We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“most extraordinary experience ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Singita Boulders Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Gladwyne, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“most extraordinary experience ever!”
Reviewed 14 September 2011

My two young adult children and I had the experience of a lifetime during our August 2011 trip to Singita Boulders. Not even the unseasonable weather could dampen our eagerness to greet each new day and game drive. Our ranger Nick was not only an excellent guide, but also truly became a friend, and his enthusiasm for wildlife echoed our own - particularly upon seeing the rare pangolin, a sighting which attracted vehicles from all over the reserve. Our tracker Jabulani was a wonderful character, making sure to have plenty of amurula for our morning coffee, notwithstanding all the great quantities of amazing wines we had drunk the night before. Perhaps the greatest delight was coming upon smoke rising from the bush one morning, only to learn that Angelique and our butler Moses had arranged for a sumptuous bush breakfast just for our family, complete with a buffet of fruit, cereals, and pastries, a chef to make duck egg omelets with warthog bacon, and plenty of champagne. Our stay went too fast and we hated to leave all the wonderful acquaintances we had made, some of whom we hope to see in the US in future. We can't recommend Singita, its accommodations and its level of service, any more highly. You will see all of the wildlife you'd hope for and more, all while experiencing the luxury of a 5 star hotel. I agree with everyone who has said it is worth every penny.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrea U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    9
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
64
168
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We stayed at Singita Boulders for our honeymoon and it absolutely could not have been more perfect! Every aspect was amazing from the room to the food to the game to the staff. Really made our honeymoon memorable. Highly highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Accommodations - stunning. Large private casitas with private pools. Dining - exquisite.

And the best part - the animals. The guides work endlessly to seek out these incredible creatures.

An overall fantastic experience. Went as a family of four (two young adult children) and it was one of the most memorable vacations ever.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chicagolover59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Terribly disappointed! We have just arrived and are paying full rate but facing the same way as the car park, and with no view. Clearly not the glossy pictures that are all over the web site (See my picture below) There are sub standard rooms here which at $4000 a night is dishonest and misrepresentation. Make sure you do not get the same treatment as when we complained they told us all the rooms where the same! When in Paris and I pay for an Eiffel tower view I don't get a courtyard room, and it should be the same here.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Vp8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanalynF, Chief Operating Officer at Singita Boulders Lodge, responded to this review, 2 September 2011
We are deeply distressed that you were disappointed with your stay at Singita Boulders Lodge. We have never had this complaint before about rooms not having exquisite views. In fact many guests prefer the suite where you stayed because it is more secluded and has a prime position overlooking the waterhole, guaranteed of active game viewing. Unfortunately due to the fact that the lodge was 100% full during your stay we were unable to move you to another room for the entirety of the remainder of your stay.
We understand that the compensation offered will never make up for your disappointment however we do hope that you will take up the opportunity to revisit Singita to be guaranteed a room of your choice.
Mark Witney, Chief Operating Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

We spent 4 nights here as part of our Honeymoon. I truly cannot rate this place highly enough. Yes expensive but worth every penny. Staff, food, service 5 star all the way, cannot rate it highly enough. The game drives were awesome. The guide and tracker were so knowledgble. We will be returning!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NCG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Singita Private Game Reserve
5.0 km away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#2 of 13 in Kruger National Park
384 reviews
16.7 km away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#4 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
446 reviews
24.7 km away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 km away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#13 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
402 reviews
25.3 km away
Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
Leopard Hills Private Game Reser...
#1 of 1 in Leopard Hills Private Game Reserve
277 reviews
7.4 km away
Umkumbe Safari Lodge
Umkumbe Safari Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Singita Boulders Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singita Boulders Lodge

Property: Singita Boulders Lodge
Address: Singita Sabi Sand, Kruger National Park 1242, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve > Singita Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Singita Private Game Reserve
Hotel Class:5 star — Singita Boulders Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Singita Boulders Lodge is set along the banks of the Sand River in Singita's privately owned reserve within the Sabi Sand Reserve. The lodge is a celebration of the tranquillity, space, and light which flows throughout this incredibly vast area. Inspired by the geometry of the boulders on which it rests, Boulders Lodge is an inviting oasis where organic interiors integrate seamlessly with the raw African beauty outside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Singita Boulders Hotel Singita Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing