We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Singita Castleton(Singita Private Game Reserve)
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (310)
Filter reviews
310 results
Traveller rating
294
9
5
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
294
9
5
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine tastingafrican winesthe riverplunge poolgame driveshalf bathsauvignon blancroyal malewanesquare feetliving roomfour seasonsentire experienceguide rossonce in a lifetimerooms are beautifulpersonalized servicerain ponchos
Filter
Updating list...
256 - 261 of 310 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2009

I recently returned from a week long trip at both the singita boulders and sweni lodges.
In a nut shell, Africa has reserved large parcels of land to preserve the natural habitat and companies bid to aquire 20 year leases. The singita properties apparently have the top locations and provided excellant lodges on these parcels. the game sightings at the boulders was better than at sweni. sweni was much newer and probably a little nicer than the boulders although the boulders was bigger. the food at sweni was probably a little better than at the boulders. the staff at both resorts was great. in the end, its about the guide as I assume people go there to view the game and everything else is secondary. It is nice to stay in a four seasons equivalent resort after traveling half the world. the only dissapointment on this trip was the food. it was good but certainly not like eating at a gourment restraunt. the spa treatments were good.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scottsdaletraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2009

Singita is an experience not to be missed. The rooms are the size of small houses with each room having a heated plunge pool overlooking the animals. The food is 5 star at every meal. The service is over the top with things like afternoon wine and snacks in the middle of the bush and reserve wine served at every meal. We did a wine tasting at the Boulders (the name of our lodge) private cellar which was excellent. Following the tasting the sommelier brought us a list of each wine we tasted and a description of them. This was personalized to each guest. The game viewing is amazing but I'm sure you get that at many lodges. The real thing here is the unique nature of such incredibly luxury in the middle of the african bush.

A few things you might want to know that we did not until we got there:

the planes flying in and out of Singita are about 10-14 seat prop planes.
the flight is about 30 minutes from Kruger international airport and about 1hr from Jo'burg
most meals are served at tables for 2 as opposed to the Boma style of other lodges
spa is very small but services were excellent and often done in rooms


the only negative i can think of which we did not care much about is the internet service is very slow. we were there to relax so we did not care but if someone needs internet every day you will be disappointed with the slow speed. for the price the rooms cost, they could upgrade their computer systems.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ltdrebin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2009

Try it and believe it. Wonderful people, great rooms, amazing design and breathtaking Safari, what more can you expect?

I wish other hotels would have such service dedicated staff as Singita Boulders.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cwfrei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2009

I have been on safari's before but nothing compared to this! The staff are fantastic and can give advise on everything from camera settings, to what wines to have with your meal. They are informative, friendly, helpful and nothing is too much trouble. The settings on there own are beautiful, and thats before you've even seen an animal. I went hoping to see a leopard, and ended up spending the most magical hour watching a mother with her cub. I would recommend this place without hesitation!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank padlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2009

This was the candy! Africa as we imagined and more - the real africa - the game the lodge the staff - must be the best in Africa. Would come back in a heartbeat. It was pure magic and will last a lifetime.
Loved it!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank travelfundiLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews