We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The experience of a lifetime”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2012

We had an amazing time at Kambaku from the moment we were "greeted" by the calls of two male lions at our arrival. The accommodations were lovely, the food delicious and the staff wonderful. Our guide and tracker made each game drive a fantastic experience. We saw lions, elephants, giraffe, wild dogs,buffalo, hyena and of course lots of impala. The resident warthog family was fun to watch at the water hole. I highly recommend Kambaku Safari Lodge.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (656)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

451 - 455 of 656 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2012

Hospitality is the name of this lodge. The owners Nicola and Bryce really spoilt us, gave all the attention and offered the best of the games. The staff is lovely. Excellent meals and a lot of effort to make sure we enjoyed the drives. Highly recommended if you want to have a memorable experience in South Africa.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silva_Moesch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

A hidden gem in the Timbavati. Accommodations were great and food was superb. The guide and tracker, Moshe and Eric, were fantastic and made the trip. The fantastic accommodations in the midst of great game of the Timbavati was a perfect combination. Been to 5-6 different camps in East and South Africa. This is by far the best. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill131313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2011

Compared to other lodges which charge up to $750Au a night, Kambaku is a bargain! The rooms are beautiful, comfortable and very large. The setting is perfect, with views over a waterhole - elephants drinking in the night - a sight to see - and hear! The staff, from the Managers, Krystel and Richard, the trackers and dining room attendants, to the domestic staff, are all fantastic - friendly, informative, entertaining and very proud of their country and willing to go out of their way to assist. Game drives were excellent, great range of animals and birds, and rangers and trackers extremely happy to educate the Aussie tourists!. I would recommend Kambaku to anyone wanting a fantastic African safari experience.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smith_susan407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

A wonderful experience - all the staff were knowledgable, warm and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble, the attention to detail was impeccable and the food was absolutely delicious (probably the best of our trip in South Africa). The lodge, in short, is excellent. As for the Timbavati itself, it feels remote and wild, and doesn't disappoint when it comes to wildlife. Highlights included wild dogs (feasting on their kill), a lion pack on the prowl at night and a leopard (also feasting)... to name just a few. And the splendour of sunrise tinting the Drakensberg escarpment pink... We were very, very, sad to leave.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lqbcohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
24.5 km away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
414 reviews
3.5 km away
Kambaku River Sands
Kambaku River Sands
#1 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
209 reviews
18.6 km away
Thornybush Waterside Lodge
Thornybush Waterside Lodge
#2 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 km away
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve
#4 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
714 reviews
5.8 km away
Umlani Bushcamp
Umlani Bushcamp
#5 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
453 reviews
18.7 km away
Simbavati River Lodge
Simbavati River Lodge
#7 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kambaku Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kambaku Safari Lodge

Address: Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Price Range: €251 - €1,345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kambaku Safari Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kambaku Safari Lodge is nestled in the heart of the Timbavati Private Nature Reserve, which can be found within the world renowned Greater Kruger National Park.The camp is well situated in this unspoilt natural wilderness area, home to an astonishing array of animals including the Big 5. Kambaku provides the ultimate escape from busy schedules, with eight well appointed thatched chalets overlooking our own private waterhole.Attracting guests from around the world, Kambaku offers superior standards in all of our facilities yet always maintaining a high level of environmental consciousness. Our dedicated staff will cater to the individual needs of our guests making for a truly memorable stay. With scrumptious bush cuisine in a relaxed, rustic setting our guests can truly unwind and immerse themselves in the restorative powers of nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, South African Hotels, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Kambaku Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kambaku Safari Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Kambaku Safari Lodge South Africa/Timbavati Private Nature Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing