and despite a few scars here and there, we think that this room was much better than the 4 other rooms that we were shown at other properties.

Breakfast was quite unorganized with a server not being very interested in us on the first day of our stay, on the second day it was excellent with very attentive and good service from another person. The food was good.

Our personal opinion is that the digital communication that some hotels are trying to install can be more confusing than helping. We hope that this hotel will keep up good customer service by human interaction.

We hope to be back.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank pablolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018

Located a few blocks from the main street in Taos, this facility is located on several acres with lush landscaping, and features numerous buildings, lodging options and dining. Our suite was comfortable and decorated nicely in the style of the area.

The reception, or check-in process, is meant to be personal and informative. But after a long day on the road, we wished it had been easier and faster. We were not in the mood to have to sit down, chat and receive offers for a tour of the grounds.

An ice machine is available in one of the buildings. Both self-parking and valet parking are provided, and included in the price of the “resort charge”.

The major problem we experienced was with noise, from loud, partying guests, unregulated by the management, from about 7pm till well after 10pm. We booked this facility because it is supposed to be a place of quiet, a place to soothe oneself … that is not what we experienced.

Guests should also note that the preferred method of communication at the hotel is text-messaging … those without smart devices should be aware of this. Another note: there was not a phone list in the room; we had to contact the front desk to find out phone numbers for hotel facilities. Also, no writing paper or pens were provided in the room.

WiFi was provided, and it was strong and consistent … nicely done.

Room service was good, except for an item listed on the menu that we ordered not being available. The food was excellent, and the price was reasonable.

Luxury lodging options in Taos are plentiful … on our next trip we will be booking other lodging than the El Monte.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoadTripAmericans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018

I wrote a review about the El Monte Sagrado over a year ago just after the new owner/management took the reins, and I noticed some exciting changes.
Property: The physical property continues to be improved after a long and slow degradation by the previous administration. They are making carefully planned and well exacted improvements without deterring from the already Five Star property. No noisy construction or detours around work crews. Rooms are being refurbished and you'll not be disappointed with the results.
Service: The service at the El Monte continues to be top drawer.
The valet staff, already acclaimed for their uncanny ability to remember all of the guest names, but also make sure your vehicle is ready and waiting with a quick call, or now a text, just a few minutes prior to departure. Let's not forget about the convenient, complimentary (tips appreciated), shuttle service to any Taos location.
Front Desk: The folks who make your check-in process easy and seamless work in the office/front desk. They all extremely helpful and will go the nth degree to make your stay a positive experience. When we checked Dawn, showed us to our room, made sure we knew all of the amenities and resolved any problems,or issues we had within the hour.
Housekeeping: As before they are the best and do their best to accommodate unusual guest schedules and needs. Because of their dedication, I felt compelled to leave them a few dollars everyday, who wouldn't with that kind of service?

Food and Beverage:

Dinning and drinks continues to be top notch. One evening the chef actually invented a dish to our specifications, and at a very reasonable price. The bar will tailor made drinks to suit our individual tastes.
The El Monte Sagrado will continue to be our, "Go To Hotel" in Taos. If you have not been there, it is certainty worth a try!

Room tip: Try the Taos Mountain rooms, they are great
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank _gregstumpf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jrickey2018, General Manager at El Monte Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Dear by_gregstumpf
Thank you for you review and detail you were able to recall. Yes you are correct it was not that long ago that Heritage Hotels and Resorts acquired El Monte Sagrado. We are working hard to overcome some years of deferred maintenance. Thank you for noticing and we will continue to work on all areas of the property.

Our Chef Christina and our new Mixologest in the Bar are making strides to bring back the culture and trust of our guests.

Thank you again for the kind review.

Warmest Regards,

John Rickey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018 via mobile

Quiet and serene with a delightful staff. Let me start by saying I’d stay here again. I’d add that if you’re picky, you’ll be disappointed.

Maintenance seems to be reactive rather than proactive. The shower doors in our suite didn’t fully close. The bathroom fan was as loud as a jet. The toilet broke. There’s staining on the wall and ceiling from a prior water leak.

The exhaust fans in the kitchen were broken so the menu was limited during our stay. Breakfast took almost an hour to be served and their toaster caught on fire, further delaying service. We received our check 20 minutes before our order and had to track down someone to pay, but the food was well prepared and tasty.

For a resort and spa one would expect bath robes in the room. Not here.

If you are staying here on a Mon-Wed and don’t want to go out for dinner, forget it. The restaurant is only open Thu-Sun so it’s either the bar menu or a limited and overpriced room service menu.

Having said all of that, it’s a quiet and serene setting with an attentive staff and relaxing atmosphere.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jrickey2018, General Manager at El Monte Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

Dear Steve F
You are correct that we had a tough weekend, a power outage from a tree falling in the town caused a huge amount of operational problems.

The issues in the room are unacceptable and i have sent your review to our head of maintenance

Thank you for the data as we strive to be excellent but sometimes we miss and that happened to you.

I sincerely apologize for the issues, and i hope you get a chance to return under better circumstances.

warmest regards,

John Rickey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018

When I was planning our Northern New Mexico adventure, two different people told me about this place within days of each other. Because it was a very special occasion, I booked a one bedroom suite; which for us was an upgrade as we usually book nice hotels but the cheapest rooms. When we arrived we were actually further upgraded to a truly special lodging. The Japan suite had 2 bedrooms, a spacious living area and a private garden sitting area. It was beautiful, everything worked and we felt pampered. There was also keva fireplace which we did not use as it was pretty hot in Taos. The gardens are beautiful. There’s green, color and flowing water just about everywhere. It’s very visually pleasing and restful. While we spent some time in Taos, we did way less than planned as we really wanted to spend time on the property. It is very peaceful.

I read a number of negative reviews of the this lodging and I guess if someone wants instant service it could be an issue, as the lodging is pretty spread out so it could take time to get something. And I expect that could be an issue when property is busy. But for me this is an ideal place. It was lodging in complete harmony with nature. I am just sorry it’s so far away from where we live as I expect we would visit regularly.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jrickey2018, General Manager at El Monte Sagrado, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

Dear Ellen M
Thank you for spending the time to review El Monta Sagrado. You bring up a key aspect of the property, The size does create some challenges and while we strive to be perfect we are human.
Even thou you live far away we hope to see you again soon,

Warmest Regards,

John Rickey CHA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews