We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back for sure!!”
Review of Monwana Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monwana Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Our 5 days stay at Monwana Game Lodge was unforgateble!! The hospitality of Karen and her staff and the expertise of Ryan and Celebrate and their will to tell us a lot about everything we saw, make our stay wonderfull!

we already talked about going back and normally we don't go for the second time to the same place.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henriette_1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

210 - 214 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2011

We stayed at Monwana for our honeymoon at the start of May, and I think Eloise and Hein thought we were actually Wills and Kate, as we were treated like royalty from start to finish of the trip! The staff all all really friendy and cannot do enough to help and we would both like to say a great big THANK YOU to all at Monwana for making our Honeymoon truely spectacular.

The reserve is a short ride (30mins or so) from the tiny Nelspruit airport from where you are taken to the Main Thornybush Lodge. Then you are transfered via Game Drive Land Rover to the privacy of this luxurious lodge, complete with beautiful pool, thatched cottages for the rooms and communal areas and a great view over the watering hole and the dry river bed.

We stayed for 3 nights, and managed 6 game drives, which was enough to see all the Big 5 twice over! Hein and Aubrey are excellent trackers and were relentless at finding the elusive Leopard, which we had the privalege of observing for around 45minutes, when we finally tracked it down.

Be sure to charge your camera batteries, as you bump into big game every 10-20minutes on the drives, and the landscape views are just stunning.

We must also mention the food. Basically you are fed 3-course 'a-la-carte' meals for dinner each and every day and the tastes are exquisite. Breakfast and lunch are also excellent and Eloise ensures new recipes are always being sampled. You will certainly not be going home hungry!

The bar is well stocked and very reasonably priced (about £1.30 for a beer) and the South African Wine (about £14 a bottle) is a must.

I would recommend staying at the Monwana lodge to anyone (4-Star Superior is definately not high enough!) I think it is a real hidden gem.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worryrock7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2011

We stayed in the honeymoon suite wihich was very clean and comfortable. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Hein the guide was very entertaining. He went the extra mile to ensure that we were happy with all that we viewed. We saw it ALL! Eloise, our hostess was fun and friendly. Her kitchen created many great delights.( The lamb rack is unbelievable) The lodge is very isolated which is great for us city slickers. A great and rewarding experience. We'll be back

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobinHolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2011

The Staff at Monwana Game Reserve took excellent care of us and could not have been more hospitable and sharing their expertise and knowledge about nature and wildlife. The facilities are topnotch.
A minimum stay of 4 days is highly recommended as well as two game-drives per day.
Check out; www.monwana.com

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hannekenwouter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2011

Our third time in Monwana. As always, the game viewing was excellent, as was the lodge and staff. It's a small lodge (max 10p).

The Honeymoon suite is large and beautiful with a private deck overviewing the water hole, a 4 poster king size bed, 2p shower with a view, bath tub, double basin and seperate toilet.

The food is excellent (improved with a new cook).

The game viewing is excellent as well as the ranger and tracker just go further than others in tracking animals.

Game lodges are pricey, but in its kind Monwana offers best value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Exroosje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornybush Private Game Reserve
14.5 km away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,813 reviews
12.2 km away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
414 reviews
2.9 km away
Serondella Game Lodge
Serondella Game Lodge
#3 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Thornybush Waterside Lodge
Thornybush Waterside Lodge
#2 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
272 reviews
4.0 km away
Thornybush Game Lodge
Thornybush Game Lodge
#1 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
377 reviews
0.6 km away
Shumbalala Game Lodge
Shumbalala Game Lodge
#4 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monwana Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monwana Game Lodge

Address: Guernsey Road | Thornybush Private Nature Reserve, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Thornybush Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
Price Range: €585 - €734 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Monwana Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monwana Game Lodge is nestled deep in the African bush, at the Thornybush Private Nature Reserve - adjacent to the Kruger National Park. Monwana is a small, intimate lodge offering all the comforts you'd expect from a 4-star luxury safari lodge, while still being down-to-earth and comfortable. 2 Family suites at this lodge make it ideal for anyone traveling with children. Morning and evening game drives through the reserve are hosted by professional trackers and game rangers. They will do their best to make sure you see as much as you can on your stay, offering interesting information about the fauna and flora you encounter, to enhance your experience. There are no fences between the Thornybush Reserve and the Kruger National Park, so animals have free range around the whole region, making it perfect for the Big 5 and a whole range of other animals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Booking.com so you can book your Monwana Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing