We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (511)
Filter reviews
511 results
Traveller rating
466
37
6
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
466
37
6
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tree house no electricity oil lamps game drives bush camp eco hut bush walk open shower full moon wonderful experience watering hole charge camera batteries other guests hot water bottles curio shop lifetime experience three nights
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 511 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2018

Our whole experience at Umlani was wonderful. The game drives were breathtaking! Oliver and Andrew were great. The food was very good, and drinks plentiful. We spent the night in the treehouse-very fun. Everyone at the property was so friendly and helpful. The hut was super clean and comfortable, although we didn't spend too much time there. We would highly recommend Umlani, and would love to return.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umlani, Guest Relations Manager at Umlani Bushcamp, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Hi Suzanne, happy to hear that you enjoyed your whole experience at Umlani! Were glad that Oliver and Andrew gave you good game drives and that you found the rest of the staff to be helpful and friendly. We hope to see you again soon! Matt S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

A highlight of South Africa. 3 nights. Wildlife galore. Best rangers. Best staff. Best camp. Our family of 3 had an amazing time. We saw the Big 5. Lion, leopard, rhino, cape buffalo, elephant. We stayed a night in the tree house......a once in a lifetime experience to wake up to an elephant walking past at sunrise. Loved it all. The camp was great. Food pretty good. Honestly, don't stay in the fancy 5 star joints that you've heard about. Umlani is 5 star and a boutique experience.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umlani, Guest Relations Manager at Umlani Bushcamp, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Thank you very much for the awesome review and kind words! We are happy to hear that you and your family had a great time during your stay at Umlani, and that you enjoyed everything from the wildlife to our service (which we strive to provide at a 5 star level!). Hope to see you again soon. Matt S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

An awesome,affordable private game lodge.. Rustic ,not pretentious,nice relaxed atmoshere and everything you need is there. Accomodation is clean and comfortable.Having no electricity,enhances the ambience of the lodge. Staff are friendly and helpful. Nothing is too much trouble for them. Game rangers and tracker are knowledgeable and do their utmost to find the animals .the meals are adequate,but more variety would be great.we had an awesome time and will go Back!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jill528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umlani, Guest Relations Manager at Umlani Bushcamp, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Hi Jill. We are glad you enjoyed Umlani's atmosphere, accommodation and service, that our rangers and trackers did their best to find the animals, and the rest off the staff were friendly and accommodating. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018

We loved how friendly everyone was and flexible to the tiniest requests. The camp is beautiful with a wonderful rustic ambiance. It’s very clean and well maintained and the food is great. I really enjoyed sitting around the camp fire at night and watching the stars.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JeanineG139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umlani, Guest Relations Manager at Umlani Bushcamp, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Hey Jeanine, thank you so much for your review! We're glad you felt comfortable during your stay and you had a good time. See you soon! Matt S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

My husband and I had an amazing experience going on a safari with Umlani. Their email response time leading up to the safari was fast and informative. It was our first safari so we had lots of questions. :) We heard from other people at the camp visiting that Umlani was their best safari experience of all the camps they visit at or around Kruger. We could get very close to the animals and saw way more than I expected! I would highly recommend you stay at Umlani and plan to recommend it to some of my friends interested in going on a safari in South Africa!! What a wonderful experience!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank TravelAdventures103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umlani, Guest Relations Manager at Umlani Bushcamp, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Thank you for your review! We're glad to hear you and your husband enjoyed your stay at Umlani, and that you would recommend it to friends :) Hope to see you again soon. Matt S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews