We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kwandwe Ecca Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Quarry Lake Inn(East London)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve(Kwandwe Private Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Osner(East London)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (193)
Filter reviews
193 results
Traveller rating
190
1
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
190
1
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsecca lodgeplunge poolsafari experiencethe reservegame driveswonderful experiencememorable holidayfantastic stayrain showerblack and white rhinospecial thanksdelicious foodfirst classrefreshing towelsdifferent speciesentire holidaysundowner drinks
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 193 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

We spent here two nights, two families with 4 kids from 6 to 13.
Every detail is well organised, the staff is very kind and high quality food.
The safari games it has been amazing, special thanks to our nice guides Nick and Vuyani.

We strongly raccomemd this unforgettable experience.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank tripladoppia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KwandweManagement, Manager at Kwandwe Ecca Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Dear tripladoppia,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments and for choosing Kwandwe for your family safari! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at Kwandwe and your stay at Ecca Lodge. We will be sure to pass on your feedback to Nick, Vuyani and rest of the team.

We hope to welcome you back one day soon!

Kind regards,
The Kwandwe Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017 via mobile

As a South African family we've been fortunate to holiday at many game farms and lodges in our beautiful country. Kwandwe exceeds all expectations and experiences we've had. Ecca Lodge is ideal for a luxury family bush holiday. Quality of accommodation, dining, game drives, staffs knowledge and willingness to make a memorable holiday are all exceptional! Thank you Nick and Yongama for making this a memorable holiday.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank thisismeRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KwandweManagement, Manager at Kwandwe Ecca Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Dear thisismeRick,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and for your very kind comments, which we will be sure share with the rest of the team (including Nick and Yongama).

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Warm regards,
The Kwandwe Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

Recently stayed 2 nights at this Private Game Reserve. Top notch from start to finish. The rooms are beautiful and well appointed. The service in the dining area was great. The food was excellent!! Best iced coffee I have ever had! But the best part was the rides through the reserve to see the animals. So many different species, and you are able to get so close to them (but very safe)! Our driver Nic and spotter Vyanni (sp?) were phenomenal!! They went out of their way to find all the animals you wanted to see, and explain all about them. The trip of a lifetime. Thank you to all at Kwandwe!!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank bill m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017

We finished a tour of the Western and Eastern Cape with a 3 night stay at Ecca Lodge. This was undoubtedly the highlight of the entire holiday. I entirely agree with recent reviews: everything was superb, from the spacious, stylish accommodation to the tasty food served by charming staff and the fantastic game drives. Both our guide and spotter were excellent, knowledgeable and great company. We saw so much in the way of wildlife, far more in fact than I had expected. We were especially fortunate in that half of our drives consisted of the two of us plus guide and spotter, although the 4 Swiss guests who accompanied us on the other drives were very good company. We especially liked the stops for breakfast or pre-dinner drinks, truly in the middle of nowhere. We were truly sorry to leave. Obviously such an experience does not come cheaply but I would most certainly say that it was worth the money.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank revitalise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KwandweManagement, Manager at Kwandwe Ecca Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2017

Hi revitalise

Thank you for a great review! We can hear in your words how wonderful your experience at Kwandwe Ecca Lodge was. It is lovely to hear that you were happy with everything we have to offer – from food to game drive, we place great importance on providing our guests an exceptional experience. It’s is always good to be lost in nature, revitalizes your soul.

We hope that you will visit Kwandwe Ecca Lodge again.

Kind regards
Kwandwe Ecca Lodge Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017

Cards on the table, this place is not cheap. However if you want to get that intimate safari experience we would not look any further. The facilities are luxurious, staff are superb and food is delicious. Its all inclusive but to be honest we spent so much time on game drives we hardly made a dent in the wine list. Rangers and trackers are very knowledgable and experienced and were always able to find us something interesting to see. Don't think about the cost, just do it, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ali and Ade W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KwandweManagement, Manager at Kwandwe Ecca Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2017

Good morning Ali and Ade W

Thank you for your lovely review. We aim to give all our guests a safari experience unlike any other and we are over the moon to hear that that is what you experienced. Our staff is carefully chosen to ensure that they are as passionate and excited about Kwandwe as we are so that you as a guest are spoilt with knowledgeable game drives and experienced staff.

We hope to see you again and wish you a fantastic Friday.

Kind regards
Kwandwe Ecca Lodge Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews