We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
46
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfew metersperfect hostsjanetbushmaninteractionreservessundownerstreeszebranaturebirdslodgetrackerkrugersightingsgameexperience
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2018

A one night return visit to beautiful Makumu... Once again she rewarded us with unique animal behaviour sightings. Unusual wild dog and leopard interaction, hands on and expert insight into elephant behaviour ..just 2 hours after our arrival. Makumu and those whom take care of her....Sarah, Alan(Manager and incredible guide), Godrey(our tracker) and all the Makumu staff we salute you on the outstanding service you deliver. Thank you Makumu!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ROMYFOS63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makumu, General Manager at Makumu Private Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

Thank you for the feedback!

Amazing sighting of a wild dog and leopard interact! That must have been so special! It is always so great to see these interactions!

We will be sure to deliver your message to Sarah, Alan and Godfrey!

We hope to welcome you back to Makumu soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017

Makumu was the highlight of our trip. The entire staff really made an effort to make our stay something special. We loved it! Due to the drought we did not see that much wildlife, but we had a great stay and learned a lot about the wild. Please note: this is a small scale resort, just a few units. It is special and very secluded. We loved that!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank ruben907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makumu, General Manager at Makumu Private Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

Dear Ruben907,

We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay at Makumu.

We are sorry about the wildlife but are glad our amazing staff were there to make you feel at home!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the lodge in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017

We spent three nights at this superb lodge which is located in the privately owned nature reserve Klaserie which is part of the greater Kruger National Park (no fence between Kruger and Klaserie). There is one early morning and one afternoon game drive which take about 3.5 hours each. The rangers were very flexible and we could shorten or extend the individual trips. The open Land Rovers are in an excellent condition and the rangers are very knowledgeable. There is a very good chance to see the big five but also plenty of other interesting animals and in case you are interested the rangers are keen to explain you different plants and trees. We also undertook an afternoon bushwalk and had an amazing experience with a herd of elephants which had their "tree dinner" and came as close as 30 meters.

The lodge is luxury standard and due to the location at the top of a hill the views are spectacular. The and the rooms are very spacious and well decorated. The food and the wine selection was excellent and the dinner at the Boma (outside barbeque and fire) was memorable. We also met the German/Swiss owners and they are great hosts and made sure that it was a very memorable stay for us.

We will definitely come back!

Room Tip: Zulu lodge has the view on the waterwholo
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank franky937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makumu, Front Office Manager at Makumu Private Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at Makumu. It was spectacular to see the elephants "dine" so close to us and happy you had the opportunity to experience this.
We hope to accommodate you in the near future and can't wait to have you back at Makumu!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017

Marvellous individual game drives!
Very beautiful unique lodge, inspired by African tradition.
Incredibly friendly staff and owners, always making sure the guests are happy.
A remote and secluded paradise.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank danielbO4213LI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makumu, Front Office Manager at Makumu Private Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review Makumu!
We loved having you as our guests. Hope to see you in the near future again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

Makumu Lodge was the highlight of our visit to South Africa. This is a very small lodge with only a handful of jaw-droppingly, gorgeously decorated rooms. The staff, the food, the pool, the views and the upkeep are all top notch. We were situated on a large private reserve that backs onto the Kruger National Park. Animals can wander in and out at their discretion. After a 4 night stay and 8, 3.5 hour game drives in an open Land Rover, we saw most of the game we came to view and had several thrilling interactions with animals. We followed a pride of lions and were very close to elephants, rhinos, giraffes, zebras, leopards, gnu, impala, etc. The guide and the tracker were excellent at finding game for us, very knowledgeable and a lot of fun to be with. What a fabulous adventure. Thanks so much.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank jp464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews