We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
N'kaya Lodge
Nearby Hotels
SUN1 Pretoria(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Morning Star Express Hotel(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$73
US$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Manhattan Hotel(Pretoria)
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
StayEasy Pretoria(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$72
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
US$89
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$205
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Arcadia Hotel(Pretoria)
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
98
7
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
98
7
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barwater holethe reserveliving roomwatering holeamazing experiencecamera settingsbird hidegame drivesoutstanding guidemale cheetahdung beetleintimate feelour honeymoonafternoon high teameals prepareddry river
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 107 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Where to begin?? This place is amazing in every regard, but the staff is the best. Werner, Nikki, Andrees and the rest of the staff made this an unforgettable experience. Every detail is thought out including chocolates and biscuits in the rooms, hot water bottles for early morning game drives, and camera settings tips so you can get the best shots. The rooms are very comfortable and I was surprised and delighted to find two bathrooms in each lodge so my partner and I could each have our own! There is a watering hole right near the lodges so we were lucky to have visits from a herd of elephants, baboons and other animals. Andrees, the tracker, has lived on the property for decades so he knows where the animals are and we were not disappointed in this regard and got to view the Big Five a couple of times over in addition to many, many other animals. Our few days here was the highlight of our South Africa trip and I highly recommend this lodge and game reserve to anyone, but especially groups of friends, families, and photographers.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

I went with 8 friends to N'Kaya lodge in July 2017 and we could not give enough praise to Werner and Nikki and the entire staff at this amazing lodge. It's a boutique lodge with beautiful cabins/rooms (including a rain head shower in the bathroom), AMAZING food (including great gluten free food if you needed that), a watering hole on site and a great bar. You can eat inside or outside (we at outside every day) and the honesty bar is well stocked. The best part of the experience however was the incredible hospitality of Werner and Nikki and Andrees the tracker. Their attention to detail, care for our comfort and safety and all around just fun people to be around made our entire trip. Werner gave the perfect amount of information and fun stories while we were on the game drives and Andrees was beyond incredible. He is an avid photographer and knows his stuff - he gave tips to everyone for their camera settings and positioned the car as best he could in every situation to optimize the photography. It was incredible! Nikki always made sure we were good with anything we needed and was just wonderful. We had warm blankets for the morning and evening game drives, had drinks and snacks every day for every drive. The most lovely sunsets were seen with a drink in hand. We could not have asked for more and would give ten stars if we could. There is not one thing any of us could think of that would made it a better experience!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhohol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

Group of 8 travelled here ( 4 had been to Thornybush reserve previously).
Andre (Ranger)and Lene (manager)were the perfect hosts. This small lodge has 4 cottages and a maximum of 8 persons.
Cottages consisted of 2 rooms and 2 bathrooms. This way singles sharing each had their own room and bath and couples had a separated living room.
Game drives twice daily and for chilly mornings we were provided hot water bottles and blankets
Evening drives we were met with warm wash rags and varied aperitif
Our Tracker, Andrus, did not disappoint and we were thrilled by seeing all the "Big Five" plus numerous others.
Meals were plentiful and menu varied daily. Great bar and wine selection as well.
Facilities and camp were very clean and well maintained.
Internet is available.
Laundry is not available.
I would gladly recommend this lodge to others

Stayed: August 2017
Thank mo_and_jc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017 via mobile

My friends my husband and I had the privilege to spend 3 nights at this great lodge.
We loved everything. The welcoming atmosphere, the lovely spacious rooms, the excellent food and mainly the couple who runs the lodge. Werner who was our guide for the 3 days. He is very friendly, prepared and experienced. It was nice to sit at the table with him and openly talk about anything. His wife Nicky is adorable, always ready to welcome the guests returning from the safari, very quiet but always available. They prepared a special candle lit dinner one night and everybody loved it. They really do their best to make they guests happy. I highly reccomend it.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank MS-aroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NKaya_Manager, Manager at N'kaya Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Good day.

Thank you for taking time to write this beautiful review. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you could go back home and tell the world how nice your experience was. It was a pleasure hosting you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017

The highlight of our 2-week trip in South Africa!
The Lodge is beautifully set up : 4 African style “chalets” with each a large living room, a large bedroom and two spaceful bathrooms. Very comfortable beds. Very clean and with all amenities.

We went for 3 game drives during our stay. We saw the Big Five and a wide variety of animals, many more than we ever expected! Thanks to André, our host-guide-driver, we learned a lot about the habitat and behavior of the animals. Andreas, the tracker, was excellent at spotting animal tracks and finding animals. Great team work !

The food was absolutely delicious ! Every meal, including afternoon high tea, was excellent. The setting for the braai in the Boma was wonderful and very special.
NB: Having a gluten intolerance and thinking it would be too much trouble to have special meals prepared in the “bush”, I had brought my own bread, crackers, etc. Therefore, I didn’t mention my gluten intolerance at booking time. Somehow, Lené made sure I’d have wonderful meals adapted to my diet ! Brilliant.

André and Lené are wonderful hosts. They are passionate, enthusiastic and excel at making you feel like you are staying with friends. Their very positive mood created great camaraderie among the guests.
Very personal and friendly service, yet highly professional. Every detail is exquisitely attended to. We could have easily stayed another week.
Our stay at N’Kay Lodge was absolutely perfect. Overall a wonderful stay and lifetime experience.
Wishing Lené and André all the very best with their wedding in October.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 630zitak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NKaya_Manager, Manager at N'kaya Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Good day.

Thank you for this lovely review.

Yes, the game viewing was amazing and it was a absolute pleasure hosting you and having you on safari. Feels good to know that we fulfilled all the needs.

Thank you for the nice wishes for the wedding.

Kind regards.
A & L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews