We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Simbavati River Lodge(Timbavati Private Nature Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$944
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kings Camp(Timbavati Private Nature Reserve)
US$1,232
US$1,118
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Legend Safari Lodge & Spa(Timbavati Private Nature Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$824
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Geiger's Camp(Timbavati Private Nature Reserve)
US$1,091
Booking.com
View Deal
SUN1 Pretoria(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$41
US$40
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fortis Hotel Capital(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$91
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Morning Star Express Hotel(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$47
US$38
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$49/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$78
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 52% below average rates

The price you found is 52% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$124/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Manhattan Hotel(Pretoria)
US$66
US$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (778)
Filter reviews
778 results
Traveller rating
733
32
8
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
733
32
8
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsknock on the doorhomemade lemonadewild dogssafari experiencethe riverbush walkholiday of a lifetimeevery member of staffoff roadwonderful experienceour honeymoonfood was amazingherd of elephantsamazing thingsknowledgeable guidesevery mealmorning drive
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 778 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

Our family (with 13 and 15 year old girls) spent five great days at Motswari. The facilities were very well kept, beautifully decorated, and the sense of being surrounded by nature was refreshing.

The staff were very friendly, helpful and the culinary team provided impressive dishes at every meal.

Our guide, Henry, was awesome. As we explored the game park for 7 hours a day he engaged with everyone in the vehicle in an interesting and educational way. The animals, including the big 5, were outstanding. Out tracker, Patrick, was impressive at finding and following the tracks to locate hidden game, including a pride of eight lions. They were a great team.

I have been on safaris in the Serengeti and Okavanga Delta before and was very pleased with each unique experience. The experience at Motswari was equally as impressive, and I highly recommend it.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MotswariLodge, Owner at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted that you had such an amazing safari experience as a family at Motswari.

We highly value your recommendation and we thank you for recognising the individual skillsets of your guide and tracker.

The team is looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards
Adriaan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

We spent our first 2 nights at Motswari to begin our 7 night stay in the Krueger area. We have done several trips to S Africa and we always choose a few lodges in different preserves so that we can view different terrain, vegetation and especially the different wildlife. Motswari was amazing. Our days began with Ronnie telling us one of his wonderful tribal stories over coffee, then off on the morning game drive. The staff was incredibly attentive to every detail. The food was fantastic, the accommodations were very African - we loved it. Henry was a great guide, saw lots of wildlife. Of course Ronnie was always there to greet our return with another tale, often times with something bad happening to the lowly Phillimon. Great stay!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebKevUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MotswariLodge, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write your review,

Your kind words means so much to us and we are delighted that you had such a great and memorable safari experience.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards
Adriaan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

My family of 4 (wife, 14 year old boy and 12 year old girl) had an experience of a lifetime. The staff is incredibly welcoming and will bend over backwards to make sure that you have an amazing experience. The safari was amazing. Our tracker was Jacky and guide was Brad. They had an amazing wealth of knowledge of the animals and were really exceptional with my kids. They tracked numerous animals including a pride of lions. We did 6 game drives and saw the Big 5. The location is fantastic as well as we had a Nyala, Elephants, warthogs and even a pride of lions walk thru our camp. The food was very good and plentiful with various chicken, beef and kudu options. We scheduled a walking safari which was really nice as well to learn about the plant life and smaller animals. We stayed in the Rhino and Cheetah rooms which were perfect for families as the rooms were connecting. They have a pool onsite, but it was cold and no one used it over the course of our stay. We had dinner in the Boma one evening which was very pleasant and a beautiful fire pit was brewing. The Wifi was spotty at best and only worked in the gallery, but we knew this going in and it's all about disconnecting and enjoying all that Motswari has to offer. Ask about the giraffe's nest for an evening out in the Bush (we did not take advantage of this option). I was thrilled with our stay and will definitely recommend this to family and friends.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Terps92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MotswariLodge, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review Motswari and for your recommendations.

Your kind words means so much to us and we are delighted that you had such a great and memorable safari experience as a family.

We also wish to thank you for recognizing the individual efforts of your guide and tracker.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards
Adriaan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

Awesome staff, very knowledgeable guides, remarkable sightings, great food and very comfortable accommodation.
Motswari is an authentic bushveld camp that is very well run and reasonably priced. If you are planning a private game experience I highly recommend Motswari

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndreCarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MotswariLodge, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review Motswari.

Your kind words means so much to us and we are delighted that you had such a great all-round safari experience.

We highly value your recognition of the team efforts as well as individual skillsets and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards
Adriaan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

I spent two nights here with my wife and it was absolutely amazing. We saw herds of elephants, a pack of hyenas at their den, four different leopards (two with kills in the trees), a lion on the prowl, a pride of nine lions, and other sightings. Our guide was Brad and our tracker was Jacky. They were a great team. The food at Motswari was amazing. I would highly recommend staying here.

Stayed: July 2017
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MotswariLodge, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review Motswari. We highly value your kind words and we are delighted that you had such an amazing all-round safari experience.

We also thank you for recognising the individual skillsets and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards
Adriaan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews